We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy place!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Loved the attentive service, beautiful room, loaner bicycles, rooftop view, and helpful staff. Perfect location for exploring Charleston on foot or by pedal power! If interested in going to the beach, ask to use the amenities of the sister property, Tides, at Folly Beach. Beach chairs, towels, food and beverages were all available to us. Valet, Mark, was extremely helpful by offering ideas to make our visit more special. He remembered us and greeted us by name every day. Classy touch!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrieonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,474
    426
    126
    73
    47
See reviews for
203
1,449
64
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Was in Charlestown for a long weekend with girlfriends, and stayed in this little charmer. Location couldn't have been better, within walking distance to shops, art galleries, restaurants, and the waterfront. Staff were all super courteous, and one of the managers (Nick) in particular was incredibly knowledgeable about city history, and off-beat must-sees. We started each day with a real nice breakfast served in a quaint dining room, and were greeted at the door with a smile no matter what time of the day or night we came or left. Very clean, comfortable with no pretension...and awesome artwork adorning the little lobby and all the hallways. Will only stay here when visiting Charleston in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The team at the Vendue Inn was very friendly, courteous and professional. Located right in the middle of town, the hotel is very convenient to walk all over the beautiful town of Charleston. The layout of the hotel is very charming and reminiscent of classic European inns. Special thanks to Nick for being extra attentive to our needs. A great value in a great, classic town!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxSunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I had a two night stay at the Vendue Inn. The location is absolutely fantastic! Everything from the reception, the room, the breakfast was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a bit pricey but that's what happens when you want a great location and a high quality hotel. It is a great special occasion place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestButKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Everything in historic Charleston is in walking distance of the inn. Our king room with a fireplace was very spacious and inviting. Handwritten welcome letter on the bed at check-in from hotel manager. Afternoon wine, cheese and fruit. Coffee and newspaper located in each building in the morning. Chocolate on the pillow for turn-down. Very friendly staff.

Any complaints...the shower and bathroom fixtures could use a little freshening. The towels could be a bit nicer. Maybe I am just nitpicking though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street away from the bar/main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Vendue Inn in July. We purposely selected the hotel because it is pet friendly (we have a small terrier) and is close to the park and waterfront, not to mention fantastic restaurants. We are frequent Charleston visitors, as I was born there. The hotel is located in a perfect place for anyone wanting to walk the city, enjoy the waterfront, etc., and the property is lovely. However, we were not told that our pet could never be left alone in the room without our having to avail ourselves of pet-sitting services. And, as none of their restaurants are outdoors (except the rooftop bar), we couldn't eat a meal at the hotel. We also couldn't take her to the rooftop bar because food is served there. Go figure. Everywhere we've ever stayed with her, the hotel handles having a pet alone in the room with a simple sign on the door that says "Do not enter. Pet in room." How hard is that? We were paying a pet deposit anyway, so any damage was ours to pay for. Needless to say, very few restaurants in Charleston have outdoor seating, especially in July, so we were in a city with fabulous cuisine and completely unable to enjoy it because we couldn't leave our pet in our room. Additionally, the pet friendly rooms are in an old section of the hotel that is completely disconnected from the rest of the property, and it's in need of a redo. On the surface, the furnishings look nice, but then you realize the bathroom fixtures don't match, the cabinets are Home Depot grade, and its just not up to snuff. On the positive side, the bedroom was lovely, the airconditioning system worked beautifully, and the location is great. We advised them they should absolutely tell people traveling with pets that the pet can never be alone. We'd have boarded our pet in Columbia or left her with family if we'd known this was their policy. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Insist you are in the main part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCMorris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Vendue Inn. The location was right on the water which we really enjoyed. We were able to walk everywhere easily but if walking isn't your thing, the Vendue offers free bicycles and the free trolley picks up just down the street. Even though it is a pricey place, we thought it was well worth it because of all of the free additions. Along with the bicycles, they offer wine and cheese in the evening as well as milk and cookies before bed. The hospitality was terrific and the rooms where beautiful and comfortable. We highly recommend staying at the Vendue Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,825 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,396 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,760 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 62 in Charleston
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing