We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much potential but lacking the standards I expected”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so much potential but lacking the standards I expected”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed there for our wedding night... 2 nights. First, they were not accomodating of our request to get married on the grounds and didn't offer any alternatives even after explaining that there were 2 people attending the ceremony, which would take all of 15 minutes, we never did understand since the days we were there the inn was very quiet with limited guests. The first impression in the main lobby should have a lobby desk, not a person sitting behind an executive desk trying to look busy. He was very friendly and informative, but you could tell he was bored. Our room was beautiful, but could have used more class, lacking a professional decorators touch to keep the period style matching the era of the mansion. Staff were very friendly, but were seen having a cigarett break outside, and smelling of cigarett smoke. Management would benefit from training the staff properly. What I did like.... the wine and horderve hour was exceptional, and the "all hours" brandy, etc area was great but would be nice moved to an area with more chairs to sit and talk wile sipping. The restaurant on site is top notch!

Room Tip: The elevator only holds 2 people, but the walk up the stairs is beautiful if you're up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
We were surprised to hear that we did not accommodate your small wedding in August, as we host many small weddings here at the Mansion. My Innkeeper called you yesterday to get more information. During her conversation, she realized that this request was made months before, when the entire hotel was committed to the PGA Golf Championship held in Charleston that same week. We wish we had known at the time of your stay so you could have had the wedding you desired. I am so glad that you had a wonderful experience in all other areas.

We have a professional A.S.I.D design team that selected the Mansion's interior design. Though we are thrilled with the design of the Mansion, we are aware that personal design aesthetics differ from person to person and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    54
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
82
593
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My mom, sister and I stayed at this beautiful historic home in Charleston. The room was amazing and the food at the restaurant was top notch. The staff was very helpful. This is first class service and first rate overall.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris33997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for choosing the Wentworth Mansion for your Girls' Weekend in Charleston. I'm thrilled that you all enjoyed yourselves and rate your experience at the Mansion and our restaurant "first class." Thank you for sharing your memories. We look forward to future visits.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

From the time we were greeted at the door until the time we entered our car to leave for home, we have never felt more special in our lives. The Wentworth Mansion certainly knows how to put on a show! Our room was more than spectacular and everything one would expect from such a notable place to stay in Charleston, SC. Turn down service every night with chocolates, evening cocktails with delicious treats from the adjoining Circa 1886 restaurant, complimentary water and soft drinks in room, along with complimentary three course breakfast every morning at the Circa 1886.....I could go on and on. My husband and I came to celebrate our lst anniversary and were not disappointed. Our every need/want was satisfied. Stephanie, the concierge, made reservations for our anniversary dinner at the Circa 1886 restaurant. Our meal was unbelievable! As if nothing could top that, when we returned to our room that evening, we were greeted with champagne on ice! Thanks to Ben & Tim, the doormen, for all their help. And a special thank you to Stephanie for suggesting Sermets; our last evening was spent there enjoying a tasty dinner along with Brazilian music. What a way to end a perfect stay in Charleston! Aside from all the wonderful other couples we met during our stay at the Wentworth, nothing could surpass the service and the genuine kindness shown by all the employees of this great mansion. This is the only place we will stay while in Charleston. Thank you, Wentworth Mansion!

Room Tip: Any room here would be wonderful. Completely soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 547lindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
The pleasure was ours. Thank you for sharing these wonderful memories of your stay at the Wentworth Mansion. We're are honored to have spent such a special anniversary with you and your husband. This is such an outstanding review and I am thrilled to read that the staff so exceeded your expectations. They are an amazing team. We look forward to celebrating with you in years to come.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

wife birthday weekend the perks the hotel offer was beautiful the 24hr brandy and sherry was nice touch the full southern breakfast in the restaurant was delicious my wife had shrimp and grit and i had the french toast they even surprised us with a bottle of champagne waiting for us room

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for spending such a special occasion with us at the Wentworth Mansion. I'm glad that you enjoyed the inn's extensions of Southern hospitality like complimentary sherry and brandy and a full, hot breakfast each morning. We look forward to helping you celebrate many more birthdays in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 20th Anniversery at the Wentworth in August and enjoyed two fantastic days and nights. The historic elegance of the building and grounds coupled with a very attentive staff made for a memorable weekend. The rooftop cupola was a highlight with the great views of downtown Charleston. The mansion is within walking distance to many restaraunts and shops. We also enjoyed using the rickshaw like pedal powered taxi's when going to and from dinner. The breakfast was superb.....try the rice flour pancakes! We certainly would rank the Wentworth as one of the best places we've stayed.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuwaneeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for spending your 20th Anniversary with us. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed a wonderful celebratory getaway to Charleston. Our staff always enjoys celebrating special occasions with guests - I will be sure to pass on your compliments. Rickshaws are a fun way to navigate downtown. I'm glad you enjoyed the many wonderful things to do and see in Charleston. We look forward to celebrating many more anniversaries with you both.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is truly a special hotel. Great room, service and every wish attended to. This included a call before from staff before we arrived to offer and assistence or needs for the trip. I would highly recommend. Food in restaurant was also excellent.

Room Tip: room 5 is delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
I am thrilled that you so highly enjoyed your trip to Charleston and stay at the Wentworth Mansion. Our staff is fantastic and I take great pride the level of service they offer. I also appreciate your note about your experience at our Circa 1886 Restaurant. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Spent a might in Chaleston rectly and chose the Wentworth Mansion based on a listing in T&L as a top 50 (#12) hotel inthe world. I have to say we wer not disapointed---I knew to expect a special experience when I got a call a week 4 days before we were supposed to arrive to see if we had any soaecial requsts. Upon arrival we could tell it would be unique stay even if for only one night. We were greeted a tthe door and the service never stopped--everyone was so pleasant and helpful---and the room- it was huge and majestic--the bathroom alone was the size of a normal hotel room. Add a wine & appetizer HH and a delicious full breakfast and the stay was perfect. BTW, look for the Port and Brandy in hte Hallway before you turn in for the evening-----

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your "majestic stay" at the Wentworth Mansion. I am thrilled that your stay was on par with our #12 ranking on Travel+Leisure's World's Best Hotel list. What an honor. I appreciate you noting our full breakfast, wine and hors d'oeuvres and evening sherry as highlights. Our staff looks forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,798 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Property: Wentworth Mansion
Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing