We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff disinterested, unfriendly, cold.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Recommended by friends who had stayed at hotel year ago. Tried in vain to get help with booking even escalating to the local manager. If this is an example of what to expect BEFORE you even get there, why would you want to go? There must have been a change in ownership/management since our friends visit, as evidenced by the review just preceding mine. Curiously the manager refused to let us talk to the owner's representative or even to give us their contact information, hmmm....

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MRSDMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,005 - 2,011 of 2,336 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

We, too, landed in the building across the street in Room 350 -- third floor walk up, no elevator in the building -- and we had no idea such a thing were possible based on the website's info. The room is dark and dismal with inadequate lighting and has a minuscule bathroom without enough space to leave your toothpaste and hairbrush. The four poster bed is pretty but torture to lean against if you like to read in bed, or just sit up in bed. Admittedly, we didn't ask for more pillows -- there were five which should have been adequate. This being said, the manager responded quickly when I voiced these complaints on their in-house survey. No offer of compensation was made. Charleston is a wonderful place to visit and I'd return to this hotel if no other rooms were available in our favorite places, which is how we got here in the first place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyhdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We found the Inn to have a very responsive and friendly staff. They were always there to welcome you when you returned at the end of your day of sight seeing or shopping or boating. Our room was large and the bed was very comfy. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The location was absolutely perfect for us. We parked our car upon arriving and walked to nearly everything else we wanted to see in the downtown area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gb2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We had a suite in the building around the corner from the main entrance. It was large (including a working gas fireplace and wet bar with a mini fridge) and the bed was SO COMFORTABLE that it didn't really matter that the rest of the room could have used a bit of freshening up (cosmetically the counters were chipped, the sofa dipped in the middle - little things that are easily over-looked). The high four-poster bed made me feel like the Princess and the pea. :-) We were right on street level and there wasn't much noise at all - but I think this may be where upgrading to the suite is worth it as the walls are pretty thin - again it is an old building so what do you expect? When people would walk thru the hall you could hear their conversation crystal clear. I think it was a great deal considering the booking included breakfast, happy hour and cookies every night and the location was fantastic. The mango mohitos and live music on the rooftop were a fantastic way to start every evening. Overall - exactly what we expected. I think the people compaining about the noise and the high beds need to not bother going to a historic town like Charleston and staying in an old building housing an "inn". The Ritz it is not, but that is what I liked about it. Chain hotels are so generic.

We didn't have any problems at check in or check out - and never bothered using the concierge for anything so I can't speak to that.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephensonlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Awesome location and a wonderful Hotel/Inn. The staff is very attentive and always willing to help. We reserved a Jr King Suite but was "upgraded" to a Luxury Suite...in our opinion though too much of a different look so we decided on a King Fireplace room. Exposed beams and brick...claw foot tub and a nice fireplace was more our style. The staff were fine with my request and changes and worked quickly to solve the issue. Made to order breakfast was great as was the citrus water and the cookies and milk at night.

We will certainly return to this hotel and will easily recommend to friends.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank maven1Carrboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Did not find this hotel as good as many people said it was. Stayed in a Deluxe King which is quite small for a king bed. The breakfast was ok but the menu never changes. The staff did not seem to care to much about us. The location was the only good thing. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Great location but what they don't tell you on the website is that you are likely to end up across the road in another building with very small rooms overlooking what looks like an electricity power plant. The room was pretty (brick walls) but tiny for a 3 night stay. Staff a bit indifferent. Roof bar is fun. Charleston is fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Finn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,968 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,155 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £152 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing