We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in August and were reluctant to leave! In my opinion Fulton Lane provided good value for the money. Our room was huge, with a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Our room looked out onto King St., but I didn't notice any excessive street noise. We particularly enjoyed the evening wine reception in the courtyard and the breakfast delivered to our room each morning. As he devoured one of the tasty cinnamon rolls, my husband admitted he was reconsidering his previous disdain for B&B's. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anesmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
What a great review of the Inn. Thank you! We are so glad to hear you had a lovely stay and are thrilled to change your husband's mind about Bed & Breakfasts. One of Fulton Lane Inn's best features is its location on King Street: the view is marvelous. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston - we'll save some Cinnamon Rolls. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    185
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
70
382
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have stayed here at the Fulton Street Inn several times, and always pleased. Ther are ok rooms and very nice rooms, however, they all provide clean and comfortable beds. The staff is extremely considerate and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdskinllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I wanted a nice romantic 2 days in Charleston and by checking into the Fulton Lane in we succeeded. At check in we were greeted warmly and felt immediatly welcomed. We booked the best room which was a king suite on 3rd floor with canopy bed, jacuzzi and a view on to King street. My wife loved the room as I did. The room service breakfast was on time each morning; which we enjoyed looking out onto King street. The location was walking distance to all the restaraunts and attractions Charleston has to offer. If you are looking for a great 2 day getaway, book into the Fulton Lane Inn and you will not be dissapointed!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Hello! Thank you for choosing the Fulton Lane Inn as your romantic getaway destination. Your accommodations in the Cathedral Suite are wonderful for many reasons- but is especially perfect for some time away. I'm thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed the view of King Street and daily breakfast delivery - they're also two of our favorite inn features. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Our room was spacious, clean, and the bed was comfy. Right on King Street, it gives you a good "home base" to visit most places in the historic district. Positives: easy check-in, parking was right behind the hotel for $12 a day (most Charleston places charge around $20), breakfast always arrived right on time, and never had to wait for the elevator.
Negatives: Our room was facing King Street, so there was street noise (garbage truck early in the morning, some loud cars/motorcycles), and the sunlight woke us up around 6:45/7 am. I had to put a towel over my face to block the sun. Lastly, the shower was confusing and the water temperature was slow to react so it was tricky getting the temperature just right.
I have stayed at this hotel twice now and I would definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landcruiser1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Hello: Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your second visit to Fulton Lane Inn and plan to return. With our King Street location of course comes the wonderful convenience of many great restaurants, shops and attractions. It also comes with a bit of noise during the week from King Street activity. We'll be sure to place you in a room towards the back of the inn on your next visit.

Enjoy the rest of your summer! We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great location, charming rooms! We got upgraded to a suite and loved it. Wine and cheese in the late afternoon was fun (and included!) along with breakfast delivered to your room. Overall,affordable, nice, clean and would definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aaguren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Hello: Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Fulton Lane Inn. I am glad you enjoyed our central location and many amenities. We appreciate your recommendation. Enjoy the rest of your summer. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel is a hidden gym. We arrived and immediately were offered wine and hors d'ouerves. Sherry in the evenings. All of the rooms include breakfast delivered to your room. The rooms are clean and classic. No frills, but adequate and large. Ours had 3 tall windows overlooking the rooftops nearby and King Street. This hotel is a steal at this price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legaltravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
You have indeed uncovered our hidden gem! It also sounds like you had one of the best views in the house. Our location makes for a great stop on a summer trip to Charleston- there is so much to do within easy and beautiful walking distance. Glad to see you took advantage of our evening spirits and afternoon wine and cheese reception. We look forward to hosting your next trip up to Charleston. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Great location, nice feel, helpful staff - but our room was very dirty. Beer caps under the bed, the bed wasn't clear not was the bathroom. ...and what about those foam pillows (this is an upper-end hotel!!). I'd give this one a miss next time -

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tboysx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
I sincerely apologize that housekeeping did not meet your expectations and certainly did not meet our high standards. I can assure you that the Innkeeper will take corrective action so that every room for every guest is cleaned perfectly. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Sincerely, Richard Widman Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing