We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great return stay, hope to go back again soon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great return stay, hope to go back again soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great example of traditional Charleston style in architecture, furnishings, and hospitality. Prepare to step into a picture of the antebellum South where the staff is friendly attentive and eager to make sure everything is in place and perfect for your stay. We especially enjoy being close to the roof top bar overlooking the harbor, and being pampered at the restaurant, afternoon reception, breakfast, private tours, and personal concierge desk to arrange anything we want around town. We'd love to see even a small fitness room available, but there are bikes available to all guests and the pier to the Battery and back is a great place for a run or walk. Overall, you won't have to lift a finger, and you'll get as good or better service and amenities as other boutique hotels in the neighborhood for a more reasonable price.

Room Tip: You can pick the level of space and creature comforts you want from a variety of room types. We gen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D5648CGRobert_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,405
    410
    119
    71
    44
See reviews for
197
1,377
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mabank, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Look up southern hospitality in the dictionary and you will find pictures of the staff of the Vendue Inn. They never forgot our names, why we were visiting Charleston, and what our plans were for any given day. The rooms were well appointed, each decorated differently. If Charleston wasn't so intriguing you could spend all day snuggled in the luxury of the bed linens and pillows. We are three girlfriends from elementary school in Midland, Texas celebrating our 2013 birthdays. None of us had been to Charleston and we all agreed it is a place to revisit. The only negative thing we can say is our breakfast scrambled eggs smelled and tasted fishy. We enjoyed the rooftop bar and restaurant...food and drinks were good...the staff, friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoDee315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh Durham Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This Inn is located in an ideal location. A block from the dock, a short walk to some of the most interesting mansions in Charleston and just around the corner from Market Street. We walked to almost every place we wanted to go. The city provides a trolley that is free and will take a tourist to almost anywhere you want to go. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our stay included a breakfast that was supreme. Our only regret is that we only stayed for two nights. We highly recommend the Anchorage Inn to anyone visiting Charleston. We are definitely coming back and look forward to our next trip to this wonderful city!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmanstown
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed at the Anchorage Inn for 2 nights from Sept. 7 through Sept 9th. Check in was easy and quick. The room was one of the ones on the interior with no outside windows. This was not a problem. Loved the design of the old building. Lots of character. Everything was a quick walk away. The desk attendants were very knowlegable about the area and had suggestions from what to do and where to eat. Wine and cheese in the afternoon was great and so was the breakfast. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamMc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Perfect location for this beautiful city. Beautifully appointed rooms and really feels authentic old south. There are so many lovely extras. Not just a continental breakfast, a warm yummy breakfast with lots of choices. Cookies and milk at night. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. We heard about this establishment from a friend and it did not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparks654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were greeted warmly and the property exceeded our expectations in every way.
The service was really outstanding, nothing was too much trouble.

We enjoyed a wine & cheese reception before being shown around and then escorted to our very well appointed and comfortable lodgings. Everything was clean and fresh, the subtle elegance of the historic Inn shone through.

We read rave reviews about this property in Australian Gourmet Traveller magazine, with emphasis on the stunning roof top bar, so we were eager to try it out.
To our surprise, the ambience didn't reflect that of the Inn downstairs.
It was somewhat ragged at the edges, with really irritating electro dance music blaring in the background. At 4pm in the afternoon, this was a little hard to take.
We made mention of this on the guest feedback survey, and received a very prompt reply, assuring us Inn Management had reviewed and was planning more appropriate music to suit different times of the day.

We received some excellent recommendations for dinner from the staff at the Inn, and chose to dine at High Cotton restaurant, just steps away on East Bay St. Sensational experience - WOW!

We also enjoyed a meal at the Roof Top Bar, and breakfasted at the Inn, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

The location was perfect, and we can't wait to return to the charming and delightful Vendue Inn to see more of wonderful Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pc0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I was visiting Charleston on business so I decided to bring my wife since we had never been. It amazes me that anyone could find anything wrong with this hotel. I understand that it is and old building and there for has the old building issues. But what one person calls old and musty, I call character. The people who work here are so friendly and the service was amazing. The location cannot be beat, right be Waterfront Park. Afternoon wine and cheese, nighttime milk and cookies, free bikes to use anytime. Bed was comfortable and room was charming.

If I had to say anything negative it would be that parking was a nightmare, but this is not really the hotels fault. They do offer a $14 a day parking option, but we opted for trying to find free parking. With a little bit of driving around we were able to pull it off. The only other complaint would be the fact that the hallways and doors were a bit load to the point that there were times you though someone was coming in your room, but here again it is an old building and come with the territory.

Next time we return to Charleston I would stay here in a heart beat!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing