We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at a decent price”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location at a decent price”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Fulton Lane Inn is in a great location and reasonably priced for Charleston. We booked a standard room with a king bed and upon check-in were upgraded to a deluxe king room. The deluxe king had a jetted tub and a small kitchenette. I would have been satisfied without either. The bathroom was a comfortable size with plenty of counter space for toiletries. The small table with 2 chairs that was tucked in the corner of the bedroom was barely adequate to seat 2 people for breakfast. It was not an area where you could comfortably sit down and read the paper or relax reading a book. We found the king bed to be very comfortable and surprisingly the pillows were as well. (I've stayed at too many places that had rock hard pillows.) Our room and the common areas were clean and well maintained. The staff were consistently pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IChzhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Thank you f for choosing Fulton Lane Inn for its location and value. Our staff takes great pride in delivering personal service. All room configurations are different since it is a renovation of a historic building. On your next visit we will see that you have a room with more space to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to your return visit.
Richard Widman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    193
    60
    14
    8
See reviews for
76
390
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Staying at this wonderful inn was the result of reading hundreds of TripAdvisor reviews for perhaps ten different hotels. The 40-room Fulton Lane Inn in is one of four Charming Inns of Charleston (a group) that is located in the heart of the buzz on busy King Street (the Rodeo Drive of Charleston - bring your heavy duty credit cards).

This hotel is sized perfectly to be called an inn. It is cozy, incredibly quiet and exhudes warm Southern hospitality with grace and efficency. The decor is sage green with white trim and rich sissel carpeting throughout. Rooms are spacious, the bathrooms and amenities pristine and well thought out. Breakfast is actually delivered right to your room at time you select - their coffee is killer. Both dry and cream sherry are available in the lobby during the afternoons while you ponder your next choices for dinner. The list is endless!

Praises to Sarah, Susu and Nathan - concierges who know almost everything about Charleston. They tirelessly set guests up with restaurants, tours, shopping, airport shuttles and special events - including two weddings during my time there. I cannot find enough words to compliment these good people for making my weeklong stay such a success. The next time I am in Charleston, look for me at the Fulton Lane Inn.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank MM921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you for choosing Fulton Lane Inn from your extensive search of reviews on TripAdvisor.
We take great pride in the personalized service we give to all of our guests in any of our four Charming Inns of Charleston. Most of our staff are Charleston natives who can direct you to get the most out of your visit to Charleston. I will pass your accolades on to the staff and we all look forward to your return visit with us.
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This was so much nicer than we expected. We have been to Charleston many, many times and have stayed at chain motels in the past. This opened our eyes and we will never stay anywhere else.

Wish we could have given it a "6"! We will highly recommend this to family and friends. The concierge service was truly phenomenal- no matter who was at the desk. We loved that we could park our car and walk to wherever we wanted to go.

The personal amenities were great! Our king size bed was delightful!

The delivered continental breakfast was prompt and well-presented. We were very pleased with the selection and how filling it was!

The complimentary nightcap sherry that was offered was such a treat!

Our favorite part was the entrance. It felt like the history of Old Charleston was right at our fingertips. The atmosphere of the inn begins before we even walked in the front door!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucko48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you for choosing Fulton Lane Inn over the chain hotels where you usually stay and becoming a convert to the more personal style of an Inn. Charleston is a unique and beautiful city and the best way to live it is to stay and experience it first hand. Parking your car and letting our concierges recommend sites based on your personal interests, is the best way to enjoy Charleson. We look forward to having you as our guests in the future.
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I'm a bit surprised the reviews here of the Fulton Lane Inn are as positive as they are. I know, I've given it a 4 overall -- mainly because of the excellent location, the friendly and helpful front-desk staff, and the reasonable price -- but ... I definitely have some complaints.

One, our room, while generally clean, had a kind of dingy feel. The carpet looked old and the walls could do with fresh paint in a brighter color. In such a colorful city as Charleston, the FLI seems oddly colorless.

Two, it was great to have breakfast delivered to our room, but the breakfast itself was blah. Grocery- ish bagels and Danish, and just plain old Kellogg's granola. Ho-hum.

Back to what I liked ... Fulton Lane is really just a little alley off King Street, so the entrance to FLI is very, very charming.

Recommended as long as you're not too picky about room decor and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iksnamhcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
We appreciate your favorable comments and constructive comments on room decor. Each of the four Charming Inns of Charleston reflects the period of its own historic building. Fulton Lane Inn decor represents Charleston decor in the summer. In the summer Charlestonians rolled up their oriental rugs and put down a sisal rug and covered heavy fabrics in white cottons. These lighter touches and more subdued wall colors are the decor of Fulton Lane Inn. We would love to have you as a guest again, perhaps you would prefer our John Rutledge House Inn or Kings Courtyard Inn which have the more traditional Charleston look of orientals and mahogany furniture. Thanks again for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington,NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My friend and I stayed here one night last week. It is right off Kings St. with all the
shopping. This is a fabulous walking city and from this hotel you are able to walk
everywhere. I came to them with a problem with my car window not operating.
The girls at the front desk called their mechanic to see if he could take the car right away.
They recruited Jeff to follow me and bring me back. The mechanic fixed my car without
charge. Service like this is special and so are the sourthern Charlestonians.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandfun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decatur, ga
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The location is great - right on King, but with our room facing the parking lot, no noise. Speaking of parking...the lot attendant needs some customer service training. City employee.

Room was spacious, but not as quaint as some other B&Bs. Breakfast delivery to our room was nice, but basic. For some reason, we got more each day, so by day three, we were stuffed.

Concierges (there seemed to be someone different every time we returned) were helpful, but there always seemed to be a crowd at the desk. And, of course, we thought we should be the only ones being helped, being the selfish tourists that we are.

So, if you want reasonable rates (for historic district), and the ability to practically fall out of bed into nearby restaurants and shopping, Fulton Lane is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lendrum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I recently stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn for three nights on a girls trip. It is a nice boutique hotel with a great location to take tours and shopping. They have a wine and cheese next door every night at 5pm and a continental breakfast included in your rates. It is not a luxury hotel, but I think is a good value for the money and the location is perfect. Rooms were clean and quiet and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,783 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,854 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing