We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Everything - Beresfords, Florida”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

All the details of our stay, from reservations, concierge service, staff assistance and amenities were excellently executed! The history, architecture and design of the mansion transport you back in time to a wonderful era of opulence, old southern hospitality and relaxation. Having their signature restaurant, Circa 1886, on the property, was so convenient and the experience there was fantastic! Make sure to indulge in the chocolates their Pastry Chef Lovorn creates for your evening turn down service - the icing on the cake!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Wentworth Mansion. I am thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the modern amenities in our charming historic property. Our staff is dedicated to delivering true Southern hospitality, so we are thrilled to read such wonderful feedback. Pastry Chef Lovorn’s chocolates are certainly a treat not to be missed. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on our visit to Charleston. Didn't want to leave! Our suite was beautifully appointed and the bed was the largest and most comfortable one we have ever slept in. I had to really search to find my husband in it! As everyone else has said, the staff were just incredible, warm, welcoming and very helpful. The nightly wine and canapes were delicious and a really nice touch. Breakfast was served in the lovely restaurant on the property and that was the only thing that could have been improved upon. It was pretty marginal and that was why we didn't have dinner there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaPLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Wentworth Mansion is in a league of its own - simply outstanding! We stayed there last weekend to celebrate our anniversary and everything about it was perfect. The staff were exceptional in every respect - they truly wanted to make our stay perfect. We were really impressed when one of the morning pastry chefs went out of his way to take our picture , and on our final day, he meet us in the parking lot and wished us safe travels. Aly and Stephanie were awesome. Even though staying here was on the expensive side, it was worth it, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am thrilled to read such high praise for our team, accommodations and amenities. We constantly strive to exceed our guests' expectations and take great pride in delivering a five star experience. We certainly look forward to your return visit to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I have done a lot of traveling both in Europe as well as US and found our 4 days stay at the Mansion one of the most wonderful experiences. The rooms were lovely and spacious. The entire staff could not do enough to make our stay exceptional. Not only were they accommodating but exceeded our expectations with respect to the afternoon wine, morning coffee and amazing breakfasts. They were very knowledgable and made fabulous recommendations for sightseeing and dinners!! We will recommend to our friends and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The mansion rooms were excellent. We felt any of the rooms would be beautiful and spacious!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAT1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was our first visit to Charleston, and what a wonderful treat to have stayed at Wentworth Mansion. Our room, 16, was absolutely beautiful! The bed was so comfortable, the woodwork and furniture so beautiful and the bathroom was very spacious. The staff were off the charts accommodating and the grounds were just gorgeous. We dined in Circa each morning and really could not believe that such a fantastic breakfast was complimentary, wow! The frittata was outstanding and the shrimp and grits were out of this world. We had dinner at Circa one evening and the meal was outstanding...The deserts were as good as the dinner. I am still thinking about the donuts. Never had donuts for desert, but now I wish I could have them every night. Our waiter was excellent and his recommendations were perfect! The hotel is located a bit off the main shopping areas and eating areas which is perfect because you definitely need a good walk after enjoying meals in Charleston. Perfect location, excellent staff, beautifully appointed rooms and a restaurant that is one of the best in Charleston. Not sure you could ask for anything more. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

We are so happy you chose the Wentworth Mansion for your first trip to Charleston and thank you for your feedback. The complimentary breakfast at Circa 1886 Restaurant is something we love to offer our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dinner at Circa 1886 as well. Chef Marc Collins and Pastry Chef Scott Lovorn work magic to create a wonderful combination of flavors that surely delight. The location of the Wentworth Mansion, slightly off the beaten path of all the hustle and bustle of King Street, is a perk for many of our guests. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I travel extensively and have stayed at some of the world's finest hotels. Wentworth Mansion’s staff ranks among the very best. We arrived in Charleston during a downpour and were greeted by Nolan who came to our car with two umbrellas and a smile on his face. The room (18) was great and offered great views of Charleston's skyline. Circa 1886 is a real fine dining experience, rivaling any fine restaurant in New York or Philadelphia. In Marc Collins's dinner menu, Lowcountry meets Modernist Cuisine. At breakfast, the shrimp and grits were a real standout. We truly felt that every member of Wentworth Mansion’s staff was truly focused on making our time in Charleston extraordinary. They succeeded.

Room Tip: Room 18, on the fourth floor, offers great views of Charleston which is, for the most part, a three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anonymous08003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Wentworth Mansion is the perfect place to stay in Charleston. The rooms are historic and immaculate. Benne wafers and chocolates await you after a day of sightseeing. There is a wine hour, an amazing breakfast with an array of choices at Circa 1886, and a team of staff who are as helpful as they are friendly. Zac helped us with our bags when we arrived, and was fantastic. So was Lorna on the front desk - nothing was ever too much trouble. The hotel is a few blocks from the shops, but there are parking garages all over town, so this was never an issue. If you are considering Charleston, then seriously consider the Wentworth. It is worth every penny!

Room Tip: Suite nine is beautiful, and has a sun room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Wentworth Mansion. Providing top-notch service is something that our entire staff prides themselves on. We are thrilled to hear that they made such a positive impact on your stay. We will surely pass along your kind words. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your future visits.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,243 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,078 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,447 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £297 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing