We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge Alley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge Alley Inn
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2006

A group of us stayed here for long girls party and it was perfect. However, make sure you get the type of room you book. We booked a 2 bd, 2 bath and was given 2 bd 1 bath. They quickly moved us after we disovered this. The rooms were clean and well decorated. Very comforable and close to abslutely everything. It was nice having a seperate living are and kitchen. My only complaint involves the hardwood floors. They are super slick and inappropiate for the rooms. A number of people fell and many other slipped. This would be my 1st choice when returning to Charleston

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank jnwhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    126
    47
    27
    25
See reviews for
88
181
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

We enjoyed our stay at the Lodge and would go again. Look carefully at the floor plans. We will not select a loft again because we would like to have a bath at both levels. Service was prompt, friendly and predicatable. The concierge was helpful with ideas of things to do in the area.
Very clean and great reproduction furniture lent itself to a quaint and charming atmosphere. Don't skip the sherry and cookies from 4-5!

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — one bath in a loft
  • Tips/Secrets — ask about location of baths. I suggest a studio or better without a loft
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lovespanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2006

We spent our honeymoon in Charleston 20 years ago, and have been back 15 times since then. Had stayed in a range of hotels and B&Bs until trying the Lodge Alley Inn. There are cheaper places in town and more expensive, but after 5 stays, we keep coming back and have never been disappointed.
We try to book one of the Griffith suites (next to the fountain). They are more private and are well appointed. Jacuzzi tubs, separate sleeping area, microwaves, coffee makers and small refrigerators. The French doors look out over the fountain and make for a very romantic setting. The staff was very helpful; no problem with parking, the best way to see Charleston is on foot anyway. Praises to the Concierge, she went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Room was clean and comfortable and as others point out, it is close to everything. We did not do the timeshare presentation this time, but have before. If you have limited time in town, not sure it is worth giving up 2 hours for just for the coupons. My only complaint is the lack of an in restaurant for breakfast. Not many options in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No onsite restaurant
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rablinroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2006

I would recommend this place to someone that wants to stay in the downtown area. You are very close to everything. The room was very clean and we heard hardly no noise. We stayed in the suite right next to the fountain. (the building is in the picture). The staff was very courteous. The only bad thing about this place is that we had no maid service. When we arrived we had a maid come to our door and ask for a bed turn down other than that never saw anyone all weekend long. Do remember that you do have to pay for parking. You can fill out the comment card and receive a free night.
For the bluegreen people, we were not stopped at the hotel at all, we got stopped on market st. So we attended the "90Min", yea right not "90 min" more like 2 hours of talking to the salesperson about your life. The only good thing was the we got $75.00 worth of vouchers to use for food and a carriage ride. (which the carriage ride was well worth the sitting around waiting for our voucher)

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hershie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2006

We visited this spot as a result of the Sampler Program for their timeshare. You would have thought they would have tried to impress us so we would consider turning our sampler into a membership. When we were unloading, we were asked if we could walk. Fortunately, we can walk but that seemed strange. Our room was in the back of the building which required us to take an elevator, walk a long way, and remember a step. We had a one bedroom suite with a living room, dining room and kitchen. Again we had to walk. The bathroom was next to our bedroom which required you to go up a spiral staircase. Other could sleep downstairs but had to use the same bathroom. Needless to say we did not become members.

Helpful?
5 Thank fdpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2006

We are Bluegreen members and love the Lodge Alley Inn. Our suite was clean and extremely comfortable. It opened to a wonderful courtyard that has a fountain. Extremely relaxing and quiet first thing in the morning!! Great spot to just curl up with a book.
The Lodge Alley Inn has the best location in Charleston. We walked everywhere. Only used the car once during a 4 day stay.
All of the Bluegreen employees did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Everyone was helpful and polite at all times.
WE find this to be the case at all Bluegreen properties. Everyone we have dealt with couldn't be nicer. Our room was serviced daily with fresh towels. Keep in mind that this is not a hotel, it is a timeshare property; therefore you may not get the level of housekeeping service to which you are accustomed. I am fine with this because I would rather not be bothered with alot of strangers coming in and out of my unit.

  • Liked — Location and quality of accommodations.
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank JSPOOHVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge Alley Inn for our one year anniversery. We had a great time. Forget what the bad reviews say about this hotle. Yes, it is a resort owned by a timeshare company. What people have to realize is that Bluegreen is not the only timeshare company there trying to sell you something, and that any resort you go to will most likely also try to sell you their product; THAT'S THERE JOB!!! If you just say you're not interested they will leave you alone. What you also have to realize about the Lodge, is that YOU'RE IN DOWNTOWN CHARLESTON. What else more do you want? Forget about the bad reviews.
This resort is awesome. You are within walking distance to all the shops/restaurants, a ten minute drive to Sullivan's Island/Isle of the Palms (where there is a beach), Patriots Point (where the aircraft carrier USS Yorktown is), and a five minute drive to the aquarium and Fort Sumter Tours. Right across the street there is a subway for the budget traveler, and next to the resort there is a five star restaurant called the High Cotton where you can expect to spend $100 or more on a meal for the luxourious traveler. At the local bars/restaurants, there are always drink specials, just ask what they are.
This resort only has valet parking available for $10 a day, but between that and meter parking, or finding your own parking, it is worth it, because you can get your car as often as you want for the $10 a day. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The staff was very nice and polite. All the rooms are very well furnished and roomy. There is also a concierge there who can make reservastions anywhere you want and tell you how to get around the city.
All in all, this was by far one of the best vacations I have ever taken. Charleston has so much to offer a traveler, and being at the Lodge Alley Inn was icing on the cake. You cannot beat the service, you cannot beat the location, and you certainly cannot beat the experience. I would definitly recommend this resort to anyone.

Helpful?
11 Thank dgrissmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Elliott House Inn
#32 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fulton Lane Inn
Fulton Lane Inn
#20 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Alley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Alley Inn

Property: Lodge Alley Inn
Address: 195 E Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401-2126
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Alley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge Alley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Alley Hotel Charleston
Hotel Alley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing