We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Vendue is really beautiful, has top notch service, and is in a great location. The inn has a classic historic Charleston feel from the building, to the art, to furniture. The service is excellent and everywhere you go there is fresh fruit infused water, coffee in the morning,a wine and cheese hour, and cookies and milk at night. Inside you feel like you are in a quiet countryside inn, yet once you walk outside you are right in the middle of all the action and history that Charleston has to offer. I would definitely choose the Vendue for another stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregtrzaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I cannot believe nobody has mentioned the noise issues with this property. We have now stayed across the street, where we could hear the people and tv in the other rooms. And in the main bldg where street noise kept us up til after 3 am. Great location for day but not when bars let out. Hotel seems bit tired also.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had the best lunch ever! - Their Lobster Grilled Cheese is made with claw & knuckle meat, swiss & provolone cheese & comes with tomato jus - we also had the House Made Rosemary Potato Chips - it was so delicious that I'm salivating as I write! The service was great & the view from the top deck was breathtaking. Don't miss this hidden gem.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at this inn but after eating here I would definitely consider it for my next trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Lynn4four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We just returned from a two-night stay at the Vendue Inn in honor of our 5th wedding anniversary. We are so happy we chose this property.The location is great - walking distance to some of Charleston's best dining. The staff was very friendly and polite, and the room was spotless. The king bed was outrageously comfortable, and the linens so white, clean, and soft.
Breakfast at hotel's restaurant was delicious, and the afternoon wine and cheese reception was a nice way to relax after a busy day of sightseeing.
The staff acknowledged our anniversary with a bottle of champagne, fruit, and cookies in our room upon arrival, and even presented us with complimentary breakfast vouchers. A huge thanks to Nick Whitney for his outstanding service during our stay, and in advance of our arrival. He was an absolute pleasure to deal with. Robbie the concierge set up a private carriage tour for us, and secured a great table at the Peninsula Grill for our anniversary dinner.
We'll be sure to stay at the Vendue Inn when we return to Charleston.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #218 - you should too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This place is terrible. I paid $600 plus / night for a king deluxe suite. Putting up new curtains and flat panel screens does not make the hotel 5 stars. The bathroom was something based out of a bad 70's series mobile home. The fixtures did not match. The cabinetry was painted plywood. The carpet was stained. The safe did not work. The bathroom sink had very little water pressure. The furniture looked and felt dirty. The staff was rude - I asked for a late checkout - they said I could have an extra hour otherwise they would have to charge me. I called back to talk to the manager and he asked why I was talking to him about a late checkout.

Room Tip: Go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkerwin, Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

It is always disheartening to learn that a guest is disappointed with their accommodations and guest experience. Here at the Vendue, we pride ourselves on providing excellent service, so this guest's report of rudeness is especially stinging. As a small, historic hotel, we are not always able to accommodate requests for late checkout beyond an additional hour. It is difficult to balance the needs of guests making such requests with those expecting to arrive and find their room ready. While we can and do store guests' luggage and make every effort to them as comfortable as possible in our lobby and other common areas, there are times when a prolonged check out time will adversely impact our ability to serve arriving guests.

As many guests have mentioned in their reviews, the Inn is in the process of renovating our facilities. The room this guest stayed in is part of a block of rooms that is currently being prepared for a complete update. Our continued hope is that our guests will bear with us as we endeavor to update the Inn while retaining its historic ambiance. We appreciate our guests patience and promise not to disappoint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Anchorage Inn has an ideal location in Charleston, located between the waterfront park and East Bay Street which is filled with great restaurants, and a block or two from King Street which is the shopping hub of Charleston, and in the beautiful historic section, so everything is within an easy walk. But if walking isn't your thing, they provide "cruisers" for biking to the battery park and sightseeing the historic homes. A delicious daily breakfast from the Vendue Inn across the street was a treat, afternoon wine and milk and cookies at night meant more walking or biking to work it all off!

Room Tip: Request a room with a window when booking as this is an old cotton warehouse, so some rooms are with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandyfeet24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had an amazing trip to Charleston and were so fortunate to have found the Vendue Inn. The entire staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. We were with our 6-month old and they were very accommodating in all aspects of our stay. The location also could not be beat. We walked everywhere within the city. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Bess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,463 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £146 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing