We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious, Historic and One-of-a-Kind” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxurious, Historic and One-of-a-Kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My fiance surprised me on the night of our engagement with a stay at The Wentworth -- what a treat it was!!! Everything in the mansion is luxurious without being pompous or stuffy. Everyone who works there is so so so nice and I felt like royalty throughout the stay. The afternoon wine and cheese is delicious with a big assortment of hors d'oeuvres and we sat on the terrace overlooking the lawn. The property feels private even though you're in the heart of downtown Charleston! The view from the top of the mansion is the best view in Charleston!!

We arrived to champagne in our room which was a wonderful touch for a celebration! We slept with surround sound classical music playing through the music system that came in our room (and it was easy to use!) The bathroom was AMAZING!!! I felt like a queen and could have stayed in there all night!

Immaculately clean.

The spa is extremely luxurious and is right on the property, and it wasn't difficult to get an appointment like other hotels I have been too. The pricing for the services weren't exorbitant either and the actual service (I got a massage) was incredible. I am a massage junkie so I know the difference between your typical hotel massage and a massage from a seasoned massage therapist.

And last...the complimentary breakfast in the morning is in a 5 star restaurant! I assumed and would have been pleased with a typical complimentary hotel breakfast...buffet style, mediocre coffee etc... Nope -- this is restaurant seating with a full-service waiter and full menu for us to choose from. AND French Press coffee!!!

I could go on and on.

The Wentworth Mansion is worth every penny.

Room Tip: We had a room that was NOT on the first floor and I liked that because we had a great view of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MsChamCham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your recent stay. Congratulations on your engagement! We are thrilled that your fiancée chose the Wentworth Mansion to celebrate your engagement. We strive to provide a flawless, five-star experience to our guests, so we are pleased to read that your stay was luxurious. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wentworth Mansion in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    52
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
573
22
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Wentworth Mansion. We loved everything about our stay- room ( #16) was spacious and beautifully furnished, with a beautiful and comfortable king sized bed, fireplace, and daybed in a windowed nook. There were lots of special touches, like turn down service with chocolates and a note with the next day's predicted high and low temps for Charleston, as well as for your hometown, each evening. Loved the daily breakfast in the Circa 1886 restaurant, which was included with our rate. Our favorite concierge was the sweet and friendly Aly, who helped us arrange several reservations and answered our questions about tours and restaurants in the area. We really enjoyed going up the spiral staircase to the rooftop and seeing the nighttime city view. We will definitely return to the Wentworth Mansion at some point in the future, and in the meantime, we will treasure our memories of our anniversary week spent there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BplusKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The historic Wentworth Mansion is a gem. The entire staff was warm and very helpful. The room was large and lovely with a comfortable bed, excellent linens, and a great bathroom. Breakfast in Circa 1886 is very good, as are the late afternoon wine and snacks. Everything is included, so no surprises. Also the on site restaurant and spa make the experience wonderful. The only downside to the inn is the fact that the location is a bit removed from the action, so a long walk or cab are needed to get to where you are going. The good news about this is that the area is quiet and perfect for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mimiPrinceton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Found this hotel at trip advisor. It was everything I expected and more. Pure elegance, making me feel like I was taken back in history. All the details of the home are amazing. Everyone who works there is extremely helpful. The morning coffee and pastries are so yummy. And in the afternoon the complimentary food and wine are a special treat. Easy 10 min walk to shopping and restaurants. I already made another reservation for next year. It may be a little more money than other places but so worth it for its unique, special hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTC200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review stay with at the Wentworth Mansion. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Charleston. The impression you had is exactly what we hope every one of our guests takes with them when they leave. We pride ourselves in delivering an exceptional and unique experience, and we certainly appreciate the recommendation. We look forward to your visit next year!

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Wentworth Mansion is an absolutely beautiful example of historic Charleston in a great location just a short walk to King St. and tons of great restaurants, but the service of the staff is what truly sets the Wentworth above and beyond. The concierges were all extremely helpful with restaurant reservations, tips on things to do and arranging for pedi-cabs (a great way to get to dinner in nice weather) when we needed them. Can't wait to return, a memorable experience for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6, great room (and only one of two that have a balcony, which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The staff helped with tour and dining reservations before we arrived and everything was hand written on a reminder card we received upon check in.
The wine/appetizer hour was beyond expectations. Quality offerings from their award winning restaurant.
Still missing the basket of homemade pastries served at breakfast!
Great stay in Charming Charleston!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twofogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the Wentworth Mansion. It is our goal to anticipate the needs of our guests before they arrive, so I am thrilled to read that our staff was helpful in securing reservations for you prior to your arrival. The fresh baked pastries at Circa 1886 Restaurant every morning are certainly a wonderful start to the day. I am happy to hear of your great stay and look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were just in Charleston last week to celebrate our 10th anniversary. I conducted much research on the best place to stay. My final picks were Charleston Place, Planters Inn and the Wentworth Mansion. I had to go with Wentworth, as it was so much more unique than the others. I am so glad that I did! Yes, it is expensive, but unlike the typical Ritz Carltons, you are not "nickel and dimed" after you arrive. Everything you could want or need is included, making the expense not too bad - free parking, beverages, great breakfast and afternoon snacks. We stayed in a mansion suite and it was fantastic. Many older properties can have a bit of an odor or may not be as clean in appearance (i.e. peeling paint, etc.), not the Wentworth. It was in excellent shape and very clean. Modern convenience is mixed perfectly with the ambiance of an older home. The decor was beautiful and tastefully done to make one feel they have stepped back in time without having to sacrifice. We really enjoyed the included breakfast. I expected a set menu or buffet offering, but it is even better... Breakfast is served in their on-site restaurant Circa 1886, so this does not feel like a bed and breakfast (which I don't care for). You recieve a pastry basket (which is wonderful! I am still craving them!!), a fruit plate, juice/coffee and can choose amongst 6-8 offerings as a main dish, along with a chef special offering each morning. I enjoyed pancakes, bacon, homemade granola, shrimp and grits, etc. It was so nice to have a fantastic breakfast on site to start your day. No, this is not in the middle of the Market or King Street area, but it is a very short distance. We rented a car and took advantage of the free parking; this was perfect for us. During the hot and humid weather we experienced, it would have been a pain to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The staff is attentive without being annoying, which can be a difficult balance. They anticipate every need and were responsive to any request. I thoroughly enjoyed our visit and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for choosing the Wentworth Mansion during your recent visit to Charleston. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with your review. We believe in providing a five-star experience to our guests, and feel it is of utmost importance to provide each of the complimentary extras you noted. I am thrilled that you found the staff, accommodations, and amenities to be most enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Property: Wentworth Mansion
Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing