We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The renovated Vendue across the street from the currently operational 26 Vendue looks terrific. It is due to open in May. The roof top bar there opened during our stay at 26 Vendue and was a real treat. Lovely space.
If the renovated rooms are on the same level the hotel will be the best in the city. But 26 Vendue needs to be renovated next. As others have commented, the carpets are filthy. Some of the furnishings are stained.
Our king room, however, was cool. Number 350. Like a garret. And staff was very helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank blackJackalexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,303 - 1,309 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here early April 2014. Location is great, but that's where the "good" list ends.

We were in a traditional guestroom with a view of the "courtyard", which was occupied by an electrical transfer station. Granted, when we reserved a room at Vendue we didn't exactly place a high priority on having a room with a view, so my statement above regarding Vendue not being a good value is largely exclusive of this attribute. But still. A power station? No view at all would have been a better option.

Room size is an embarrassment considering the rate we paid, and the ownership has done a fantastic job of masking these spatial shortcomings in the images presented on the website. We simply did not have space to operate within the room. No shelf space for toiletries in the bathroom, limited floor space in the room proper, and insufficient "storage" space for clothes, etc. We just couldn't help but feel like we were in a dorm room, and as such we had to rekindle our organizational creativity. It was frustrating to say the least.

The common spaces in the hotel are dated and poorly-appointed. Carpets are in dire need of replacement, as is made apparent by the extensive wear and staining. Sitting rooms are a study in "close, but no cigar". For every appealing traditional feature in the room, you can find a negating feature in the form of an industrial ceiling tile or poorly-hidden speaker wire. No amount of complimentary cookies can mask this.

Staff was friendly, though at times bordering on nosy and intrusive with regards to our plans as we headed out the door to take in the city. During our three-night stay we got to the point where passing the front desk (positioned directly in front of the main entrance) felt like running the gauntlet. Sometimes less is more, guys. If we want your recommendation, we'll ask for it. Otherwise, butt out and let your patrons explore the wonderful city of Charleston at their own speed.

Vendue just falls far short. They have a great location, yet have managed to ruin an otherwise interesting historical structure by filling it with weak interior appointments, excessively syrupy service, and cramped accommodations. An extremely poor value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_3312014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

As we arrived, we were greeted kindly, told that the hotel was booked entirely and gave us the impression we were lucky to have found even the reserved space we had. The staff had left a fine impression a week earlier by calling me and asking if there was anything I might need, so we were expecting something extraordinary.

Even the mention at check-in of how the hotel was proud to still use old-style actual keys seemed a sweet novelty. But then we were led to the Interior Room.

The "interior room" (one of maybe 2 or 3?) is located right off the main lobby, only feet from the check-in desk and all of the attending sounds of a phone ringing, of visitors arriving, of staff conversations. It was as if we were in the lobby with them.

Beyond this, the room has no windows. We booked the interior room with this knowledge, but the effect in person is one of dread. There is no effective artificial lighting to make up for the lack of sunlight, and the removal of any perception of passing time is pronounced to the point of making one ill.

Also, there is no mirror in the main room, only in the galley-like bathroom.

The room felt like an afterthought, a large coat closet turned into a room. And with only the single keyed door in or out, the effect was not unlike that of a holding cell.

We put on brave faces, went out to dinner, and on the way back in we had the inspiration to ask the front desk overnight clerk if all of the other rooms were still booked. He seemed quite used to this sort of attempted escape and barely grunted a "yes, all booked."

In the end, the next morning found us feeling quite ill and unsure if the sun still existed. A complaint fully-formed in my head, I stepped up to the front desk (it wasn't far) and said we'd not be staying longer. Graciously, the manager released us from our two-night stay, and even said something like "Some people just don't like the interior room."

She was right. Some people just don't.

Room Tip: The interior room is just not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ThomasLStrickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We paid a lot of money to book a 2 night stay at the Vendue. We paid 40.00 extra per night for a "room with a view." When we got to the Vendue they took us to our room & it did have a window --- but the window over looked the back of a parking garage & an electrical yard. We mentioned this to the bellman & he said "Oh yeah, that is the view of the courtyard." It was FAR from a "courtyard." When we came downstairs the receptionist asked us how we liked to room & we told her that the view left a lot to be desired & she never apologized, did not offer us our "room with a view" money back or offer to upgrade our room. We also had to clean out several hairs from the shower & found the room the be quite cramped. We would not stay here again. We felt the advertisement showed a much nicer view & description than what really was - not to mention we did not find the staff to care about the customers although we were paying 300+ per night. They also put 2 unapproved charges on our account before we checked out & would have charged us the extra money had I not read over my bill closely.

Room Tip: Do not pay the extra for a "view" unless you verify that you will be getting an actual vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our arrival was upsetting as we booked on Hotwire and The Vendue did not receive our booking. There were no available rooms, but Alex jumped through hoops to find the four of us rooms elsewhere . We were able to return to Vendue after few days. The beautiful rooms, old southern charm throughout the hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Jake and Lawson greeted us warmly and professionally and Caroline's recommendations were spot on. Nikki helped us out whenever we needed anything. Always nice coming back to a glass of wine...( not to mention delicious cookies waiting each evening!)

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Lucyrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

So much more than an overnight stay. Staying in the Vendue Inn was an experience. There could be no friendlier staff. Like staying in a second home. We would enthusiastically recommend this hotel to anyone bound for Charleston

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

As I stated in the title, the location of The Vendue can't be beat. First of all, Charleston exceeded all my expectations as a city, and I will most definitely be back. You can walk everywhere you want/need to go from this hotel, and will never need to catch a cab, except to/from the airport. The beds in our King jr suite were absolutely amazing, which was nice considering I do not usually sleep well in any bed other than my own. We had a complimentary carafe of brandy in our room, which I think might be standard with a suite (nice). Bummed I never made the 4:00 wine and cheese since we were out and about every day, but milk and cookies were a nice touch. Coffee was good in the morning, but the breakfast was lacking overall. La Quinta truly gives you more options which is a downer. Wished the main part wasn't under construction so we could use the restaurant and famous rooftop bar. Next time!! Overall, everyone was very nice, we enjoyed our stay, and would return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Snickersmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,963 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,153 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £145 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing