We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and great beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I picked the Venue because it is close to everything. It is located down near the water front and close to shopping, sights, etc. It is in a historic building and thus a bit quirky with smallish rooms but very pleasant in a Southern way with antique type furniture.

Staff is very helpful, rooms clean but the most memorable thing is the bed. Ours had a mattress so tall there was a stool to get up on to it. Supremely comfy but may not be for little kids or if you're not somewhat agile.

We liked the amenities like manager's wine hour in the afternoon and the cookies/ milk in the evening before bed.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upnatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,679 - 1,685 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel has some real charms: central location, rambling buildings, free bikes, and cookies in the evening

But in other areas, it wasn't all we expected:

- Among the staff it was less Southern Hospitality, more Southern Salesmanship!

Benjamin welcomed us and seemed intent on selling the Valet Parking (with tales of parking fines) and a meal at the Rooftop Bar (with tales of incredible views). Luckily we did our own research and found that parking is free in the streets on Sunday, and the views are nothing special... You get salesmen everywhere. But this was pretty dishonest and pretty obvious.

- For breakfast there was a lot of choice. It was edible but by no means delicious

- The room was comfortable, but the decor was tasteless and a little dated

Overall, OK, but probably not worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The Vendue Inn has outstanding service and a great location. It was perfect for walking the historic area and enjoying the many fine restaurants. I particularly enjoyed the late afternoon wine and snacks. On hot afternoons the ice-cold water with fruit slices was refreshing. The rooms are all quite lovely and romantic. (I was there with my son so the romance was wasted on us.) I would recommend this hotel and area for couples. The hotel has bikes available for use, which is very convenient. The Rooftop restaurant was a fun and casual place to have a drink or a casual dinner.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in a separate building across the street. They are nice rooms, even a bit larger tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The location, the staff, the feel, the hospitality! Oh my God, we loved it. Yes, on the pricer end but worth every dime. People are so sweet and the staff really made it. Would go back in a heart beat and recommend it to anyone. Such a historic feel in an awesome location. One of the most memorable experiences ever. We just love this place! Not even one complaint. Go!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank Ilvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We were expecting amazing things from this highly touted inn but it generally failed to impress. The rooms are pretty but small and cramped and feel old. The food is average at best especially at breakfast. We were expecting really special Southern treats but had a hard time finding something on the menu that tempted us-- I ended up with oatmeal one morning and yogurt with granola another. I can eat those at home! My local diner serves much better pancakes, eggs and grits. Don't eat at the Rooftop Bar but it's fine for a beer-- don't believe the story about the view. The Inn does have some positives-- the location is perfect, the cookies at 9PM are amazing and the staff is wonderful. Overall though, it's not worth the high pricetag.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Vendue Range
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Vendue Inn is not only well located within a short walk to everywhere one would want to visit in historic Charleston, but the facilities and staff are terrific. We did not view other rooms, but we had a beautiful suite, well appointed and very spacious. We travel with our dog, and she was well received by the staff. If there is some downside, perhaps it lacks the modern workout facilities, but that is easily overlooked as one can walk, bike (free use of their bikes) or otherwise be well exercised in Charleston to the point that time flys by way too fast in that town. We would definately recommend this boutique hotel to anyone. BTW, be sure to have sunset cocktails on the roof bar - great view and atmosphere, and fun people watching.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byrd3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed one quick night at this delightful property in the historic district in June 2012. We only wish we could have stayed longer! We had spent the week in Savannah with extended family in a rental home and were visiting Charleston to see the historic gardens/plantations and fly out of Charleston. The location is wonderful with great proximity to downtown attractions. It is located only a couple of blocks from the market area. We were not disappointed in the quality of the inn in any way.

It had been several years since I had been to Charleston but was a familiar refined feeling upon entrance to the district and the rooms. I used Priceline to secure the room the previous day and was delighted with the match as it was an upgrade to my request. The only issue was we were limited to 1 bed queen rooms. But Priceline is what it is; you take what you get. The management offered an upgrade to a 2 queen room at over twice the bid per room, so I declined. The rooms were across from the main property with a private keyed entrance. We stayed on the second floor with rooms next to each other. Be aware there is no elevator. It was a bit noisy from the hallway and the floor above. However I feel this is part of the charm of an "ancient" renovated property. My husband and I would have loved to have had a couple's weekend here. Our college age kids were satisfied with the location. There was complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning.

I would highly recommend this property to couples. If I ever return to Charleston I will certainly check out the possibility to stay here again. The bellmen were friendly and helpful. The front desk a bit stuffy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,466 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £145 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing