We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I was visiting Charleston on business so I decided to bring my wife since we had never been. It amazes me that anyone could find anything wrong with this hotel. I understand that it is and old building and there for has the old building issues. But what one person calls old and musty, I call character. The people who work here are so friendly and the service was amazing. The location cannot be beat, right be Waterfront Park. Afternoon wine and cheese, nighttime milk and cookies, free bikes to use anytime. Bed was comfortable and room was charming.

If I had to say anything negative it would be that parking was a nightmare, but this is not really the hotels fault. They do offer a $14 a day parking option, but we opted for trying to find free parking. With a little bit of driving around we were able to pull it off. The only other complaint would be the fact that the hallways and doors were a bit load to the point that there were times you though someone was coming in your room, but here again it is an old building and come with the territory.

Next time we return to Charleston I would stay here in a heart beat!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,213)
There are newer reviews for The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,260 - 1,266 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Wonderful and helpful staff. The inn is historic and is ideally located in the french quarter. It also is on the trolley bus route, so when you are tired of walking, you can grab the free trolley that comes by every 12 minutes. Very quiet section of town, with a beautiful park and pier less than a block away. Great breakfast, and the nightly milk and cookies were a nice touch. The standard queen room has wonderful old brick details. The only knock I have on the room is the use of standard "Home Depot" vanity, shower and tub. For a few bucks more, the bathroom could have tied into the theme much better. Otherwise, a very nice room. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

In Charleston to celebrate a wedding anniverary; not our first trip. Perfect location for those that don't want the cost and bother of a car in Downtown. Everything is within walking distance and if you don't feel like walking they'll loan you a bicycle! Nikki was great with every question that came up, Joe & Paul upstairs on the Rooftop were delightful, Lawson had the perfection suggestions for coffee and I think they even went out and bought a hair dryer when the one in our room decided to give out (thank you Nick). With the addition of a reasonably priced and comfortable shuttle to Folly Beach for a day trip, this visit to Charleston was perfect. Thank you to ALL the staff Vendue Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAC04043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We loved this hotel especially at the reasonable rate. The room was adorable and the bathroom was small but really nice. You do have to walk across the street for cookies and milk at night and breakfast in the morning but who cares. The rooms were dark making sleeping optimal and we never heard anything from anyone else. The gentleman at the front desk at night named Alex was extremely helpful and nice. I even saw him looking up information on Charleston statistics for a guest! they helped with recommendations and directions. we ate and drank up and down the street and easily walked back to the hotel. The street was always well lit and we were never worried about anything!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollylvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Loved the attentive service, beautiful room, loaner bicycles, rooftop view, and helpful staff. Perfect location for exploring Charleston on foot or by pedal power! If interested in going to the beach, ask to use the amenities of the sister property, Tides, at Folly Beach. Beach chairs, towels, food and beverages were all available to us. Valet, Mark, was extremely helpful by offering ideas to make our visit more special. He remembered us and greeted us by name every day. Classy touch!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrieonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Was in Charlestown for a long weekend with girlfriends, and stayed in this little charmer. Location couldn't have been better, within walking distance to shops, art galleries, restaurants, and the waterfront. Staff were all super courteous, and one of the managers (Nick) in particular was incredibly knowledgeable about city history, and off-beat must-sees. We started each day with a real nice breakfast served in a quaint dining room, and were greeted at the door with a smile no matter what time of the day or night we came or left. Very clean, comfortable with no pretension...and awesome artwork adorning the little lobby and all the hallways. Will only stay here when visiting Charleston in future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The team at the Vendue Inn was very friendly, courteous and professional. Located right in the middle of town, the hotel is very convenient to walk all over the beautiful town of Charleston. The layout of the hotel is very charming and reminiscent of classic European inns. Special thanks to Nick for being extra attentive to our needs. A great value in a great, classic town!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaxSunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,882 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,214 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £156 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing