We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

After two nights at the Holiday Inn near the airport, the BF and I stayed at Wentworth for 4 night. The house is gorgeous and it really felt like you were at home the entire time. We had the room on the second floor in the East Wing and I LOVED it. It was nice to be off the main house and have windows all around the room. There is a fireplace in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. The evening wine and hors d'oeuvres were nice, but they were gone in like 20 mins on Friday and Saturday.

A perk is the complimentary breakfast and prix fixe deal at Circa 1886 for hotel guest. We didn't know about the prix fixe for dinner until the waiter told us, and i was pleasantly surprised that we could just pick whatever is on the menu, since most prix fixe has a separate menu.

The only bummer for me was that the hotel was further than I thought from a lot of the restaurants. It only became an issue at night because the streets are really dark at night and there were a few blocks that we walked down the first night that we avoided afterwards.

After my boyfriend booked the rooms, the concierge was in contact with him immediately checking to see what they could do to help us. They were able to get dinner reservations for us, which was extremely helpful.

The BF also got passes from the hotel to use a gym down the street (i think it's about 6 blocks away) and he said it's not bad.

Overall I'll definitely want to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnsasf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review of the Wentworth Mansion. We are glad that you came downtown and experienced the inn! I am thrilled that you felt right at home, took advantage of our many complimentary amenities, and paid our Circa 1886 Restaurant a visit. The Wentworth Mansion is indeed a bit off-the-beaten path, but there are so many wonderful restaurants and attractions within safe walking distance. Our concierge team will gladly assist in booking transportation to places that are too far away to walk. We look forward to hosting you both again. Thank you for the wonderful recommendation!

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    52
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
575
22
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, KS
Level Contributor
248 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We toured the Middleton Place Mansion after a lovely dinner at the adjoining Circa 1886 Restaurant. The Maître 'D kindly offered to show us the beautiful home after our dinner.

There were eight of us so we could not all fit into the tiny elevator and elected to climb the 96 steps up several floors to the rooftop lookout. I do not recommend this bit of exercise unless you are in very good shape and very athletic. Once you get to the top, the view at night is quite romantic.

This is a lovely old home well worth the time it takes to tour the many rooms. It is also a small hotel as well so you can actually stay here if you like claw foot tubs in your bathroom.

Helpful?
Thank Suddrethks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borger, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We travel quite extensively and I can say confidently that this is the finest boutique/small hotel that I have ever been to. From the staff (attentive without being intrusive), to the complimentary breakfast at Circa 1886, to the rooms, everything was a solid 10. There is not one single complaint. There isn't a single improvement that I could even think of to mention. If you are lucky enough to find yourself in this great city, stay at the flagship and best accommodations in the area. The Wentworth is hall of fame worthy.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocShad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
What a wonderful review! It was our pleasure to provide such a memorable experience. We are honored by your high praise and look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for sharing this recommendation.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Wentworth Mansion and it's Restaurant Circa 1886 are a jewel in the heart of Charleston, SC.

The Hotel is well located for anything you want to do in the City. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The small touches are what you will remember. For our stay the included breakfast, afternoon snacks and wine, and evening drinks were wonderful touches. But a permanent night light in the bathroom is a special touch when traveling.

The entire staff was friendly and helpful. You were made to feel special by a staff that did everything to anticipate a guest's needs and were very often correct. In our "puppy friendly room", they were as concerned about the puppy as well.

Circa 1886 Restaurant presents a wonderful menu and the staff and quality exceeded expectations. We reserved there for dinner the night we arrived, thinking it would be easier. We did not expect the romantic atmosphere of a converted old carriage house or the quality of food and service.

Over all, Wentworth Mansion will be our first choice to stay on any future visits to Charleston, SC, and Circa 1886 will always be on our "foodie list" for future dinners while visiting!

Room Tip: Tell the staff/concierge your needs when making (or following up on) your reservation and they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed in the Wentworth mansion for a few days during the week - it is now officially one of my favorite places on the planet. I stayed in a Mansion Room - it was enormous, had a huge sleeping area and two additional sitting/lounging areas. I really wanted a fireplace and made good use of it during my time - you don't actually have to get it going yourself, it turns on and off with a switch and is just heaven. The staff are all so pleasant and accomodating. I asked for just a glass of juice one evening and was pleasantly surprised not to see a $10 addition to my bill, as many hotels so would do. The mansion and grounds are beautiful. The (complimentary) breakfast will keep you full for hours, as you can order real entrees, as opposed to just drinks and pastries (which you can also have). It seems a bit out of the way from the main downtown hub area but it's actually a short walk to everything you would need. If you are looking for an atmospheric, old-fashioned charming place to get away from the pace of city life, this is the place is for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have wanted to visit Charleston, SC for many years having heard about the beauty, history and friendly atmosphere of the city. My husband and I finally made the trip and stayed at Wentworth Mansion. The Mansion made a wonderful trip complete. The room was immaculate, spacious and made one feel so very special. It was like stepping back 100 years in time except all of the modern comforts were right at hand. The staff is friendly and exceeds all expectations re service.
I highly recommend the Mansion.

Linda Keene

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this glowing recommendation. I am thrilled that you chose to experience the Wentworth Mansion during your first visit to Charleston. We are pleased that you have so many fond memories of the inn and look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very enjoyable, we felt very comfortable and very well taken care of. 1 mile or so away from the downtown, so very quiet. Excellent free breakfast, and very good wine and appetizers for happy hour. Expensive, and not good if you are value conscious.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with a balcony. Morning coffee was close, and the balcony was great. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coronadolrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#9 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Property: Wentworth Mansion
Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing