We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel. Would recommend highly.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. Would recommend highly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

My wife and I were going back and forth about wether we should stay in a B&B or a Hotel, on our recent visit to Charleston. We decided in favor of a hotel because we wanted a little more privacy and a few more amenities than we have found at some B&B's. The Vendue Inn, is a boutique hotel, run like a B&B. The staff was awesome. Everyone seemed anxious to help and happy to provide suggestions and recommendations. The breakfast was cooked to order, and served in a well decorated room. The rooftop bar had a great happy hour and even better views of the city. We felt the price we paid for our room was appropriate for what we received. The hotel is located in the southeast part of the city, within walking distance to many major attractions and fine dining. Complimentary bicycles are available, but we walked almost everywhere we went. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel or it's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    401
    115
    70
    43
See reviews for
191
1,353
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

As you can tell, I love Charleston. The Vendue Inn is a lovely, old fashioned hotel oozing charm and quality. From the early morning coffee to the late evening lemon ice water available in the main building, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
It isn't cheap.
But it is charming.
Our room was in the annex across the street. Exposed brick wall, better quality toiletries, peace and quiet and very comfortable beds made our stay very enjoyable.
Our breakfast was included and there was many options. Not just the usual continental breakfast either. We had French toast with caramelized bananas, cheesy omelettes and the best coffee available in Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiancraftsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My Vendue Inn stay was probably one of the best hotels I've ever had. First of all, we got upgraded. Cha-ching! Beautifully decorated room located not on the main Vendue but across the street. It had a spectacular bathroom and a bed I want to take home. I love the time they took to decorate each piece in the room.

They also have complimentary breakfast (which is not your typical sausage, eggs, bagel), free bikes to take around town, wine-happy hour, and milk and cookies. If you go upstairs they also have a great rooftop bar!

We switched to Mills for our last night in Charleston, and was thoroughly disappointed bc we didn't get that special attention from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krissf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Romantic inn in a great location in downtown Charleston. The service was exemplary, the complimentary breakfast delicious, and the waterfront park proved to be an excellent site for him to propose. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_Savannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
229 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Just returned from four nights at the Vendue Inn. We had made the reservation based on the number of positive on-line reviews. First, the positives: very friendly, helpful staff; great location (close, but not too close to the touristy area); breakfast included. On the disappointing side: very small room, wedged behind the elevator; AC that only seemed to blow directly on you in bed; a small, shabby bathroom; inconsistent housekeeping (room never made up one day; sheets not changed during our four-night stay, hallway carpets needed vacuuming). Price and value definitely were out of sync for us. For what it's worth, based on a comment when we checked in ("this is the room that comes with your Expedia reservation"), booking directly with the hotel and paying full price might well get you a larger, better-appointed room.

Room Tip: Consider booking directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Vendue Inn is the perfect location to stay while visiting Charleston, SC. My fiancée and I chose Charleston for our vacation this year, and the Vendue became our home away from home. The entire staff was kind, friendly, accommodating, and most of all hospitable. Special thanks to Nathan for the many warm welcomes, and the witty insights on the city of Charleston he pointed us in the right direction making our trip a most memorable one. The rooms are spacious, clean, and charming. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds you will ever sleep in at a hotel. The breakfast is a great start to the day, it is hot, filling and delicious I suggest one day having the Banana's Foster French Toast MMMMMM Good!!!!! The complimentary bikes (which is the best way to see the city) are one of the best amenities the Vendue has to offer not to mention the evening milk and sinfully, warm homemade cookies (chocolate chip my personal favorite) provided in the lobby around 9:00pm. There is also a complimentary manager's reception daily that has a nice selection of wines and a scrumptious spread to really get your palette ready for a wonderful meal that you are sure to have that evening, may I suggest The Library at the Vendue Inn, Charles took very good care of us and he suggested I have the Antelope and it was one of the tastiest dishes I have ever eaten. Thanks for all the memories Charleston, and especially the Vendue Inn it is definitely one for the books.

Kindest Regards,
GHBO

Room Tip: Book early and during the week. Rates are more economical Sunday-Thursday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed here one night with a couple of collegues for business in Charleston. This hotel is perfectly located near the battery and many great restaurants. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the staff was gracious and helpful. We borrowed bikes and rode by the battery first thing in the morning. The breakfast room was quiet and the food was delicious. I plan to bring my husband back for a long weekend later in the fall.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMurray5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing