We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Chas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our second time back at The Drawing Room!! Food, staff, art work and atmosphere are out of this world!! We L-O-V-E the roof top bars!! The second level roof top bar gives a complete 360 degree view of the Holy City and the harbor and has such great breezes!! We never want to leave!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larkmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,405
    410
    118
    71
    44
See reviews for
197
1,376
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from our stay at the Vendue Inn 26 and we had a great experience! The staff and concierge are extremely helpful and friendly. We LOVE (and have always loved) the rooftop bar, which has expanded to another level that has beautiful views at night of the city and churches in the area. Most all of the hotel and bar have been renovated and upgraded and look fantastic. Being in the Vendue 26, which is not the main hotel, was great! They had their own friendly staff and a great happy hour from 4-5, as well as cookies at night. We never made it for coffee and tea in the morning. The hotel also has complimentary bikes that we rode all around the city one day. My only little complaint would be that we were in Room 1, which is actually just outside of the building on the street. It was a beautiful and clean room with a very comfortable bed and everything we needed, but it was a bit loud in the morning with ppl coming in and out. But I would still give the experience and hotel 5 stars. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The only reason I gave sleep quality an average rating is because we were in Room 1, which was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago3122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Chicago 3122014,
first of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Vendue during your recent visit to Charleston and for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. We certainly appreciate your referral and endorsement of The Vendue. We will be addressing a better sound insulation for the room you stayed in and feel confident that it will eliminate that problem.
We look forward to the next time you will be joining us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I fell in love with this place the first moment we walked in the door. I had originally booked a king interior room. Upon check in, I was upgraded to a king room with fireplace in 26 Vendue. What a lovely surprise! Ask for room 350 if you can. This room is set off by itself up its own flight of stairs (sorry to the bellman that had to haul our luggage) above the resident artist's studio. How cool is that! The bed was so fluffy and welcoming that I couldn't wait to jump in it. Everyone is so friendly here. The manager's reception is very nice, and you can't leave without having a drink in the rooftop bar. We didn't have time to use the bikes, but we hope to return someday and get the chance. The location is perfect. I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 350 has to be the best one in 26 Vendue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazerojos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The renovations in the hotel across the street are beautiful, but we were in an older room in the hotel that is outdated and needing renovations. Our room was nice enough and the staff is very nice and helpful. There is no elevator and they only serve coffee and tea in the morning. I would actually rate this a bit higher if the price was lower and if the bathroom had been cleaner. I would not stay here again given the many choices at the same price point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truetexangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from our stay at the Vendue Inn 26 and it was fantastic. I had wondered how it would be to be across the street from the main hotel, but I preferred it in the end. The Vendue 26 has a separate front desk staff, and gorgeous wood working and a great drawing room where they serve wine & cheese, coffee, and cookies throughout the day.

We opted for the inside room (room 158) and although there was no window, found it to be charming and exactly as we expected. The room itself could have used wall sconce by the door, but otherwise wonderful. The hotel staff makes you feel so welcome and it definitely feels like an upscale hotel. Even the bathroom in the main building has paintings in the stalls.

I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinmo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folly Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We ate at The Drawing Room and it was wonderful! The food was delicious and the wait staff was very friendly. I love the fact that they feature local art throughout the restaurant! The rooftop bar is a great place to get a drink before dinner!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank FollyGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and smack dab in the middle of historic Charleston. The breakfast was delicious and the hotel staff was courteous and helpful. Definitely a must if you are staying in the area. Only downside is you have to pay for parking in the public garage.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,726 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,960 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,679 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,312 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing