We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn right in the French Quarter!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Inn right in the French Quarter!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This Inn is located smack dab in the middle of the French Quarter in Historic Charleston. While a little hard to locate, once you arrive, you will never want to leave. This inn is within walking distance of all that Historic Charleston has to offer. Even before our arrival, we were contacted by concierge to help us with arranging tours and such. The hotel is nicely renovated with small, but quaint rooms. Believe me, you won't be spending much time inside.
A WONDERFUL breakfast starts every morning. They have a wide selection of foods and they are all delicious prepared to order. Each afternoon, the inn hosts a complementary wine and cheese reception in their main lobby. Evening turn-down service rounds out each day in this beautiful and superbly located inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edman525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    435
    127
    73
    47
See reviews for
209
1,467
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Loved it! The room was a bit small, but it really did not make a difference. The room was so beautifully decorated, very comfortable 4 poster bed, and gorgeous old hardwood floors. The staff was incredible, so friendly and helpful in every way, this hotel attempts to anticipate and meet your needs moreso than any hotel I've ever stayed in. Bicycles are available on a first come first serve basis, no charge, just for your convenience. Free trolley stop near by. Be sure to check out the rooftop bar to have a drink and catch the sunset...it was wonderful.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor facing the street, there was no noise or disturbance at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Vendue Inn is an immaculate 4-star property with a 5-star staff - everyone we encountered was warm, friendly, helpful, and seemed to genuinely enjoy their job. It's a small 66-room property with a focus on the details and extras that create a good experience. The location is perfect for exploring Charleston - there were days we didn't even need our car to explore the historic district. Breakfast was included with our room, and includes a fairly robust menu plus a chef's special; they also have a complimentary wine reception in the afternoon and cookies at night. They have a well-known rooftop bar with city views.

Room Tip: We were in the building across the street. it was reasonably quiet, although there is some noise as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Vendue Inn the last weekend of January and we had a fantastic experience. Upon our arrival, we were given an upgrade due to particular circumstances which started the trip off well. Our suite featured a king bed, fireplace and a complimentary bottle of sherry. It was very clean and actually very spacious as well. The Vendue Inn has a great charm to it as it combines a hotel with a B&B feel. You really could not beat the location of this place either. We were literally in walking distance of mostly everything we did that weekend. .

The staff was very professional and courteous and would always greet me by name which I found extremely impressive. Robbie, the concierge, was infinitely helpful. He knew exactly what we were looking to do and provided solid and fulfilling recommendations. The rooftop bar was a great place to have a couple of drinks before going out for a night. It was truly a pleasure to be a guest here and the Vendue Inn has earned my perpetual business.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgbracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This hotel seems to bring out the yeas and the nays more than most. We recently stayed here and enjoyed our stay. The location was great. The staff was professional. They did everything we asked. -- We asked for quiet. We got quiet. We asked for a room in the older building with the elevator. We got the location we requested. And did I say location?!?

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank krystal82004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This was our fifth visit. It was a bit impromptu, we only decided a few days earlier to book. Although we usually go for a larger room, this time we got the Traditional Queen for $185 plus taxes per night. They had us in the building across the street which was fine with us as it seems quieter over there.

The room was fine, if a tad cramped. Loved the decor.

As always, the service and hospitality of the staff was great. Jerry, one of the managers, remembered us. We missed seeing Susie this time.

Only very minor issues were we didn't get the turn down service one night so missed getting the bottled water. The other was we were charged an incorrect room rate ($215) but we got that taken care of and corrected with no problem.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empress5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Vista California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My husband and I felt that we were really on a "get-a-way" from the moment we arrived. Our bellman, Lawson, took care of us and took us on a tour of the hotel. He would always recognize us later and say "hi". Check in was easy as was check out.
The room was great. Fantastic bed and well-appointed. Other reviews of unattractive or poorly maintained rooms certainly did not apply to ours. Ours was beautiful. We also had a wonderful bathroom with a jetted tub which was a relaxing end to a long walking day with some rain that left me a bit cold. Although we were on the street side, I wasn't bothered by noise. I also didn't hear the Roof Top bar noise. My only complaint about location was we wishe the housekeeping crew would keep the vacuums and towel racks out of the hall.

The breakfast was great. We had a long list of options to choose from. Rebecca was a great server and we requested her the second day. Nice areas to choose from to eat in. Coffee available before that, as well. Large urns of lemon or orange flavored water. Also wipes packages to use when ou come in after walking all day. We hear the cookies in the evening were great, but we were always out and missed them. We did get the afternoon wine reception both days. Okay. We also liked the sherry in our room...always available for us.

We had a problem with the safe and maintenance arrived immediately and fixed it. Actually it was probably "pilot error" on the safe, but Doug worked on it with some preventative maintenance while he was there.

I do not recommend the Roof Top Bar. The pictures on line show a view of the water, but you can only see that from one small section. Most of the view I saw was flat rooftops, but I didn't get everywhere and I do see that someone posted a picture with a nice street view. The night we went there was no coffee and no offer to get any (even though there is supposed to be a restaurant included) the waitress didn't know the ingredients of the nightly drink special, and the drink I had was horrible.
Perhaps it is a "happening place" on other nights, but not the night we were there. Also, if you are from a state that bans smoking in bars, be aware there is smoking in this one.

We LOVED the Vendue Inn. Whatever problems might have caused the issues in the other negative reviews, we didn't experience any of them. We truly had a beautiful experience.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PattyAnn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,851 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,180 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing