We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Charleston.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best place to stay in Charleston.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My two sisters and I planned a trip to Charleston and stayed at the newly renovated Vendue Inn and we are so glad we did. The Vendue is located close to the heart of Charleston so we were able to walk to just about everywhere we wanted to go including the many fabulous restaurants. The inside of the Vendue is beautiful, our rooms were clean and homey, and the staff were wonderful - attentive to our every need. I would recommend to everyone that the next time they come to Charleston, this is the place to stay. The bar and restaurant was so inviting, you would not need to go anywhere else for great drinks and food.

Room Tip: Second floor was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    402
    115
    70
    43
See reviews for
191
1,356
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I would give this hotel top marks. The rooms are great, the service exception, and the location perfect. The list of extras included is impressive: morning coffee, afternoon wine and cheese, evening cookies, and turn down service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

What an amazing inn. I am usually someone who stays at hotels, but we happened upon this inn when we were road tripping. It was by far the most expensive stop on our trip, but also the loveliest. You felt like you were really taken care of, while not being constantly watched. The rooms had this incredible feel to them and the staff were beyond kind and thoughtful. Such a great location, but really, it is such a great choice to feel almost like you are back in history without the whole like ghost vibe :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tothepointnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, IN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I booked a trip to Charleston for our first anniversary. I've been to Charleston before, but I stayed across Charleston Harbor in Mt. Pleasant. For our anniversary trip, I thought it be nice to stay in Charleston proper. After reviewing local hotels, I decided to stay at The Vendue Inn.

We stayed at 19 Vendue Range (not the sister property across the street) in room 215. We also booked at a good time - we received a 30% discount.

At the time, the hotel was transitioning from a bed-and-breakfast to a hotel. It still had that bed-and-breakfast feel, but with no breakfast. At night, they offered guests cookies and milk. Nice touch!

We were promptly attended to by hotel staff and checked in our room quickly.

The room was great! Comfortable bed, old hardwood floors, updated bathroom, etc. It was just enough space for my husband and I. I never heard any guests walking to their rooms, the elevator, or street noise. I was concerned about ghosts - Charleston is known for its creep factor - I never saw or felt anything weird.

The location was perfect. It's in quintessential Charleston. You're by all things Charleston - great food, bars, shopping, waterfront harbor - it's all walking distance. The hotel provided bikes, but we never used them. A couple great places to eat nearby - Pearlz Oyster Bar and Magnolias. I missed Husk, but next time I visit Charleston, I'll be there. Please avoid Hyman's Seafood - disgusting!

There's a bar on top of the hotel. We went up there one night just to check it out. Nice if you're into the bar scene. We also ate breakfast at the hotel. We didn't enjoy it. I would suggest eating somewhere else if you have time.

We parked on the street in front of the hotel on Vendue Range or behind the hotel on Gendron or Cordes St. There was no need for us to pay for parking. A parking garage is nearby, but unnecessary.

I would suggest people stay here if they were planning a trip to Charleston. Of course, this review is from when we stayed in 2013 so keep that in mind. I didn't have any issues like other reviewers.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 215. Since the transition, I don't know what room this is called now?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We accidentally made reservations for the wrong night, and Robbie the concierge was very accommodating. Our room was clean, and the hotel in general was beautiful. They just recently finished renovating the entire hotel a month ago, so it was immaculate and well appointed. The hotel is covered in beautiful artwork, and they even offered guided tours. There is a rooftop bar, which had views of the entire city, which was a very nice perk. Also, there were milk and cookies left out as a night cap. The pool, spa, and other amenities are at their second property across the street, which was fine with us. We would stay here again. Thanks Robbie.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jae00004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My husband & I just stayed at the Vendue in an East Bay King Room on our 13th anniversary weekend sans kiddos. The new remodel is fantastic. Our room was gorgeous with a beautiful view of the bustling E. Bay Street. It was clean, beautifully decorated & the most comfortable bed! The service was just as remarkable. From the front desk to the bellman we have but highest remarks! Mark was our bellman most days & his attention to detail & ability to retain names is amazing! You will not regret staying here. The best location. Perfect room. Amazing service & attention to detail.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Renae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

A beautiful hotel in the French Quarter section of historic Charleston was the landing place of a last minute one night trip with my two sisters who live in different parts of the country. This was our first trip together now that our children are grown. At check in we were offered an upgrade as we were a party of three.
From check in to departure we were treated like royalty. Mark, the bellman from Prague was our personal attendant taking care of our bags, recommending local restaurants, setting us up with bikes for an early morning ride, filling our cooler with ice before departure and having our car packed and ready to go at 3pm when we said we would return after an afternoon of shopping before leaving Charleston.
The room was large and spacious with abundant light from three large windows of this corner room with high ceilings and a fireplace. There was plenty of room for the three of us to move around, much bigger than the room we originally booked. Beautiful art adorned the walls of our room as well as throughout the hotel. It was more like a B&B/ Art Gallery than a hotel.
Wine and cheese awaited us when we returned from having lunch and an afternoon of exploring the local area, as well as home made chocolate chip cookies when we returned that evening.
The next morning we were surprised by a continental breakfast in the common lobby area where the afternoon before a buffet of fruit and snacks were provided.
I am so glad we were offered an upgrade option as the experience would have been much different had we been in a regular room. Some of the rooms were quite small from what we could see as the rooms were being cleaned the next day. The upgrade charge was definitely worth the extra space and amenities.
The Vendue Inn is located a few doors from a beautiful park on the water and is surrounded by the charm of the old homes and neighborhoods of historic Charleston. There are plenty of restaurants to enjoy the many flavors of Charleston.
The service and hospitality of this hotel compares to that which my husband and I experience at one of the finest resorts in Mexico. We have stayed in Charleston before at a very nice B&B and it was the added touches and hospitality which would made me come back to The Vendue Inn.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing