We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel is one block from the beach and right on the border of the French Quarter. You're a five-minute walk from tons of great restaurants and bars as well as the City Market. Directly across the street is a great English Pub. In short, the location is superb. The service was excellent as well. We were treated very nice by everyone, especially by Lawson and I think Mark. The room was sizeable (although they said they upgraded us, so maybe other rooms are smaller; we had no issues with our room) and well-equipped. Complimentary breakfast was delicious and the free rental of bicycles was a really nice touch. In short, this was a great place and my wife and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again the next time we're in Charleston.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wdeboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,291 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

We've been to Charleston many times and stayed in various hotels. This was one of the best. Even though we used a Groupon, we still got exceptional service and a beautiful room that had recently been redone. The concierge contacted us before we left home to see if we needed help with anything, including hard-to-get dinner reservations. With full-paying guests, breakfast is included. With the Groupon, we had to pay extra, but the charge was nominal, and the food was excellent. They have a great roof-top bar and a location within walking distance of lots of restaurants, sights and shopping.

Room Tip: We had been warned that rooms on the top floor get the late-night noise from the rooftop bar. We hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeenThereDoneThatToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Minus the cockroach in my ice bucket my stay was great. How do you miss that? First the housekeeper missed seeing it then the bellboy who filled the bucket upon my arivial missed it. Check in is at 3 pm. However it took 45 minutes for the check in process to be complete. I think the next visit to charleston I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorja25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sridder, Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

This is a most unusual and unfortunate occurrence. The airborne palmetto bug is an insect native to the Charleston area that is often mistaken for a common cockroach due to their similarity in appearance. Because of the palmetto's ability to take flight these bugs can slip in through an open door. Therefore, it is impossible to tell when this palmetto managed to find its way into the Inn and into this guest's ice bucket. While we take full responsibility for our guests' experiences while staying with us, no member of the Vendue Inn team would overlook a palmetto in the ice bucket nor place ice in a bucket with a palmetto inside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I was planning a girls getaway in Charleston and booked two nights at the Vendue Inn. It couldn't have been more perfect! Everyone was very friendly and helpful! We loved taking the free cruiser bikes around the city, it was a great way to tour around. Our room was wonderful, very spacious and luxurious. The staff was great helping us plan our days and evenings.
The location is right where you want to be for great restaurants and bars. I highly recommend the Vendue Inn!

Room Tip: We had a room with two Queen beds for 4 girls, it was the perfect fit for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erika h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The staff was wonderful and the room was clean and comfortable. We were within walking distance of pretty much everything. We will absolutely be back.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank tsull159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The people there make you feel special as you first check in. Every one greets you and smiles and asks what can they do for you. This attention carried on our full stay, how nice it is to stay somewhere like that. The hotel is well located we walked to most everything, restaurants and sight seeing.
I would give the hotel 5 stars except for our experience in the restaurant. We decided to have dinner there one night because we herd other guest talk about how great it was. Our dinner was poorly cooked and my wife did not receive what she ordered, the waiter insisted it was correct. We sent it back and asked to talk to the chef, he never came out. We were offered free desert but turned it down asked for our check and told the waiter we wanted to charge it to our room. Surprise, my wife's meal was comped along with our wine. The couple sitting next to us heard and saw what was happening and said they had had a problem also and had sent food back. Guess the great chef was not there that night. The breakfast was always excellent.
Would stay there again but would recommend another high end dinner restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel is wonderful location, wonderful service, and our room was very nice. Clean and comfortable, spacious, with a fireplace although we did not really use that it was memorial day weekend. Anything we asked for was delivered right away. Staff was very accomodating. The location was great, we walked everywhere. Very close to the walk along the water.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janielou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,881 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,953 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £136 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing