We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Everything about our trip to Charleston was perfect except that it was to short!!! The Vendue Inn was the perfect place to stay. The staff was very friendly, the hotel is beautiful, and the location is perfect. The free bikes were a real plus. We did not think that we would even use them and instead toured along the waterfront and residential areas for 4 hours! The Vendue Inn is an easy walk to anything that you may want to see and is in the heart of the prime restaurant district. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjm924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,017 - 2,023 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2010

We were nicely surprised by the Vendue Inn. The Inn was beautiful, and they spared no expense for food included in the price (happy hour, cocoa/cookies, gourmet made-to-order breakfasts). Their wine and cheese happy hour had so much to offer we had a hard time walking away to save room for dinner. Our room was a little small, but the bed was very comfortable and overall the room was cozy. We were there over Valentine's weekend, so many of the restaurants were booked, but the concierge took his time to help us find a place to eat. This hotel also had bicycles to ride, but we were there in colder weather so we didn't take advantage of them. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I can't really add anything other than to endorse the many favourable comments already made and to add a picture of the waterfront just moments walk from this excellent hotel. We had a great 2 days here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 040450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Read about Vendue Inn in Southern Living and decided to try it on our next trip. We were not disappointed. Instead, we were overwhelmed with this hidden gem in Charleston. We were booked for 3 days; but it was so good, we stayed an extra day. From the morning breakfast, to the afternoon wine and cheese, to the night time cookies and milk, and the rooftop lounge; it was more than we had anticipated or expected. The staff from top to bottom were always available and looking for ways to make our stay everything we wanted. We have traveled a lot, and this may be the best overall staff we have ever encountered. We will definitely be back, and are already checking our calendar to see when we can go.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trace1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

The facility is very attractive and in a wonderful location by the river front park. There are many shopping and great dining opportunities nearby. The room was spacious, well decorated, clean, and neat. The food and wine served at the afternoon social were great, breakfast was delicious, and the service outstanding. We had a marvelous stay at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveInHvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We spent three nights at the Vendue Inn and would loved to have stayed longer. The location is convenient to any kind of touring you plan to do. Every place seems like it is just outside your doorway. The room was spacious and clean, and the staff was most congenial, courteous, and helpful. The special little treats like wine and cheese in the afternoon and milk and cookies at night added to the special appeal of this place. It may not have the physical appearance of an upscale hotel, but it has the true southern charm of a bed and breakfast. We highly recommend it, and would stay there again on another visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkecm816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

From the moment I arrived, I could see that this hotel was first class. The rooms were well appointed, with extras like bathrobes and bath salts. The service throughout the hotel was excellent. We chose the valet parking, and did not need our car during our two day stay, because everything was in walking distance. There were some very nice restaurants, such as Slightly North of Broad on East Bay, which was up one block and around the corner. Also the rooftop bar there at the Vendue was fun to visit. I would definitely chose this hotel again the next time I visit Charleston.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,880 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,951 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £136 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing