We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pretty good, but ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

I'm a bit surprised the reviews here of the Fulton Lane Inn are as positive as they are. I know, I've given it a 4 overall -- mainly because of the excellent location, the friendly and helpful front-desk staff, and the reasonable price -- but ... I definitely have some complaints.

One, our room, while generally clean, had a kind of dingy feel. The carpet looked old and the walls could do with fresh paint in a brighter color. In such a colorful city as Charleston, the FLI seems oddly colorless.

Two, it was great to have breakfast delivered to our room, but the breakfast itself was blah. Grocery- ish bagels and Danish, and just plain old Kellogg's granola. Ho-hum.

Back to what I liked ... Fulton Lane is really just a little alley off King Street, so the entrance to FLI is very, very charming.

Recommended as long as you're not too picky about room decor and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iksnamhcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
We appreciate your favorable comments and constructive comments on room decor. Each of the four Charming Inns of Charleston reflects the period of its own historic building. Fulton Lane Inn decor represents Charleston decor in the summer. In the summer Charlestonians rolled up their oriental rugs and put down a sisal rug and covered heavy fabrics in white cottons. These lighter touches and more subdued wall colors are the decor of Fulton Lane Inn. We would love to have you as a guest again, perhaps you would prefer our John Rutledge House Inn or Kings Courtyard Inn which have the more traditional Charleston look of orientals and mahogany furniture. Thanks again for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    171
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
64
359
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington,NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

My friend and I stayed here one night last week. It is right off Kings St. with all the
shopping. This is a fabulous walking city and from this hotel you are able to walk
everywhere. I came to them with a problem with my car window not operating.
The girls at the front desk called their mechanic to see if he could take the car right away.
They recruited Jeff to follow me and bring me back. The mechanic fixed my car without
charge. Service like this is special and so are the sourthern Charlestonians.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandfun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decatur, ga
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

The location is great - right on King, but with our room facing the parking lot, no noise. Speaking of parking...the lot attendant needs some customer service training. City employee.

Room was spacious, but not as quaint as some other B&Bs. Breakfast delivery to our room was nice, but basic. For some reason, we got more each day, so by day three, we were stuffed.

Concierges (there seemed to be someone different every time we returned) were helpful, but there always seemed to be a crowd at the desk. And, of course, we thought we should be the only ones being helped, being the selfish tourists that we are.

So, if you want reasonable rates (for historic district), and the ability to practically fall out of bed into nearby restaurants and shopping, Fulton Lane is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lendrum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

I recently stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn for three nights on a girls trip. It is a nice boutique hotel with a great location to take tours and shopping. They have a wine and cheese next door every night at 5pm and a continental breakfast included in your rates. It is not a luxury hotel, but I think is a good value for the money and the location is perfect. Rooms were clean and quiet and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

It was the first time my sister and I were staying at an Inn and it was Great! The entire staff was very helpful in recommending great tours and restaurants to eat at. The breakfast (continental: bagels or pastry with coffee, orange juice, milk etc.) was delivered every morning on a silver tray at the time we specified on the Breakfast Card that we filled out nightly. The room was very clean and spacious with a nice sitting area. The TV was a bit far away from the bed and not your, "state of the art" TV, however we did not watch it much, so that did not bother us. I also liked the fact that they are going "Green" and asking their guest to do the same during their stay. We were able to get free parking by printing a copy from Trip Advisor, but normally it is $10/day. The location was great, it was within walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of February. This is just before the rates increase and during the week we got a great price. The inn was charming and the location was terrific. We did not use our car once we arrived. We were able to walk to Market and Meeting streets for the restaurants and shops. To be able to see the sights without worring about driving and parking was a bonus. The staff was very helpful regarding directions, restaurants and attractions. I would definitely recommend this inn.
The only down side is that their internet connection is very slow.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlgVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed one night at the Fulton Lane Inn on a recent weekend trip to Charleston. The one way streets make it difficult to locate the inn of you are not familiar with Charleston. The location of the Inn was great though. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Charleston. We stayed in a king room. The room was tastefully decorated and clean. The breakfast brought to your room in the morning was a nice feature. The bed was very comfy with comfy pillows. The one negative thing is, that we could hear our neighbors early in the morning closing doors, talking, and we could hear the cleaning crew moving around on our floor. I guess the walls might be a little thin, besides that, it was a nice stay. Great location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choco_enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#11 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing