We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We booked this hotel a few days before the Labor Day weekend and took advantage of an online offer they had. The driving instructions they sent us are very good and took us right to the parking lot behind the hotel. We were checked in by a friendly staff member and in our room within 10 minutes.

The room was very spacious and right next to the elevator. This really wasn't a problem, as noise from our fellow hotel guests was nonexistent. The noise from passers-by on the street in the middle of the night was enough to interrupt sleep (even on the 3rd floor). We were also awakened at 5 am by a knock on the door one night, only to find nobody there. So, needless to say, between that and the light coming in from the street lamps (the curtains don't cover the top windows), we didn't sleep too well.

Breakfast is delivered to the room between a time frame you decide the night before. The first day, this worked well. The second day, we were expecting breakfast between 7:30-8 am, only to have it arrive it 8:15 am. There were apologies for the tardiness as the tray was delivered. Still ...

Cleanliness of the room was okay. The shower still had some dust bunnies that were missed from the previous guest(s). The couch was older and not too comfy. The TV only can be viewed from the couch, not the bed. Free wifi in the rooms.

The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful in getting us where we needed to go. However, it would have been nice if they had known that the tea plantation was closed on Labor Day (and saved us a half hour drive to the middle of nowhere), rather than just handing us driving directions.

While our stay was just okay, with the multitude of lodging options available, we will probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gelf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thank you for your comments as we use these comments to constantly strive for perfection. I apologize for others who disturbed your sleep. We have discussed with the staff the importance of ensuring that Charleston attractions are open before we send the guest on their way. I apologize that your stay was only average and believe that on your next stay that your expectations would be met. Richard Widman Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

Quite a nice change of pace from chain hotels. Stayed here, was upgraded to a deluxe king, with a jacuzzi tub (ok, not terribly special, hardware was a little unreliable), a large corner room (very nice) and a gas fireplace (really nice, had to use it even in September). Great people at front desk, the evening sherry was appreciated, and complimentary breakfast delivered to your room is a really nice touch. and located right in the heart of old Charleston, a great place for romance, friends, and in my case, even a business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy98110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We were disappointed with this hotel. The location is good, and the price is reasonable, but the interior looks a bit shabby and the housekeeping is substandard. We have stayed in other hotels in Charleston that were much nicer for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Please accept my sincerest apology that my inn did not meet your expectations, nor my expectations as well. The entire staff prides themselves on providing well maintained rooms and the highest level of cleanliness. Our executive housekeeper and others will review our actions so that we will consistently provide the best product and service possible. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

RESERVATION HANDLING COMMENTS: When I called, ____ asked if we had dinner reservations and offered to make them for us which was so helpful. She was patient with my questions and made me feel welcomed before we came.

FRONT DESK GREETING COMMENTS: We were so pleased to be greeted by a young man who went out of his way to be sure we had everything we needed.

REGISTRATION/DEPARTURE COMMENTS: The woman who helped us check out wished us "many more happy anniversaries" which was unexpected and yet so kind.

GUEST SERVICE/FRONT DESK COMMENTS: Everyone was so kind and professional.

HOUSEKEEPING: Exceeded Expectations

HOUSEKEEPING COMMENTS: The young lady who was working in the hall as we passed also greeted us warmly.

MAINTENANCE: Exceeded Expectations

MAINTENANCE COMMENTS: We love the tub and the set up of the room.

BREAKFAST: Exceeded Expectations

BREAKFAST COMMENTS: It was so nice to have coffee and juice delivered to our room.

ROOM SERVICE: Exceeded Expectations

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nruppert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Thank you for writing the glowing review on Fulton Lane Inn. We pride ourselves on providing a great stay and appreciate your perfect grade in all areas of service, cleanliness,sleep quality and value. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future visit.
Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was our first time in Charelston, and we booked a room while en route with the help of the concierge, SuSu. As New Orleanians, we appreciated her authentic Southern hospitality. Upon check-in we were offered a glass of Sherry and all details were handled smoothly. The property is located in the heart of the historic district and boasts an elegant antebellum entrance found off the small Fulton Lane. Several other reviewers complained about the decor, but as the hotel articulated very nicely, the style is 'warm weather Charelston.' White wainscotting and linen wallpaper in the hallways were nicely executed. The room was spacious (soaring ceilings, large king bed, well-appointed bathroom with high quality toiletries). In addition to nightly wine/cheese hour and decanted sherry available at all times, breakfast on a silver tray is included in the price. Overall, the attention to detail at this property was impressive and I would recommend it to family, friends, and colleagues alike.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consortium1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for your review complimenting Susu and the rest of the staff on their Southern hospitality. This is one of the reasons Charleston is recognized year after year as the most friendly city. You described our interior decor perfectly as "warm weather Charleston" with light colors with a coastal feel. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us. Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Great value, great staff, clean, lovely room, great location and breakfast in bed was a bonus. can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Located on King St... right in the heart of this historical town.

First of would I recommend? Yes. But I will have to say that while walking around here I saw plenty of intriguing alternatives and we will try somewhere different the next time we visit here. I saw some with outdoor pools and more amenities for about the same rates. Just FYI the King's Court is right next door.

Bottom line this was a nice stay but for $129.99 + parking charges you are paying for the convenience. The rooms at a Fairfield Inn or Hampton Inn are much nicer for a fraction of the cost. It seems everyone who stays around here for a week or more rents a condo or owns timeshares.

The nicest/fanciest hotel in this area here is the Charleston Inn but it runns double the cost of the Fulton.

I originally looked this hotel up at http://hotels.com and now that I am here there are plenty more than what was posted.

Parking: They charge you $12 a day in addition to your rate. It is right behind the hotel and honestly unless you are going to Folly Beach you will not need your car.

Location: It is conveniently located in a block away from Mart St. Excellent location within walking distance from all there is to do here even Ft Sumpter is within a few blocks. There's the market or French Quarters and all the horse carriage rides are all very close.

I now truly understand the difference between an Inn and a hotel in this city. You can barely see this hotel as you drive by. We thought to ourselves "oh my God" this is not what it looked like online BUT...

It is surprisingly very very nice. it is small and personable but with elegance its definately a nice place. The staff here was so friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very nice with high ceilings and beautiful tall windows with great views.

The rooms are a little dated but very nice and clean. The bathroom was okay. The water pressure was just right. I did not care for the lighting. There was none except for the lamps.

There was free wifi access and the rates included a complimentary breakfast and newspaper delivered to your door. But you will not find eggs and bacon on the menu. It is either freshly baked pastries or a healthier choice of bagels, fruits, yogurts, etc...

We had a great experience during this trip and this hotel played a part in it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brunos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,858 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#31 of 61 in Charleston
608 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £146 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing