We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Vendue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a great stay for our anniversary at Vendue. Service was exceptional, room was great and location can't be beat. We couldn't tell that part of the hotel was still being renovated and had a great stay. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a great experience in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WesFest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,211)
There are newer reviews for The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,142 of 2,211 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I would highly recommend The Vendue to anyone looking for a great place to stay while visiting Charleston. The concierge, Robbie, called me a week before we arrived to offer assistance during our stay because we were arriving during a festival. He was perfect with his recommendations. I was hesitant to take his recommendation and try The Drawing Room, the new restaurant on property, but am so glad we listened to all of his suggestions. Everything was perfect! Cru Cafe and High Cotton were both very good too and would recommend all of these to others.
The room that we stayed in was perfect. We decided to stay in a traditional queen room on Vendue 26. The room was just what we were looking for. We knew we were not going to be in the room much, so we did not need the bigger and renovated rooms. The bed was amazing and felt like we were sleeping on a cloud. We did take a tour of the new rooms and they are amazing. We would recommend the East Bay Rooms or Concierge Rooms to others looking to stay in the Vendue 19 building.
The staff was amazing with all of our requests. I could not find anything to complain about if I was looking for something.
I will be sure to recommend The Vendue and The Drawing Room to anyone looking to come to Charleston.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our first visit to Charleston, so our first hotel experience in the city. We were greeted warmly and checkin was accompanied by a quick walkthrough of the lobby floor and amenities. Our room was in the part of the hotel across the street, and seemed quieter. Our guest room was large with comfortable seating and and excellent bed. Decor was a bit dark for our taste, but well done. Bathroom, linens, toiletries all excellent. We enjoyed having the window onto street instead of a windowless room away from the street. The street is a quiet side street, so noise is minimal. Service was personal, professional, available and accommodating, something to be expected at this price point, but not always present. Valet parking was worth the charge given the parking problems of Spoleto Festival weekend. The hotel is walking distance to most desirable restaurants, the market, etc. Rooftop bar was a great place to relax at the end of the day, especially on weeknights and Sunday when it wasn't crowded.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We paid a lit of money for a room that was so tiny. There was nowhere to put toiletries the bathroom was so small . With the money we paid, there was not even a free breakfast. However, the staff was amazing. We had our own concierge in our building. The hotel is elegant and beautiful. The room, albeit very small was decorated beautifully. I guess we paid for location, which was great.

Room Tip: We had inside room, no windows, very very small
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattih61458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was quite disappointing, aside from the location and the nice-enough staff. We stayed in room 253 in 26 Vendue. It was small with more shabby that chic furniture and no real place to put any items down (wallet, keys, purse, phone, etc) Two small chairs and a tiny, low table with mini bedside tables and lamps with falling-apart sockets. The bathroom vanity had been redone and was large enough to put your items. However I was looking forward to a bath and the tub had multiple nicks and rust stains that didn't make it appealing. The plastic toilet seat did not even fit correctly and the light in the shower did not work.
The three most disappointing things are the Vendue for the >$400/night is that they charge you $20 a day for valet parking but made it sound complimentary, did not include any breakfast and one of their big selling points (which we wanted the most) was their bikes. Not only were there never bikes available due to half of them being broken, but the actual bikes were complete wrecks. The seat adjustments were broken so you low-ride the whole time and the handles were loose and breaks loose. We ended up renting from B's Bikes (really great!) and found out that Brian used to work for the Vendue but they didn't want to do any upkeep on the bikes anymore.
I WOULD NOT recommend this place- there are a ton of other charming Charleston places.
We are a couple in our late 30s, from NYC, travel a fair amount with solid standards. We did not expect super luxury at the Vendue but hoped for mid-level charm of a Charleston bed and breakfast and we felt ripped off.
Oddly enough we have two couples coming down for Charleston weekends in the upcoming month and I've already told them to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AmyEspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We only stayed for one night so the room was not that important to us. We had a inside room with no window. It was clean and well appointed. The very best part of this boutique hotel is the location. Fabulous! The next best thing are the employees. They all were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I will definitely choose the Vendue on my next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandwaySt_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived at 215 pm greeted by the bellman who noted our name on his list, he took our bags from the cab said he was taking them to our room and dire uptrend us to register. The woman at the desk refused to register us and told us we had to come back after 3 as our room wasn't ready. The bell man came in and looked at her surprised. We were surprised as we never had this happen, we were at least registered, considering it was a matter of 45 minutes. We returned and were given an inside room, this is room without windows, felt like a dungeon, a clean dungeon...thanks a lot priceline..I thought I was getting a 5 star room but it was bunk. The vendue should not make a fals 5 star offer. I asked for a room with a window and was moved ..they said it was an upgrade. The room had a window with a view of the power plant. There were blood stains on the wall and the ice bucket had a liner with water in it. The tv signal was intermittent. On the plus side most of the staff was helpful, more tip oriented than customer oriented. Lesson learned. If they treat the people who take them up on their reduced rates poorly then they are not a good hotel.

Room Tip: No pool no fitness center
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank radli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,878 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,213 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £157 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing