We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back to a forgotten era!”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2011

The Wentworth Mansion was a wonderful experience for my husband and I. When we entered the Inn we felt as if we had stepped back into to time and were weekend guests of a wealthy southern family. The room and inn were beyond our expectations as there are many little amenties that add to the stay from afternoon tea to a wonderful full service breakfast. The inn is within walking distance to most of main venues of downtown Charleston but just far enough away from the bustle to enjoy a very peaceful stay. And if walking is not on your agenda, the rickshaws and horse drawn carriages are perfect alternatives. Also, don't forget to take a walk up to the cupola at the inn and see the city from this bird's eye view. The magnificent steeples of Charleston dot the skyline and remind you what a quaint and charming city surrounds you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

I stayed at the Wentworth with my aunt and mother to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday, and we loved absolutely every moment of our time at the Wentworth. The Mansion is gorgeous and beautifully maintained, the rooms are huge and luxurious, with high cielings, and as my mom said, I'm waiting for Rhett Butler to appear. Yet the bathrooms are beautifully modernized so you truly get the best of the old charm but complete luxury.

Taking it to the next level, the staff was extraordinary, making great recommendations for dinner every night, and how to best tour the city. They recommended we try the pedi-cabs (bicycles), and that was a great tip, fun and easy and a mini tour guide on every bike! The Mansion is off the beaten bath of the heart of old Charleston, about 5-6 blocks away from all the bustle, so you need to keep that in mind, but being in a more residential area does keep the Mansion quiet and intimate.

I also loved that once you're a guest, there is no nickle and diming, simply outstanding service - from the complimentary water bottles and sodas in the room, and I ended up getting horrible sick while there, and they staff brought hot water and heated up food for me on a moment's notice. The included breakfast is amazing, with courses of pastries and fruit and coffee and juice before your full breakfast, and then the wine and hors d'oevres in the evening were fantastic and an easy fun way to mingle with other guests. Loved everything about this place, a truly wonderful stay, and I would recommend every visitor to Charleston should stay there if they have a chance.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

My husband and I stayed her for a weekend getaway and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The room was cozy and gorgeous, including a large jacuzzi tub (husband loooved that) and an awesome fireplace. We had massages at the spa and were in absolute heaven. Along with courtesy breakfast at the Circa 1886 restaurant with full service and awesome food. The mansion is in a neighborhood district so its calm and quiet, yet only a 3-5 minute walk to King Street and all the downtown action. Overall, it was an amazing weekend and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKatysovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We live in the area but needed to have a weekend "away." Our visit to the Wentworth allowed us to escape our everyday pace and really enjoy a carefree weekend!
The hotel itself was breathtaking- the room was equipped with gorgeous / high ceilings, a marble fireplace, and huge hot tub. The service was phenomenal, and the staff was so friendly / knowledgeable of the local history. The manager even gave us a history tour of the mansion! The hotel is affiliated with the Circa 1886 restaurant where we had a genuine southern breakfast (they have other options there as well). All-in-all, a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KodyAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Second trip was just as good as the first. Wonderful staff. Room 5 was worth the extra cost. Be sure to enjoy the best view in Charleston from the cupula. On site Circa 1886 restaurant is not inexpensive but very very romantic and offers good drinks and food. Ride the pedal cab for $4.50 per person to market district.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nantahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We had not stayed at Wentworth before but had dined at Circa 1886 and always thought the next time we were in Charleston we would. We were not disappointed. The staff were beyond friendly and helpful. Everyone we encountered were incredibly friendly and offered to help us with any of our needs. Our room was on the fourth floor (the top floor) and I had requested a quiet room. It was quiet, spacious and clean. Decorated tastefully and comfortable. The gas fireplace was a nice addition in the evening. The large shower and tub were clean and looked fairly new. The hotel is just beautiful and you could not ask for kinder staff. They even left us a bottle of champagne on the mantle after our dinner out for our anniversary. Just a very thoughtful touch. The dinner and breakfast at Circa 1886 were fantastic. My husband and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1tallahasseelassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Our experience was absolutely wonderful. We had a beautiful, luxurious room and the staff could not have done more. It was like being on a luxurious cruise ship with a personal staff. It was the best get away we've ever had.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolbob53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,953 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 61 in Charleston
505 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,881 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
715 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £309 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing