We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced Utter Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Southeasten Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Over-priced Utter Disappointment”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

About the only thing the Vendue Inn has going for it is location. Unfortunately, they fail at most everything else. Check-in is difficult at best. There were groups of guests standing around waiting for their keys. Service was rushed by both the check in staff and bellmen.

Our room was not in the main building which seems to be what so many others have noted on this site. Additionally noted is that the walls of the annex building are paper-thin. We could hear conversations in the rooms next to us. The footsteps on the ceiling in the room above kept us awake. The view from our room was of trashcans and wires. The cleanliness of the bathroom left something to be desired. While the afternoon reception was adequate, management would be better off and fairer to their guests to reduce their nightly rate as this did not foster camaraderie with other guests as everyone sat at separate tables. This was so unlike any other “inn” in which we have stayed. AM coffee in the lobby was a nice touch and appreciated. It was probably the best part of our stay. Breakfast was supposed to be cooked to order. Were those really eggs that they served? And grape jelly? Yes, I said grape jelly for your toast with no other choice available. Food served was more like you would be served at a low-end diner. One would be better off to stay elsewhere for a reasonable tariff and take a cab to the area near the Vendue Inn. It certainly is not worth the price or the trouble of staying there. Even their special rates far exceed the quality that is expected for such pricing. I certainly question their membership in the elite Select Registry.

Room Tip: Demand a room in the main building. It may be a better choice than the annex building across the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShenandoahBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    435
    127
    73
    47
See reviews for
209
1,467
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

our first time in charleston driving from our home in Florida to our home in nh. this hotel expierene made us to want to extend our stay in this fabulous city. we have to give this hotel a 5 plus star rating, for it's staff, location and a lot more. we are fussy and this wonderful hotel is a the reason we will return to charleston and stay at the venue inn.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Valcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We pulled up to the front entrance, waved hi, and were immediately greeted by Alex, who was the most polite, friendly, and informative person we could imagine, welcoming us to Charleston! Right away, we were checked in and escorted to a lovely corner room (#204) - creamy walls, high ceiling, gas fireplace, 2 queen beds which were like sleeping on clouds, and a full decanter of sherry - how very nice! The bathroom was smartly adorned with a neoclassic border, lots of towels, and delightful toiletries with an intriguing blood-orange fragrance. I'm a history buff, so I really liked the exposed antique brick walls in the downstairs concierge area - this was once a 19th-century warehouse. The complimentary full breakfast was wonderful - a wide array of choices and generous portions, with impeccable service. The location, deep in the Old Historic District and close to Waterfront Park, was superb, and so was our entire experience at the Vendue Inn, thanks to its excellent staff. Manager Susie Ridder is obviously doing an impressive job here! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

If I could give Vendue Inn 3.5 stars, I would. I think the main draw for the hotel is the location, which is fabulous: near the water and near the markets and restaurants. We stayed for three nights in an interior room, while family members stayed in a Queen room (both were not in the main building, but were across the street in the annex). First, the interior room was a pleasant surprise. It had a good amount of light and a decent size, but the bathroom did not have a fan. However, the Queen, which was more expensive, was actually smaller than the interior room and the only difference seemed to be the window (which looked out to a bunch of wires and rocks). It is not worth the price difference. That said, the walls are very thin and you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms next door and down the hall. We never had a night where we weren't woken up at least twice by people having normal conversations in the hall; the sound ricochets everywhere. This to me is the major flaw with this hotel.

The breakfast was good, and the wine and cocktail hour is a nice touch, although I would rather the rooms be cheaper than have this included (it doesn't seem worth the price). Also, most of the staff was fabulous, but the male check in person from the morning (the afternoon and evening male check in person was a delight) was not friendly or accommodating. Also, as an FYI, the Rooftop Bar is really casual (think college kids and shot girls), which wasn't really what we were picturing. It is super popular, so obviously people like it, but we were thinking it would be more low key and upscale for some reason.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfitzsimv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver spring, md
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel has a very good location in Charleston -- very near Market Square, the horse-drawn carriages, the waterfront and numerous fine restaurants. The staff is very helpful, the hotel is immaculate, and they provide several nice touches--afternoon wine and cheese and cookies and milk at night. The only concern is that the rooms have very thin walls so it can be quite noisy, so ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Be sure to insist on a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent three nights at the Vendue Inn celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary. For starters let me say the good. You cannot get more central in location than staying here. You are just a brief walk to the waterfront, their rooftop bar has some of the best views of the city and you can literally walk out your door and into some of the best restaurants Charleston has to offer. The coffee service in the morning is good and plentiful. They set it out by 6:30 a.m. and keep it out well into the morning, even setting out to go cups so you can take a cup of joe with you. Breakfast is delicious but our breakfast experience is also part of our negatives with Vendue.

Our room was across the street from the main inn which contains the Library restaurant and entrance to the Rooftop Bar so don't necessarily think you are staying in the main inn when booking. It was on the first floor and absorbed alot of noise including windows which looked out into an alley way that had several people walking by. But overall very nice decor and the bed was comfy.

When we checked in we mentioned celebrating our anniversary and asked if we could be considered for any room upgrades. We were told there were Jr. Suites available for 2 out of the three nights and they would up grade us but for the regular price difference. If this was the least of our gripes then we'd just chalk it up to a fairly full hotel that didn't concern itself with hoping first time customers would continue to come back to celebrate their anniversary. But, it wasn't.

We had booked a complete package with Priceline which included breakfast every morning. As we were signing our keys out we were asked if we wanted to add breakfast for an additional $15. Once I called them out on our package with Priceline they backtracked and said that it was something new they were switching to and they would honor our original deal (what was interesting is that the charge must have been so new they didn't even inform their bellhops, one of which had just taken us on a tour and told us about the complimentary breakfast each morning).

The day before checkout we asked the concierge to secure shuttle service to the airport for us at 7:45 a.m. and he told us the charge would be $35. As we were eating breakfast we noticed the shuttle show up at 7:15, loaded at 7:45 on the dot, got to the airport and the guy asked for $45, telling us he had to charge us the extra $10 because we were late and service was secured as of 7:30. Of course we refused to pay the extra $10.

Finally, we get home to find an $86 charge from the hotel to our credit card. Once my husband called them to investigate they said the charge was for breakfast. While they did back out the charge once he disputed I'd still advice you pay close attention to what you get when you reserve here because they will try to add on charges that you should not be responsible for and frankly who wants to deal with that sort of service especially when vacationing or celebrating a special occasion?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, nc
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Receiving a wonderful retirement gift of a certificate from Select Registry opened the opportunity to visit Charleston and stay at this wonderful property. Select Registry B&B's and Inns are among the very best in the US and Canada.

Although I knew of the wonderful reputation of the inn I was not prepared for the warm welcome and friendly, upbeat personalites of the entire staff. Everything we needed was taken care of and we were treated like royalty. This property was as lovely as any I have experienced in Europe.

Our room was across the street at Vendue Twenty-Three where we were upgraded to a king room. Perfect in every way, it is very quiet, comfortable and cozy. The main entry doors are locked at night and your key is used to access after hours. So there is no traffic as you would have in the main inn coming and going during the night.

Although there is no window (online photo does not do justice to the calming atmosphere of the space) a great skylight with blinds warms the rooms with a subtle glow in the morning. The rooms are in a historic building and steps are the only access to the upper floors. Our room was on the third floor.

Champaign was delivered for my husband on the occasion of his birthday along with a card for best wishes.

This stay was wonderful for us and we plan to make Vendue our headquarters next visit.

Room Tip: Try the cozy Vendue Twenty-three across the street from the main inn for clasic interior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabitron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,852 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,421 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing