We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but hotel needs lots of improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Our first stay here. We paid $225 a night for a room that was small, outdated, and with the most uncomfortable bed. I think the mattress was about as old as the hotel and they decided to put a pad on top of it which only made matters worse. My husband and I kept rolling to the middle of the bed all night. There was a one of those old time bathtubs that had a shower in it. It was very small and hard to shower in. The halls were gloomy with worn carpet and in badly need of some new paint. The best thing is the location and the breakfast. It's near all the good restaurants and harbor and the breakfast was very good. Considering everything, I would not go back and pay that amount for a room unless this hotel is renovated.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rudy1qh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,866 - 1,872 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2011

My husband and I spent five nights at the Vendue Inn, in Charleston, SC. When we arrived, we were greeted by the staff, who assisted with our luggage, showed us around the inner lobby and took us to our room. They had glasses of wine sent up for us to enjoy, as we had come at the tail end of the afternoon wine and cheese reception.
Even though we had an interior queen room, there was a skylight in it, so it was still bright. The room was tastefully decorated. The bathroom was clean and was supplied with soft towels.
The bed was one of the best I've ever had the pleasure to sleep in! Soft and comfortable, the linens were definitely of the highest quality.
As noted on their website, they had a great southern breakfast, which you ordered from the menu. The dish of the day was an omelet, made with different ingredients every day. It was my first time having grits, and if they're as good as the ones at the Vendue Inn I'll be having them more often. The breakfast hosts and servers were very pleasant, and were very accommodating.
The wine and cheese reception was well-stocked, and the hosts were pleasant to talk to. The cookies and milk at 9 o'clock each night were fresh and a great way to top off a day of walking in the beautiful city! I will add that the inn is in a good central location in the city and right near the harbor. Each night we would walk out to the pier and sit on the swings and enjoy the ocean breeze.
Robbie, the concierge, was very helpful in helping us with booking a sunset cruise on the harbor.
The service at the inn was exceptional in every way. We left very, very early to get back home on Friday, and the overnight manager poured us two coffees to go for us to get us started on our way back home.
The next time we stay in Charleston, we will defiinitely stay at the Vendue Inn again.

Room Tip: We were happy with an interior queen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rungirlrun308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

As frequent visitors of Charleston, I believe we have stayed at the Vendue at least 8 times now and we are never disappointed! We always recommend to our friends and family as well! We have stayed at several other hotels ~ The Mills House; Charleston Place; King Charles Inn; etc... Once we stayed at Vendue, we just keep coming back ~ it is our home! The staff is amazing - a special shout out to Asst. Mgr. Jerry Kerwin; Galina; Alex and Charles. All of the staff make you feel at home and are very tentative to their guests. The hotel is older but has so much Charleston charm. Each room is different and unique in its layout and decor. It is not a cookie-cutter hotel! With the hotel being older, you can hear people in hallways and such, but this is far outweighed by all else that the Vendue offers. The location of this hotel is perfect ~ convenient to the pier/park; the market, other shopping, art galleries, historic homes and so many restaurants/bars. The Vendue allows pets so we bring our Gizmo! With the hotel being conveniently located to the park, it is perfect. The breakfast included in price is wonderful and has something for everyone ~ omelettes, fruit, cereal, eggs to order, waffles and a daily chef special. They have a complimentary reception from 4-5 with wine, cheese, fruit and other appetizers. They offer free bicycle rentals which is a wonderful way to see the Battery and beautiful homes. The Vendue has a rooftop bar that has a beautiful view - a must see! During the day and early evening, it is wonderful to sit up there. It is packed later in the evening and has music several nights. We had dinner at the Library this past visit and it was delicious. The restaurant is very cozy and romantic. The awesome service, amenities and location make the Vendue Inn the perfect place for us! Any questions, let me know.

Room Tip: Worth it to upgrade room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Vendue Inn for a quick weekend trip to Charleston. The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and accomodating - they will bend over backwards to make sure you have everything you need to enjoy your stay. The location of the hotel is perfect - just steps away from great restaurants, bars and shops. We stayed in an interior room in a building across the street from the main hotel - a little claustrophobic, but quaint and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend taking advantage of the free bicycle rental - it was the perfect way to explore the city.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkrgirl1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Happened to visit for four nights during the very busy Southeastern Wildlife Exposition, so the city and hotels were quite busy. The service by the front desk staff was attentive and personal throughout the stay. The General Manager, Ms. Ridder, is a wonderful professional. There is a very nice wine/cheese/fruit reception in the afternoon, and breakfast (included) is made to order and very good. There is a very popular (and loud) bar on the roof, which can get and stay noisy in the evening.Bikes are available for guest use, and were a great way to see the city and get around very easily. All in all, it was was a very enjoyable experience, and the Inn staff really made it for us.

Room Tip: Annex building rooms across the street were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

October 2010 was my first stay at the Vendue. In Charleston we usually stay at another property, but they had recently remodeled and raised their prices which (thankfully) forced me to look elsewhere. Funny enough, the Vendue was only $40 less, but OMGosh, it's AMAZING!! The property is EXACTLY as pictured, private and exclusive feeling. The rooms are unbelievably romantic. Breakfast is included, you get a choice of two pre-set meals, or you can order a la cart for a nominal charge. They accept pets, so I fully intend to return with our dogs. The associates go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, you can walk to all the best restaurants. We walked to the pier to take the ferry to Fort Sumter - it's a little over a mile away, but a nice walk.

Our room was in the Vendue Range Annex, which had been a warehouse. We stayed in one of the rooms that was pictured on Hotels.com when I made the reservation. We had a fireplace, soaking/Jacuzzi tub, separate shower, sherry in your room. They serve coffee in the foyer in the morning and cookies in the evening. The hotel was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skatejorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I spent my bday weekend in Charleston, S.C. and stayed at the Vendue Inn located on Eastbay road.
The staff was very helpful with all of my needs. They gave me a bottle of champaigne as a bday gift. Overall, the staff are professional, the rooms and other areas are clean, and in walking distance to everything. I would suggest this Inn to stay at.

Corey M.

Room Tip: Use this website for reviews and talk with staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,904 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,240 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £151 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing