We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay in every way...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in every way...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from our stay at the Vendue Inn 26 and it was fantastic. I had wondered how it would be to be across the street from the main hotel, but I preferred it in the end. The Vendue 26 has a separate front desk staff, and gorgeous wood working and a great drawing room where they serve wine & cheese, coffee, and cookies throughout the day.

We opted for the inside room (room 158) and although there was no window, found it to be charming and exactly as we expected. The room itself could have used wall sconce by the door, but otherwise wonderful. The hotel staff makes you feel so welcome and it definitely feels like an upscale hotel. Even the bathroom in the main building has paintings in the stalls.

I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinmo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,405
    411
    119
    71
    44
See reviews for
197
1,378
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folly Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We ate at The Drawing Room and it was wonderful! The food was delicious and the wait staff was very friendly. I love the fact that they feature local art throughout the restaurant! The rooftop bar is a great place to get a drink before dinner!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank FollyGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and smack dab in the middle of historic Charleston. The breakfast was delicious and the hotel staff was courteous and helpful. Definitely a must if you are staying in the area. Only downside is you have to pay for parking in the public garage.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a great stay for our anniversary at Vendue. Service was exceptional, room was great and location can't be beat. We couldn't tell that part of the hotel was still being renovated and had a great stay. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a great experience in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WesFest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I would highly recommend The Vendue to anyone looking for a great place to stay while visiting Charleston. The concierge, Robbie, called me a week before we arrived to offer assistance during our stay because we were arriving during a festival. He was perfect with his recommendations. I was hesitant to take his recommendation and try The Drawing Room, the new restaurant on property, but am so glad we listened to all of his suggestions. Everything was perfect! Cru Cafe and High Cotton were both very good too and would recommend all of these to others.
The room that we stayed in was perfect. We decided to stay in a traditional queen room on Vendue 26. The room was just what we were looking for. We knew we were not going to be in the room much, so we did not need the bigger and renovated rooms. The bed was amazing and felt like we were sleeping on a cloud. We did take a tour of the new rooms and they are amazing. We would recommend the East Bay Rooms or Concierge Rooms to others looking to stay in the Vendue 19 building.
The staff was amazing with all of our requests. I could not find anything to complain about if I was looking for something.
I will be sure to recommend The Vendue and The Drawing Room to anyone looking to come to Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was our first visit to Charleston, so our first hotel experience in the city. We were greeted warmly and checkin was accompanied by a quick walkthrough of the lobby floor and amenities. Our room was in the part of the hotel across the street, and seemed quieter. Our guest room was large with comfortable seating and and excellent bed. Decor was a bit dark for our taste, but well done. Bathroom, linens, toiletries all excellent. We enjoyed having the window onto street instead of a windowless room away from the street. The street is a quiet side street, so noise is minimal. Service was personal, professional, available and accommodating, something to be expected at this price point, but not always present. Valet parking was worth the charge given the parking problems of Spoleto Festival weekend. The hotel is walking distance to most desirable restaurants, the market, etc. Rooftop bar was a great place to relax at the end of the day, especially on weeknights and Sunday when it wasn't crowded.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We paid a lit of money for a room that was so tiny. There was nowhere to put toiletries the bathroom was so small . With the money we paid, there was not even a free breakfast. However, the staff was amazing. We had our own concierge in our building. The hotel is elegant and beautiful. The room, albeit very small was decorated beautifully. I guess we paid for location, which was great.

Room Tip: We had inside room, no windows, very very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattih61458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing