We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis
1 review
“We didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

The entire staff could not have been more helpful and professional. We were pampered for our entire weeks stay. The rooms are spacious and so very comfortable. The spa was exceptional. I only wish every city we visited had a hotel as wonderful as the Wentworth Mansion.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MemphisCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    52
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
573
22
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Wentworth Mansion. From the moment we arrived until we left four days later it felt as if we were at home. The staff was very friendly and helpful with out being obtrusive. We had room 17....an amazing space with a fireplace, lovely views, well appointed bathroom....just perfect. We can not say enough about Circa 1886. We had the best dinner there of any restaurant (all high end) in Charleston. The chef is very innovative and he could make fired catfish any day of the week for me! We ate breakfast every morning at Circa and Keri was delightful. Kudos to Douglas, Marcus, and Josh, the concierges, excellent in every way and Josh went way above the call of duty. We also liked the quiet of the neighborhood, again it gave us a feeling of being at home and not amid the bustle of a city, which was just a few short blocks away. We can not wait to return and would highly recommend the Wentworth Mansion to anyone visiting Charleston....a true value for all that one receives.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BingoKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We celebrated our anniversary weekend at the Wentworth and fell in love with the place. The staff is so very helpful, the rooms are spacious and well-furnished, and the service is impeccable. We also ate at Circa 1886 for dinner and found it to be the perfect place for a romantic dinner--delicious! We will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

My husband, 1 year old daughter and I stayed here for only one night. But, we loved it!!! I have to say it was some of the best service we have ever had and the staff was just so charming and nice! Additionally, the inn is within walking distance to all the city's important sightseeing. So, it was perfect for our purposes.

We brought our dog on this trip and the staff really made an effort to make us feel like he mattered to them as well. In an effort to accommodate him, they put us in the one room they have with a door to the outside. This room was on the lower level of the property and was quite dark. But, perfect for us given our needs. The inn is beautifully and uniqely decorated and our room did not diasappoint in that department.

I would definitely stay here again...oh, and the complimentary breakfast is some of the best cuisine you will find in the city!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

My wife and I were looking for a private get-a-way and found it at the Wentworth Mansion. Extremely personal service without being all over you like at a B&B. The Mansion itself is beautiful. Original woodwork, stained glass etc... The breakfast was a full menu breakfast that was really good. The spa was so private and personal and in the old carriage house that was rustic yet classy. Drinks in the room and for happy hour are included. Personal attention to detail all the way around. It's a few blocks from the action which means it's quiet at night but does mean a short walk or an enjoyable rickshaw ride into the heart of the town. Well worth the price!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lellielulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tn
Level Contributor
183 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Our trip to Charleston was maybe our best metro ever. We were very fortunate to be able to stay at the Wentworth and it was tops from the first phone call all the way down. The Concierges are some of the best in any city that we have ever been to. Marcus and Doug were tops, every suggestion for an attraction, eatery was spot on. Marcus even gave some things to stay away from, we did not listen and were just as disappointed as he assured us that we would be. We will go back to Charleston in the future, and we will stay with the Mansion again. If you go to Charleston dont miss the Sheldon Ruins, about an hour drive but absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sethmanand54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

All avenues led to the Wentworth Mansion! I had cut out a review on this bed and breakfast several years ago, and when researching a B&B in the center of Charleston's historic district came across it again. At first, I thought it was a bit pricey, but after staying, I consider it one of the best values ever! From the moment we registered, the staff acted as if they knew us personally whenever we came and went - always offering to help us in any way. Our room was huge and luxuriously appointed with 14 foot ceilings, a gas fireplace and a double jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was a full breakfast with incredible choices. Every afternoon, there was a cocktail hour with wine and appetizers prepared by the chef. Lemonade, ice tea, port and brandy were available all afternoon and evening. Dinner was one of the most unique and flavorful meals that I have ever had. We could walk everywhere in town. It has only been a month, and we have already planned our next trip back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somuchtoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Property: Wentworth Mansion
Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing