We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“First class hotel and location”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Lovely older hotel with a lot of character. ...a lot of antiques. The location was ideal, being able to walk everywhere. Service was impeccable....got help with tour and restaurant...and, the doorman even called us by name every time we saw him. Our room was a King with Fireplace and was very nice. The hot breakfast was very good and we also attended the wine tasting from 4-5 p.m. with snacks included. Only a few things I didn't like which were very soft pillows (personal preference) and even though the bathroom was nice and updated, I didn't feel comfortable taking a shower. The tub was a claw foot, very high with only a shower curtain around the entire tub. Didn't feel very safe getting in or out. They are adamant about not smoking, but allow smoking in their rooftop lounge, even by the bar. I intend to take that up with them. Otherwise, just great.

Room Tip: Stay during the week if possible, Friday and Saturday really jump in price. King with fireplace is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandytampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,501
    437
    127
    73
    47
See reviews for
209
1,474
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Vendue Inn is an fantastic place to say! We stayed for two nights. The service is excellent. The room was very clean and had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The room also had a whirlpool tub that was great after a day of exploring the city. The Inn also has a complimentary made to order breakfast. There are several items on the menu plus a special each morning. The location was perfect as well. It is just a block away from the waterfront park so you are near lots of sites. The staff at the Vendue are great! They are all very friendly and helpful. Most of them remembered our names. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keg198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Wonderfully located - you can walk to almost everything, or walk 1 block to the free trolley that go to most visitor destinations. Breakfast is included, and it was delicious, as were the free cookies in the evening, and nibbles in the afternoon. Staff were friendly, gracious, and extremely helpful. Rooms are beautifully appointed, and large. Can't think of a single negative. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to the Vendue.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The Vendue Inn provided the perfect blend of old and new. This boutique hotel has the old world charm that is echoed throughout Charleston’s French quarter and combines it with the service of a first rate hotel. The location was idea for us, located near fine dining (including the Vendue’s Library restaurant) and within easy walking distance of the historic sights of old Charleston. Kudos to Susie Ridder for a well run establishment.

Room Tip: The annex across the street is a special getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSandins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My wife and I just returned from a fabulous stay in Charleston @ the Vendue inn. We had just left a wonderful B&B in Savannah and figured nothiong could top that - boy were we wrong! This is just a fabulous venue for any traveler in Charleston. It is in the heart of the French Quarter and steps away from all the fine dining and restaurants Charleston has to offer. They offer bikes so you are a 5 minute ride to the residential areas where all the mansions and quaint side streets are located. oh and just a 1/2 block to the water where there is a gorgeous park to ride, walk or jog... or just sit on a swinging bench and enjoy the scenery., The INN itself is inviting, warm and SERVICE all around. The staff, bellmen, front desk... we were rolled over by how friendly and accomodating everyone was. Yes - breakfast is included and another wow factor there. High end restaurant quality all around. Then there is the afternoon wine and cheese event every day. Just go there and don't look back! (Oh -- and try to find the secret passage to the rooftop bar in the adjascent building)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruceTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We have stayed here several times. The breakfast is great. It's in a perfect location to walk around town. It's a short walk to the pier with it's big swings. The rooms in their main building were great. The room we had in their "annex" across the street was mediocre at best. I think the Vendue is a great value if you can get in.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My wife and I chose the Vendue Inn because of its great location close to the water and many of the best restaurants in town, and because we liked the fact that it was not too big. Our first standard king room was cute but near the elevator. We heard too many noises, between floors creaking, doors opening and conversations that felt as if they were in the room with us. Alex at the front desk graciously agreed to switch us to a quieter room when we talked with him about it. He and the other staff could not have been more hospitable and professional. They all make you feel very much "at home". We strongly recommend you ask for rooms away from the Roof Top bar and the elevator (1-4 on each floor). The Junior Suite was gorgeous on the 2nd floor and we would pay extra to get that one next time. Breakfast was included, which was good. And the valet parking for $16 per night was very helpful since the lot was not on site (but not too far away). Given the extremely hot July weather, we decided to pay the extra $2 per night instead of self-parking. Overall, we loved the Vendue Inn and the service; just be careful with the rooms selection.

Room Tip: Room away from the elevator and the Roof Top bar side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,187 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,421 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing