We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Full of Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming and Full of Character”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I fell in love with this place the first moment we walked in the door. I had originally booked a king interior room. Upon check in, I was upgraded to a king room with fireplace in 26 Vendue. What a lovely surprise! Ask for room 350 if you can. This room is set off by itself up its own flight of stairs (sorry to the bellman that had to haul our luggage) above the resident artist's studio. How cool is that! The bed was so fluffy and welcoming that I couldn't wait to jump in it. Everyone is so friendly here. The manager's reception is very nice, and you can't leave without having a drink in the rooftop bar. We didn't have time to use the bikes, but we hope to return someday and get the chance. The location is perfect. I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 350 has to be the best one in 26 Vendue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazerojos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,454
    426
    122
    73
    46
See reviews for
203
1,432
62
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The renovations in the hotel across the street are beautiful, but we were in an older room in the hotel that is outdated and needing renovations. Our room was nice enough and the staff is very nice and helpful. There is no elevator and they only serve coffee and tea in the morning. I would actually rate this a bit higher if the price was lower and if the bathroom had been cleaner. I would not stay here again given the many choices at the same price point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truetexangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from our stay at the Vendue Inn 26 and it was fantastic. I had wondered how it would be to be across the street from the main hotel, but I preferred it in the end. The Vendue 26 has a separate front desk staff, and gorgeous wood working and a great drawing room where they serve wine & cheese, coffee, and cookies throughout the day.

We opted for the inside room (room 158) and although there was no window, found it to be charming and exactly as we expected. The room itself could have used wall sconce by the door, but otherwise wonderful. The hotel staff makes you feel so welcome and it definitely feels like an upscale hotel. Even the bathroom in the main building has paintings in the stalls.

I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinmo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folly Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We ate at The Drawing Room and it was wonderful! The food was delicious and the wait staff was very friendly. I love the fact that they feature local art throughout the restaurant! The rooftop bar is a great place to get a drink before dinner!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank FollyGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and smack dab in the middle of historic Charleston. The breakfast was delicious and the hotel staff was courteous and helpful. Definitely a must if you are staying in the area. Only downside is you have to pay for parking in the public garage.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a great stay for our anniversary at Vendue. Service was exceptional, room was great and location can't be beat. We couldn't tell that part of the hotel was still being renovated and had a great stay. Would highly recommend if you are looking for a great experience in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WesFest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I would highly recommend The Vendue to anyone looking for a great place to stay while visiting Charleston. The concierge, Robbie, called me a week before we arrived to offer assistance during our stay because we were arriving during a festival. He was perfect with his recommendations. I was hesitant to take his recommendation and try The Drawing Room, the new restaurant on property, but am so glad we listened to all of his suggestions. Everything was perfect! Cru Cafe and High Cotton were both very good too and would recommend all of these to others.
The room that we stayed in was perfect. We decided to stay in a traditional queen room on Vendue 26. The room was just what we were looking for. We knew we were not going to be in the room much, so we did not need the bigger and renovated rooms. The bed was amazing and felt like we were sleeping on a cloud. We did take a tour of the new rooms and they are amazing. We would recommend the East Bay Rooms or Concierge Rooms to others looking to stay in the Vendue 19 building.
The staff was amazing with all of our requests. I could not find anything to complain about if I was looking for something.
I will be sure to recommend The Vendue and The Drawing Room to anyone looking to come to Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,798 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing