We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I have very mixed feelings about the Vendue.

I'll start with the likes:
- good location
- lovely southern hospitality
- fresh, cold lemon water in the lobby
- AM coffee in the lobby

Dislikes:
- the property is looking shabby; it's in dire need of TLC; it's looking quite neglected and one is left with the feeling that corners are being cut
- we had a standard room; extremely low ceilings (and I'm only 5' tall) it felt claustrophobic; the A/C didn't work, the windows had been sealed shut
- the ceilings tiles in the hallway were either stained or in some cases, missing altogether
- stains on the carpets were prevalent
- a lot of the furniture was worn and tired looking

So while we liked the location and the southern hospitality, we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy-to-BeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,208)
There are newer reviews for The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,629 - 1,635 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in May. Arrived early and checked in with no problems. Great lobby area. We were on the 3rd floor traditional queen, not knowing that the room was directly below the rooftop bar. Music started at around 5pm and the was quite loud. we called the front desk immediately and asked to be moved to a different floor. They graciously moved and upgraded our room.
Morning breakfast at the library was excellent.
Milk and cookies at night.

Likes:
Comfortable beds
Location - a little busy side of the street
Walked to all restaurants for lunch and dinner, i recommend :
- 82 Queen
-Magnolias
-SNOB
- FIG
- Poogans Porch
Staff - Nikki and Laura

Dislike:
Bathrooms could use renovation

Room Tip: Stay away from rooftop bar
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magellan1521_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

About the only thing the Vendue Inn has going for it is location. Unfortunately, they fail at most everything else. Check-in is difficult at best. There were groups of guests standing around waiting for their keys. Service was rushed by both the check in staff and bellmen.

Our room was not in the main building which seems to be what so many others have noted on this site. Additionally noted is that the walls of the annex building are paper-thin. We could hear conversations in the rooms next to us. The footsteps on the ceiling in the room above kept us awake. The view from our room was of trashcans and wires. The cleanliness of the bathroom left something to be desired. While the afternoon reception was adequate, management would be better off and fairer to their guests to reduce their nightly rate as this did not foster camaraderie with other guests as everyone sat at separate tables. This was so unlike any other “inn” in which we have stayed. AM coffee in the lobby was a nice touch and appreciated. It was probably the best part of our stay. Breakfast was supposed to be cooked to order. Were those really eggs that they served? And grape jelly? Yes, I said grape jelly for your toast with no other choice available. Food served was more like you would be served at a low-end diner. One would be better off to stay elsewhere for a reasonable tariff and take a cab to the area near the Vendue Inn. It certainly is not worth the price or the trouble of staying there. Even their special rates far exceed the quality that is expected for such pricing. I certainly question their membership in the elite Select Registry.

Room Tip: Demand a room in the main building. It may be a better choice than the annex building across the str...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShenandoahBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

our first time in charleston driving from our home in Florida to our home in nh. this hotel expierene made us to want to extend our stay in this fabulous city. we have to give this hotel a 5 plus star rating, for it's staff, location and a lot more. we are fussy and this wonderful hotel is a the reason we will return to charleston and stay at the venue inn.

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank Valcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We pulled up to the front entrance, waved hi, and were immediately greeted by Alex, who was the most polite, friendly, and informative person we could imagine, welcoming us to Charleston! Right away, we were checked in and escorted to a lovely corner room (#204) - creamy walls, high ceiling, gas fireplace, 2 queen beds which were like sleeping on clouds, and a full decanter of sherry - how very nice! The bathroom was smartly adorned with a neoclassic border, lots of towels, and delightful toiletries with an intriguing blood-orange fragrance. I'm a history buff, so I really liked the exposed antique brick walls in the downstairs concierge area - this was once a 19th-century warehouse. The complimentary full breakfast was wonderful - a wide array of choices and generous portions, with impeccable service. The location, deep in the Old Historic District and close to Waterfront Park, was superb, and so was our entire experience at the Vendue Inn, thanks to its excellent staff. Manager Susie Ridder is obviously doing an impressive job here! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

If I could give Vendue Inn 3.5 stars, I would. I think the main draw for the hotel is the location, which is fabulous: near the water and near the markets and restaurants. We stayed for three nights in an interior room, while family members stayed in a Queen room (both were not in the main building, but were across the street in the annex). First, the interior room was a pleasant surprise. It had a good amount of light and a decent size, but the bathroom did not have a fan. However, the Queen, which was more expensive, was actually smaller than the interior room and the only difference seemed to be the window (which looked out to a bunch of wires and rocks). It is not worth the price difference. That said, the walls are very thin and you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms next door and down the hall. We never had a night where we weren't woken up at least twice by people having normal conversations in the hall; the sound ricochets everywhere. This to me is the major flaw with this hotel.

The breakfast was good, and the wine and cocktail hour is a nice touch, although I would rather the rooms be cheaper than have this included (it doesn't seem worth the price). Also, most of the staff was fabulous, but the male check in person from the morning (the afternoon and evening male check in person was a delight) was not friendly or accommodating. Also, as an FYI, the Rooftop Bar is really casual (think college kids and shot girls), which wasn't really what we were picturing. It is super popular, so obviously people like it, but we were thinking it would be more low key and upscale for some reason.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfitzsimv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel has a very good location in Charleston -- very near Market Square, the horse-drawn carriages, the waterfront and numerous fine restaurants. The staff is very helpful, the hotel is immaculate, and they provide several nice touches--afternoon wine and cheese and cookies and milk at night. The only concern is that the rooms have very thin walls so it can be quite noisy, so ask for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Be sure to insist on a quiet room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,876 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,209 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £157 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing