We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel, restaurant and staff are extraordinary!”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2009

All avenues led to the Wentworth Mansion! I had cut out a review on this bed and breakfast several years ago, and when researching a B&B in the center of Charleston's historic district came across it again. At first, I thought it was a bit pricey, but after staying, I consider it one of the best values ever! From the moment we registered, the staff acted as if they knew us personally whenever we came and went - always offering to help us in any way. Our room was huge and luxuriously appointed with 14 foot ceilings, a gas fireplace and a double jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was a full breakfast with incredible choices. Every afternoon, there was a cocktail hour with wine and appetizers prepared by the chef. Lemonade, ice tea, port and brandy were available all afternoon and evening. Dinner was one of the most unique and flavorful meals that I have ever had. We could walk everywhere in town. It has only been a month, and we have already planned our next trip back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somuchtoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2009

If you're looking for the ultimate in a romantic get-away, THIS IS IT!!! I have stayed in twelve of Charleston's many historic hotels during business and leisure travel, and Wentworth Mansion is by far the best!! The staff treats you as though you own the place, and take care of your every need. The evening reception has quality wine and beer (not that cheap watered-down stuff most other hotels serve), and the hors d'oeuvres are made by the chef of their on-site restaurant - Circa 1886. Dinner at Circa is awesome and you don't even need to leave the premises. Turn-down service includes incredible chocolate-mint truffles hand-made by the pastry chef. The price of the room also includes breakfast-to-order at Circa 1886. (Coffee and pastries are available in the hotel early in the morning.) Free, secure, off-street parking and the beautiful manicured grounds make you feel as though you are staying in a home, not a hotel. The cupola on top of the mansion allows you to enjoy breathtaking views of charleston, and wonderful sunrises and sunsets. (Bring your binoculars!) The rooms are huge, with 12-14 foot ceilings, gas fireplaces, sitting areas, and large bathrooms with double showers and jetted tubs. Between the rooms, the mansion, the cupola, and Circa 1886, you can have a complete vacation without ever leaving the premises! Before leaving, we booked a room for our 15th wedding anniversary, and we cannot WAIT to return!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmetto_PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We had a great time at the Wentworth Mansion. It is a wonderful property, built in about 1886, and restored to perfection. Our room was large, well appointed, and quiet. The staff is top-notch. It is all southern charm. I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We chose this inn based on recommendations from a friend and it exceeded our expectations. The staff was one of the best ever, they were always present and ready to help. The inn keeper Jennifer Morgan was fantastic, recommending everything from a local nail spa for a pedi to a costume shop for some Halloween shopping. All the staff really went above and beyond, even the breakfast servers were exceptional ( when I couldn't decide between breakfast selections, they brought me a combination of both that I had wanted !) The breakfast itself was possibly the best B & B breakfast I have ever had , I will definitely be going there again just for that !. Our room was spacious and had a great jacuzzi tub for 2 ( we stayed in suite 9). Only down side is we wished it would have had a pool, we suggested this to Jennifer and she said they were considering one in the future. The inn itself is beautiful and has a great sense of history. A few blocks off the main road ( King street but an easy walk) Close to the college of Charleston for any visiting relatives it would be a great choice. Would definitely go to again and recommend highly to all, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This is the third time my husband and I have stayed here and we love it more with every trip. The accommodations are lovely, large, and comfortable. The entire staff at the Wentworth is excellent; and they are helpful, pleasant, and obviously well trained.

I cannot say enough nice things about this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssdssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Complimentary breakfast, wine and appetizers, and chocolate truffles on your pillow at night are luxurious. The professionalism of the staff is impressive, and the mansion and its furnishings classy and elegant.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEHFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We live in Charleston and decided to stay at Wentworth to experience their July 4th picnic. The hotel was beautiful; we were welcomed with wine and cheese upon check-in Friday afternoon. Our room was very spacious and the bathroom luxurious. Everyone of the staff were gracious and welcoming. The picnic on the lawn was exceptional - in atmosphere and food quality! The huge array of pork, chicken, local shrimp, local vegetables, and desserts were all delicious. My only regret was I couldn't eat more. From the cupola, we had a panoramic view of all the local fireworks. We plan to stay again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,955 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 62 in Charleston
505 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 62 in Charleston
716 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £310 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing