We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodge Alley Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$503
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$422
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveller rating
215
145
52
31
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
145
52
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharespiral staircasebluegreen ownersbedroom lofthigh cotton restaurantgreat locationwithin walking distancevalet parkingfull kitchencookieseast bay streetbeautiful courtyardrainbow rollcity markethistoric districtdowntown charlestonhigh ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2006

I would recommend this place to someone that wants to stay in the downtown area. You are very close to everything. The room was very clean and we heard hardly no noise. We stayed in the suite right next to the fountain. (the building is in the picture). The staff was very courteous. The only bad thing about this place is that we had no maid service. When we arrived we had a maid come to our door and ask for a bed turn down other than that never saw anyone all weekend long. Do remember that you do have to pay for parking. You can fill out the comment card and receive a free night.
For the bluegreen people, we were not stopped at the hotel at all, we got stopped on market st. So we attended the "90Min", yea right not "90 min" more like 2 hours of talking to the salesperson about your life. The only good thing was the we got $75.00 worth of vouchers to use for food and a carriage ride. (which the carriage ride was well worth the sitting around waiting for our voucher)

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hershie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2006

We visited this spot as a result of the Sampler Program for their timeshare. You would have thought they would have tried to impress us so we would consider turning our sampler into a membership. When we were unloading, we were asked if we could walk. Fortunately, we can walk but that seemed strange. Our room was in the back of the building which required us to take an elevator, walk a long way, and remember a step. We had a one bedroom suite with a living room, dining room and kitchen. Again we had to walk. The bathroom was next to our bedroom which required you to go up a spiral staircase. Other could sleep downstairs but had to use the same bathroom. Needless to say we did not become members.

5  Thank fdpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

We are Bluegreen members and love the Lodge Alley Inn. Our suite was clean and extremely comfortable. It opened to a wonderful courtyard that has a fountain. Extremely relaxing and quiet first thing in the morning!! Great spot to just curl up with a book.
The Lodge Alley Inn has the best location in Charleston. We walked everywhere. Only used the car once during a 4 day stay.
All of the Bluegreen employees did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Everyone was helpful and polite at all times.
WE find this to be the case at all Bluegreen properties. Everyone we have dealt with couldn't be nicer. Our room was serviced daily with fresh towels. Keep in mind that this is not a hotel, it is a timeshare property; therefore you may not get the level of housekeeping service to which you are accustomed. I am fine with this because I would rather not be bothered with alot of strangers coming in and out of my unit.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank JSPOOHVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge Alley Inn for our one year anniversery. We had a great time. Forget what the bad reviews say about this hotle. Yes, it is a resort owned by a timeshare company. What people have to realize is that Bluegreen is not the only timeshare company there trying to sell you something, and that any resort you go to will most likely also try to sell you their product; THAT'S THERE JOB!!! If you just say you're not interested they will leave you alone. What you also have to realize about the Lodge, is that YOU'RE IN DOWNTOWN CHARLESTON. What else more do you want? Forget about the bad reviews.
This resort is awesome. You are within walking distance to all the shops/restaurants, a ten minute drive to Sullivan's Island/Isle of the Palms (where there is a beach), Patriots Point (where the aircraft carrier USS Yorktown is), and a five minute drive to the aquarium and Fort Sumter Tours. Right across the street there is a subway for the budget traveler, and next to the resort there is a five star restaurant called the High Cotton where you can expect to spend $100 or more on a meal for the luxourious traveler. At the local bars/restaurants, there are always drink specials, just ask what they are.
This resort only has valet parking available for $10 a day, but between that and meter parking, or finding your own parking, it is worth it, because you can get your car as often as you want for the $10 a day. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The staff was very nice and polite. All the rooms are very well furnished and roomy. There is also a concierge there who can make reservastions anywhere you want and tell you how to get around the city.
All in all, this was by far one of the best vacations I have ever taken. Charleston has so much to offer a traveler, and being at the Lodge Alley Inn was icing on the cake. You cannot beat the service, you cannot beat the location, and you certainly cannot beat the experience. I would definitly recommend this resort to anyone.

11  Thank dgrissmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Charleston. And we have stayed in numerous hotels from the cheapest (and most disgusting) to the more expensive and beautiful. We make it a point to always stay somewhere new so that we can see whats out there (it makes it part of the adventure!).

Only once have we decided to return to a particular hotel because we liked it so much...and that place was the Lodge Alley Inn. We stayed at the Lodge Alley Inn twice in the past 3 months and we absolutely loved it! Both times we stayed in a suite (the smallest unit offered) and was suprised by how large it was! The furnishings were beautiful and the bed comfortable!

The first visit our room overlooked the alley and you could hear music and laughter from the bar across the street, but it was not as loud as other reviewers have complained about! We never once had trouble sleeping. The second visit, we had a courtyard room with a small balcony looking over the fountain...wonderful!

I was surprised to read that the staff was rude. We found the staff to be more than courteous! They were friendly and helpful. And, when there was a mix up at checkout the second visit, they credited my parking fees just because it took a few minutes to clear up the error!

The location is perfect! You are close to everything! The only time we took our car was for a day trip to the beach!

The Bluegreen people are around, but never gave us any problems after asking us initially if we were interested in a tour. And they are very friendly...not pushy.

We loved it so much, that I have reservations again in two weeks to take my mom who has never been to Charleston. I can't wait to show her around!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lorbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews