We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always outstanding, a cut above” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always outstanding, a cut above”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have stayed at the Vendue over the past 15-20 years and have watched them grow.
We previously stayed in what is now the coffee shop with windows right on the street. was very nice. Our most recent stay was in the older section but the room was, as usual, well appointed and comfortable. Family staying elsewhere were quite impressed with our room and especially the rooftop bar. We will be staying again when in Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chief1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Chief1251,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Vendue on Trip Advisor. I don't think I will be able to relay just how appreciative we are of your business and your loyalty.
Please feel free to contact me directly for any needs regarding future stays at The Vendue.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    401
    115
    70
    43
See reviews for
191
1,353
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Looked great, comfy bed, but the room we had was right in front of the elevator and not at all soundproof. It was hard to get comfortable when you hear people constantly outside the door. The bellhop, Mark, was very friendly, and went out of his way to help us. Nice place, but next time, I'd request a room far away from the elevator.

Also: rooftop bar was the best!

Room Tip: Request room away from elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinnicole1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Erinnicole 1991,
thank you for choosing The Vendue and for taking the time to pass your feedback along.
I am glad to hear that overall your stay was great and please do not hesitate to request a room away from the elevator next time you stay with us. We'll make sure it is as restful and relaxing as possible.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the first phone call to The Vendue to the goodbye from the valet, this hotel was delightfully helpful, friendly, and refined.

We chose to stay in the renovated section of the hotel, which houses the three dining options and local art by carefully chosen artists. The decor is both modern and traditional, and feels very genteel while still feeling warm and inviting.

The valet parking was quick and convenient, the concierge and front desk staff were very helpful, and we were greeted with champagne in our room for our anniversary celebration. While we missed the complimentary four o'clock charcuterie plates and wine in the hotel, we enjoyed them later on.

Our room had immaculate hard wood floors, a spacious tiled shower, and a traditional high poster bed that was soft and inviting. While our room was not large, and we could hear the elevator from our room, the overall experience was so special that I still award five stars.

We did not dine in the quick cafe The Press restaurant, but ate breakfast in The Drawing Room and had drinks and dinner literally on the roof at The Rooftop. The Drawing Room had elegant, traditional choices for breakfast. We enjoyed Eggs Benedict, Smoked Salmon, and omelets. On The Rooftop, we had savory small plates and drinks while enjoying the expansive view of Charleston.

I recommend the docent tour of the art in the hotel, and then checking out local art houses nearby.

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I would ask for a top floor room as the rooms are hard wood, and there would be less noise. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Cahterine A,
thank you for sharing the details of your stay at The Vendue, we're thrilled to hear it was everything you expected it to be.
We hope you will have a chance to try The Drawing Room for dinner and some coffee and pastries at The Press on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Really great hotel, the staff are all fantastic and make you feel like its your home. Stayed there for 5 days and even the current Mrs McGarry could not find fault with it and she is not easy to please. Food is very good and the whole ambience of the place is just so perfect. Room was very comfy and clean with a great bathroom, would certainly stay again. The guys who park your car are so helpful. Overall a great hotel and in spite of hosting a dinner for 18 the bill was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Mine was on the ground floor next to the street but it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jongo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietro G, General Manager at The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jongo 6,
this certainly is some wonderful feedback! We hope you'll be thinking about staying at The Vendue every time you "cross the pond".

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

There is so much charm in this Hotel it's amazing. We have stayed many times and always walk away impressed. The service is amazing along with concierge. We love the location and I would highly recommend visiting. Don't forget to visit the roof top bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything about this hotel is excellent. Stayed 4th of July weekend. We were greeted by the friendliest valet/bellman, extremely helpful. Room was clean and spacious. Rooftop bar was great, super bartenders. This is one hotel that you want to have dinner in, the cuisine is outstanding, kudos to the chef and his staff. We had the pleasure of meeting Pietro, the General Manager, he is first class, and was genuinely concerned that we were enjoying our stay. Pietro should be very proud of his first class operation. Also the four o'clock wine and hors d'oeuvres were a wonderful treat! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandtime7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Vendue for the most part. The location is ideal-truly within walking distance of 90% of what you would want to do in Charleston itself, and very convenient to the trolley. Every employee at the hotel was very nice and the rooftop bar and retaurant were both positive experiences.

However, it is not perfect. As others have said, our room had no window which really bothered my wife but I was OK with. We did not have any problems with noise from neighboring rooms. Our part of the hotel I think was older and the carpet in the hallway desperately needs to be replaced. The biggest gripe I had was with the obligation to use bellman. I know this is going to sound petty and cheap, but we were there for a long weekend and had only carry-on bags. However, at check-in, they would not just direct us to our room and we had to wait for a bellman to guide us, and on check-out had to have a bellman "carry" our bags and put them in the taxi. It is just unnecessary and I find it annoying. Ask if we need a bellman-give the guest the option. Finally, we had an issue with the cab leaving the hotel. This is not totally the hotel's fault, but we asked for a cab to the airport upon leaving. They contract with a particular cab company, and when the front desk called, they were told a cab was ready right out in front of the hotel. The cab driver greeted us, we got into the cab with bags in the trunk ready to go. Everything was great until another couple showed up from our hotel who supposedly the cab was intended for, and we were booted out of the cab unceremoniously with the bellman (who I had just tipped to put my carry-on bags into the cab) staring on looking clueless as the cab drove off. It delayed us a grand total of 10 minutes so really not a big deal, but a place that portrays itself as a higher end establishment should have handled this differently.

Again, overall an OK experience, but the next time I am in Charleston I will probably stay elsewhere as these minor issues added up in the end.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing