We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B and B....”
Review of Wentworth Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wentworth Mansion
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2006

I was a little cautious about the Wentworth due to a couple of bad reviews. I did not experience any of the previous reviewers problems.

With that said - If your looking for immaculate, eat off the nightstand clean, this is not the place...it is an old hotel, it is slightly musty and a little creaky.. but that is what I like, I have no interest in the sterilized sano hotel motif.

Overall the hotel is a beautiful property, it was well staffed and addressed our needs well. The breakfasts were excellent, and the real treat was coming back to the hotel after a hot days exploring to find a chilled Pinot Grigio ready to go. On campus restaurant was really convenient for a birthday.

My only knock was that the staff is really young.. forget about any depth to their knowedge - for instance I asked about a late night carriage ride after out dinner, the "concierge" laughed and kind of dismissed it "thats way too late for them". Turned out I had my pick of 3 companies and arranged myself.

Other than that we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CAWilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
There are newer reviews for Wentworth Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2006

We dined in this mansion and found it to be wonderful. The evening was absolutely perfect. The food was superb and the service was totally professional. A very worthwhile experience.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank metzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Folly Beach, SC
13
Reviewed 7 July 2006

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Wentworth Mansion recently. We visit Charleston frequently and have stayed at various hotels in our favorite city. We truly discovered the cream of the crop in this magnificent home. The rooms and amenities compare to the best on a world scale. Furthermore, it was apparent that attention to detail was a major priority among all staff from the concierge desk to the housekeeping ladies. We truly felt the Wentworth Mansion was our home and staff our family. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Wando, SC
17
Reviewed 5 July 2006

What a delight to visit the Wentworth Mansion in Charleston, South Carolina! The elegance and comfort begins as soon as the bellman meets you at your car door and ushers you into the magnificently appointed Wentworth Mansion. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very cheerful staff who gave a brief but impressive history of the mansion. They must know that you want to see the room and keep the tour short and interesting! (It was originally built as a cotton tycoon's family home-13 children!)

The room we had the privilege to stay in (room 16) was perfectly comfortable and an inviting scene. The view of the old Charleston streets was enjoyed while sipping a glass of champagne and lounging on the daybed while reading some wonderful magazines about Charleston. You could want for nothing in this sophisticated room. The bathroom has a deep, generous tub and silky bath salts are provided for your pleasure.

Go up to the 3rd floor and go out onto the observation deck where you can see an unencumbered 360 degree view of Charleston. We counted 13 church steeples--thus the name the Holy City!

At 5:00 we ventured downstairs for a wine and cheese reception. We thought we might have just that-wine and cheese. We were served an amazing appetizer of grilled and marinated duck on rye bread to accompany our wine. The appetizers were provided by the restaurant Circa 1886 next door. It has a great reputation as one of the finest in Charleston as well as in the US. We met many of the other Wentworth Mansion guests and had a lovely time.

Upon our arrival to our room after dinner, we were met with a breathtaking scene! The lights were dimmed, soft music was playing, tea lights were lit across the mantle, fresh flowers were placed in the room, homemade chocolates were on the bedside table and the amazingly decadent bed and sheets had been turned down for our comfort. Enough said!

Breakfast the next morning was....surprise!.....a delight also! The lovely woman who greets you and gets you your first cup of coffee of the day (in a beautiful china cup) puts a smile on your face as soon as you walk into the breakfast room. There is such a variety of choices for breakfast--belgium waffles, homemade sweet breads, fruits, yogurts and even meats and cheeses.

The Wentworth Mansion is one of the many reason you should visit Charleston, SC. Make it your destination and you will be pleasantly surprised that you feel like the most important guest at the mansion.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dalton, GA
16
Reviewed 4 July 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Wentworth Mansion for our 10th anniversary 2 weeks ago for three nights and found not one item to complain about. Upon our arrival we were greeted by name and offered a refreshment, and had our luggage taken to our room (Room9), and were given an overview of the Mansion and its history. I asked for their recommendation for a quick seafood dinner restaurant and they made us a reservation immediately for that night , and they made us reservation the following night at Charleston Grill- all done without any trouble and for the time we requested.
The European brekfast each morning was a perfect start to begin our day of sightseeing and shopping. Miss Betty was a special treat; she entertined us each day with stories of Charleston while keeping our glasses full, and our table clear.
The wine tasting and snacks each afternoon were all delicious and appealling.
Our room was clean, spacious,and well-appointed with a very romantically touched turn-down each night. The sunroom was comfortable, and the bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi tub and a double shower with double shower heads.The cupola is not to be missed- the views are spectacular any time of day or night. Circa 1886 is a must..the food , service, and wine are great, but the desserts are an experience.The location provides easy access by car or foot to downtown. We have traveled extensively and have stayed in many of the finest accomodations available and the Wentworth Mansion ranks up there with the best, and in many ways its intimacy and days gone-by atmosphere,and personal attention to comfort and detail surpasses many comparable places to stay.My wife and I will return to the Wentworth Mansion.....it must be experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Alpharetta, Georgia
14
Reviewed 27 June 2006

Arrived at Wentworth Mansion on a busy Saturday afternoon. We were greeted warmly, helped with our luggage, offered refreshment and given a quick tour of the mansion. It is an exquisite property, lovingly maintained. The staff is proud of their property and their work. Our room was beautiful (room 5), with many luxurious touches. We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary and felt as if we were royalty. A romantic turndown service unlike anything we've ever encountered, a chilled bottle of champagne and romantic music and lighting. Bliss!

Bathroom was elegant and spa-like, with double shower heads and a jacuzzi tub.

Do not miss going up to the Cupola at the top of the Mansion. All of Charleston is laid out to see. We went up one evening to find a young man proposing to his sweetheart on bended knee. The next night, a wedding took place at the top of the world in Charleston! Very romantic...

Staff helpful about tours, restaurants and area parking. An easy walk to shopping (about 5 blocks to the beginning of the shopping district). We elected to drive to the Battery and Liberty Square/Aquarium.

Circa 1886, the on-property restaurant was excellent, with attentive service, cuisine that was inventive but not weird, and well proportioned and priced entrees.

The daily wine tasting was fun and the wines were excellent and varied. Met nice people in the warm atmosphere of the gathering room. Breakfast was European style and Miss Betty assists with care and thoroughness--we'd go back again just to hear her say "Good morning, child, did you rest well?"

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
florida
139
Reviewed 5 June 2006

my wife and myself stayed at this hotel for less than a week in may. we always stay at 4 or 5 star hotels and are avid travelers. this was the dirtiest hotel we have ever stayed at in over 25 years of travelling. everything we read stated this was a wonderful property, but there was dirt, sticky stuff and black streaks on the the doors, walls, moldings. there was also cobwebs in the corners of the ceilings and if you touched the lampshades dust flew everywhere. Dirt piles in the corners of the room. it was a busy week in charleston the week we stayed there. the hotel is not easy to walk to downtown in the heat. so one must drive and fight for parking to go out to eat. the hotel was so dirty we decided not to eat at their restaurant circa 1886. one morning i went downstairs to the breakfast buffet and got 3 cinnamin rolls and the woman tending the service area told me "Not to grab so many and to leave some for other guests" i could not believe my ears. is 3 roll for 2 people too many? needless to say, i TRULY believe you can find a cleaner hotel with a better location for the money!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,878 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,214 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth Mansion

Address: 149 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1733
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £274 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wentworth Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wentworth Mansion® is, quite simply, one of the world's finest and most unique inns. A 21-room tribute to Charleston grandeur, The Wentworth Mansion is a historic downtown Charleston inn that exemplifies splendor with Italian crystal chandeliers, hand-carved marble fireplaces, gracious hospitality, luxurious amenities - all just steps from award-winning dining, art, history, and shopping.True to its original role as a private residence, The Wentworth Mansion embraces guests with a warm, intuitive service that is comfort itself. Like the greatest family traditions, it preserves its original intrigue and ensures that each guest is not a mere witness to the magic, but integral to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wentworth Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Mansion Charleston
Wentworth Mansion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing