We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, as usual!”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I think I've stayed here about 10 times now, since 2000. The rooms are large, and I would imagine it would be impossible to replicate the decor and architecture if built today. The staff is perfectly wonderful. This is a very classy place. The location is great because it is not right on the main roads with all the shops/people but only a five minute walk from that. It is surrounded by big pretty houses deep in the heart of Charleston. I'm from South Carolina and many of my friends are from Charleston and you will not find a nicer hotel in Charleston, or South Carolina for that matter.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank CL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your loyalty to the Wentworth Mansion. Your repeat business is the greatest compliment we can receive. We are proud to deliver an experience worthy of returning to year after year. We will certainly pass along your kind words to our staff. Our central location and historic charm make for a wonderful stay at the Wentworth Mansion. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

A historic Mansion with period furniture. Impeccable service and staff attention. Could not ask for more. The breakfast is included , wonderful selection, and delicious. We had dinner in the restaurant Circa 1886. It was formal but not stuffy. the food was elegant and delicious with the wait staff being friendly but not intrusive.
My husband and I also thoroughly enjoyed the couples massage in the spa.
The Hotel is very quiet.
The concierge was most helpful with our day trip planning and with our forgotten toiletries.
The Mansion has done a wonderful job updating (bathrooms etc) without losing its historic feel.

Loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mzav134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Wentworth Mansion. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed all that the property has to offer from the creative cuisine at Circa 1886 Restaurant to your relaxing time at the Wentworth Spa. I am glad that our staff was accommodating and you enjoyed their recommendations. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is converted mansion that became an office building that is now a hotel. It has 22 rooms and the rooms are quite large. The bed was very nice but the furniture needs some updating. It is a beautiful place and the employees were SO nice. The location is fairly central and the breakfast is excellent. I am not crazy about the old bed and breakfast feel but with a little more modernization this becomes creme de la creme.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This historic old place offers a great combination of refinement and fun --just like Charleston itself. Very elegant and filled with all the right touches large and small: high ceilings, large rooms, big beds with fluffy comforters. Wine, cheese and chocolate. You'll definitely feel welcome (and a little spoiled). Take a rickshaw bike taxi around the ride basin and through the Battery on your way to dinner then race back to be first up the cupola's winding stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PineappleHillSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My fiance surprised me on the night of our engagement with a stay at The Wentworth -- what a treat it was!!! Everything in the mansion is luxurious without being pompous or stuffy. Everyone who works there is so so so nice and I felt like royalty throughout the stay. The afternoon wine and cheese is delicious with a big assortment of hors d'oeuvres and we sat on the terrace overlooking the lawn. The property feels private even though you're in the heart of downtown Charleston! The view from the top of the mansion is the best view in Charleston!!

We arrived to champagne in our room which was a wonderful touch for a celebration! We slept with surround sound classical music playing through the music system that came in our room (and it was easy to use!) The bathroom was AMAZING!!! I felt like a queen and could have stayed in there all night!

Immaculately clean.

The spa is extremely luxurious and is right on the property, and it wasn't difficult to get an appointment like other hotels I have been too. The pricing for the services weren't exorbitant either and the actual service (I got a massage) was incredible. I am a massage junkie so I know the difference between your typical hotel massage and a massage from a seasoned massage therapist.

And last...the complimentary breakfast in the morning is in a 5 star restaurant! I assumed and would have been pleased with a typical complimentary hotel breakfast...buffet style, mediocre coffee etc... Nope -- this is restaurant seating with a full-service waiter and full menu for us to choose from. AND French Press coffee!!!

I could go on and on.

The Wentworth Mansion is worth every penny.

Room Tip: We had a room that was NOT on the first floor and I liked that because we had a great view of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsChamCham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Wentworth Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your recent stay. Congratulations on your engagement! We are thrilled that your fiancée chose the Wentworth Mansion to celebrate your engagement. We strive to provide a flawless, five-star experience to our guests, so we are pleased to read that your stay was luxurious. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Wentworth Mansion in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week at the Wentworth Mansion. We loved everything about our stay- room ( #16) was spacious and beautifully furnished, with a beautiful and comfortable king sized bed, fireplace, and daybed in a windowed nook. There were lots of special touches, like turn down service with chocolates and a note with the next day's predicted high and low temps for Charleston, as well as for your hometown, each evening. Loved the daily breakfast in the Circa 1886 restaurant, which was included with our rate. Our favorite concierge was the sweet and friendly Aly, who helped us arrange several reservations and answered our questions about tours and restaurants in the area. We really enjoyed going up the spiral staircase to the rooftop and seeing the nighttime city view. We will definitely return to the Wentworth Mansion at some point in the future, and in the meantime, we will treasure our memories of our anniversary week spent there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BplusKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The historic Wentworth Mansion is a gem. The entire staff was warm and very helpful. The room was large and lovely with a comfortable bed, excellent linens, and a great bathroom. Breakfast in Circa 1886 is very good, as are the late afternoon wine and snacks. Everything is included, so no surprises. Also the on site restaurant and spa make the experience wonderful. The only downside to the inn is the fact that the location is a bit removed from the action, so a long walk or cab are needed to get to where you are going. The good news about this is that the area is quiet and perfect for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mimiPrinceton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,243 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,078 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,447 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £298 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing