We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Finest of Everything”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“The Finest of Everything”
Reviewed 8 August 2005

My husband and I recently spent two nights and three fabulous days at the Wentworth Mansion in Charleston. We were delighted with everything...from the gourmet breakfast, the evening wine, the friendly service and the immaculate surroundings. The room was the nicest and cleanest I have ever found in extensive travel. The nightly turn down service included housekeeping service, chocolates on your pillow, a morning forecase (including one for your hometown), and even turning on classical music to be waiting on you upon your return home from a night out. We can't say enough good things....if you get the chance...stay there! It is fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    54
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
82
593
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Kent, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2005

My wife and I just returned from a 4 night stay taken during a trip down the south east coast, and were very impressed with the Wentworth. It is striking - one of the most beautiful and unique buildings in Charleston. The public areas are richly decorated and comfortable. The rooms are large and nicely appointed, with spacious bathrooms and top shelf amenities. There is a cupola on top which affords a magnificent view of the city, and is a nice spot for a drink - we had a picnic there which was memorable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Miss Betty in the breakfast room is a treasure, and the concierge is a welcome benefit for an inn of this size.
Their restaurant, Circa 1886, has fine food and great service, but is somewhat plainly decorated - not especially memorable.
On the down side, the breakfast is underwhelming. Cold buffet style, and it didn't vary at all over 4 days, not even on sunday. One could reasonably expect more for the price. The housekeeping was a bit spotty - candles burned out from our first night candlelight turndown were left out the entire stay - but not dirty.
Additionally, the inn is a bit outside the heart of the historic center, a 20 minute walk from The Mart / "downtown" area, and it gets tiring going back and forth. Bicycles would have been a welcome amenity.
We loved the Wentworth, and would definately return. Staying there really added to our visit in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LumberjackBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
165 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2005

We stayed there in July for 4 nights in the Mansion room (a LuxuryLink package) on the top floor. The Wentworth Mansion is not only a Luxury hotel, where you can expect a beautiful interior in your room and even more in the parlor rooms, but the little extras that makes the difference. They offer generously, like lemonade and icetea in the afternoon,
white and red wine with cheese or canapees in the evening and brandy, port and sherry always in the library. The breakfast is one of the best we had on our whole journey. The staff is friendly and attentiv. We would love to stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hans-Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2005

The Wentworth Mansion is breathtaking and the staff very professional. The house has numerous Tiffany windows and wonderful period antiques. My husband and I stayed in a standard room which had a sitting area and magnificent bathroom. The bath included an oversized whirlpool tub and separate glassed in shower with dual shower heads. There are several beautiful sitting areas in the mansion and a cupola with an amazing view of Charleston. The only thing that was not five star about this property was the food. Considering the hotel rating and the price, the breakfast, afternoon cakes and the social hour were slightly disappointing. The cakes served were standard grocery store bakery fare (in fact the containers were in clear sight in the kitchen). The social hour included cheese, but no crackers and some type of fishy tasting salad in a pastry cup. A continental breakfast included salmon,cream cheese, capers, etc. but no bagels. When I asked for bagels I was told that there were none available that day. A five star property should be better prepared than that. Overall it is a beautiful place to stay, but falls a little short of perfect considering the price.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2005

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in the States. We
have long wanted to visit Charleston, South Carolina and last month we realised our ambition. The hotel we picked was not available but the owner suggested we try Wentworth Mansion. What a wonderful place! We would absolutely recommend it to everyone. Whilst not cheap we thought it was worth every penny. For reasons beyond the Hotel's control we had two different rooms during our stay and both were magnificent however our favourite was the groundfloor room with the private sun-room and in-room jacuzzi as well as a magnificent en-suite bathroom. The staff were impressive and in the midst of Spoleto managed to provide us with an enjoyable itinerary of sights and restaurants-and a rickshaw to get us there!
Thanks go to the excellent manager and his staff for a memorable stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank Keith4105790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 May 2005

Just returned from another visit to Charleston and our first at the Wentworth Mansion. Charleston never disappoints, but our stay at the Wentworth was truly memorable. This vintage inn is the city's finest. Our Mansion Room #16 was plush -- 18-foot ceiling, lovely period decor, a fireplace, beautiful king bed, great views, plus a spacious bathroom with a jacuzzi. Couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. And if you want to splurge even more, there are other rooms more sumptuous. You won't be disappointed. The staff is friendly, helpful, professional. An extraordinary cupola above the Wentworth's 4th floor affords a rare view of Charleston. Their restaurant, Circa 1886, ranks among this gourmet town's best. There's even free parking and a great complimentary breakfast. Superb.

--A TripAdvisor Regular, Evanston, Illinois

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 April 2005

It is so hard to describe the Wentworth Mansion. We only live 50 miles away and take at least two mini romantic vacations every year to the Wentworth. My husband proposed to me (again) at the Wentworth. The staff, the Mansion and the location, surrounded by history, make it all worthwhile. We go home feeling pampered, rested and refreshed.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Property: Wentworth Mansion
Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing