We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wentworth Mansion
Nearby Hotels
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harbourview Inn(Charleston)
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andrew Pinckney Inn(Charleston)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
827
60
11
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
60
11
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscirca restaurantsun roomeast wingtiffany windowshors d'oeuvres and wineadjacent restaurantshrimp and gritsgas fireplacejacuzzi tubgourmet breakfastspiral staircaseon site restaurantbottle of champagneworking fireplaceking streethuge bathroomafternoon wine
Filter
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

From the time we were greeted at the door until the time we entered our car to leave for home, we have never felt more special in our lives. The Wentworth Mansion certainly knows how to put on a show! Our room was more than spectacular and everything one would expect from such a notable place to stay in Charleston, SC. Turn down service every night with chocolates, evening cocktails with delicious treats from the adjoining Circa 1886 restaurant, complimentary water and soft drinks in room, along with complimentary three course breakfast every morning at the Circa 1886.....I could go on and on. My husband and I came to celebrate our lst anniversary and were not disappointed. Our every need/want was satisfied. Stephanie, the concierge, made reservations for our anniversary dinner at the Circa 1886 restaurant. Our meal was unbelievable! As if nothing could top that, when we returned to our room that evening, we were greeted with champagne on ice! Thanks to Ben & Tim, the doormen, for all their help. And a special thank you to Stephanie for suggesting Sermets; our last evening was spent there enjoying a tasty dinner along with Brazilian music. What a way to end a perfect stay in Charleston! Aside from all the wonderful other couples we met during our stay at the Wentworth, nothing could surpass the service and the genuine kindness shown by all the employees of this great mansion. This is the only place we will stay while in Charleston. Thank you, Wentworth Mansion!

Room Tip: Any room here would be wonderful. Completely soundproof.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 547lindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

The pleasure was ours. Thank you for sharing these wonderful memories of your stay at the Wentworth Mansion. We're are honored to have spent such a special anniversary with you and your husband. This is such an outstanding review and I am thrilled to read that the staff so exceeded your expectations. They are an amazing team. We look forward to celebrating with you in years to come.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

wife birthday weekend the perks the hotel offer was beautiful the 24hr brandy and sherry was nice touch the full southern breakfast in the restaurant was delicious my wife had shrimp and grit and i had the french toast they even surprised us with a bottle of champagne waiting for us room

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you for spending such a special occasion with us at the Wentworth Mansion. I'm glad that you enjoyed the inn's extensions of Southern hospitality like complimentary sherry and brandy and a full, hot breakfast each morning. We look forward to helping you celebrate many more birthdays in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 20th Anniversery at the Wentworth in August and enjoyed two fantastic days and nights. The historic elegance of the building and grounds coupled with a very attentive staff made for a memorable weekend. The rooftop cupola was a highlight with the great views of downtown Charleston. The mansion is within walking distance to many restaraunts and shops. We also enjoyed using the rickshaw like pedal powered taxi's when going to and from dinner. The breakfast was superb.....try the rice flour pancakes! We certainly would rank the Wentworth as one of the best places we've stayed.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank SuwaneeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you for spending your 20th Anniversary with us. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed a wonderful celebratory getaway to Charleston. Our staff always enjoys celebrating special occasions with guests - I will be sure to pass on your compliments. Rickshaws are a fun way to navigate downtown. I'm glad you enjoyed the many wonderful things to do and see in Charleston. We look forward to celebrating many more anniversaries with you both.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is truly a special hotel. Great room, service and every wish attended to. This included a call before from staff before we arrived to offer and assistence or needs for the trip. I would highly recommend. Food in restaurant was also excellent.

Room Tip: room 5 is delightful
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

I am thrilled that you so highly enjoyed your trip to Charleston and stay at the Wentworth Mansion. Our staff is fantastic and I take great pride the level of service they offer. I also appreciate your note about your experience at our Circa 1886 Restaurant. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Spent a might in Chaleston rectly and chose the Wentworth Mansion based on a listing in T&L as a top 50 (#12) hotel inthe world. I have to say we wer not disapointed---I knew to expect a special experience when I got a call a week 4 days before we were supposed to arrive to see if we had any soaecial requsts. Upon arrival we could tell it would be unique stay even if for only one night. We were greeted a tthe door and the service never stopped--everyone was so pleasant and helpful---and the room- it was huge and majestic--the bathroom alone was the size of a normal hotel room. Add a wine & appetizer HH and a delicious full breakfast and the stay was perfect. BTW, look for the Port and Brandy in hte Hallway before you turn in for the evening-----

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your "majestic stay" at the Wentworth Mansion. I am thrilled that your stay was on par with our #12 ranking on Travel+Leisure's World's Best Hotel list. What an honor. I appreciate you noting our full breakfast, wine and hors d'oeuvres and evening sherry as highlights. Our staff looks forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews