We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay! Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely stay! Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the FLI in late August. We had a king room w/jacuzzi tub. The king bed had a canopy, the room was furnished very tastefully. The jacuzzi tub was massive! The parking was easy and relatively inexpensive. The location is great for walking to the many restaurants, bars & shops nearby. We had a bit of trouble finding out way back in the dark; perhaps a more prominent sign would be a good idea. Or maybe we had just enjoyed a few too many drinks that night! :) We enjoyed the breakfast delivered to our room; the pastries were excellent! We were a bit late checking out due to attending a long church service; the staff was very kind and it posed not problem. All staff that we encountered were very helpful and attentive! This is a small, quiet hotel - we did not hear any noise from the street or from other rooms. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Also a great value for historic downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlestonchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Sounds like y'all had a fantastic time here in Charleston. I appreciate your wonderful review of your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. I'm glad that you took advantage of the inn's close proximity to downtown shopping, dining and nightlife and that our staff took such great care of you. We look forward to hosting your next trip to town.

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    182
    58
    14
    8
See reviews for
67
376
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I just stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn over Labor Day weekend 2012. What a great place to stay. It is virtually on the corner of King Street and Market Street, which is right where you want to be in Charleston. The market, plenty of restaurants, shops, and tourist spots are a short walk away. Our bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom was very nice. They also deliver a continental breakfast to your room every morning, and have a wine and cheese hour in the afternoon. All of their concierges' were great, but my wife and I found Elizabeth to be exceptional We enjoyed our stay at another bed and breakfast nearby, but the Fulton Lane Inn is a much better value for basically the same service.


The only constructive criticism I have, has to do with their initial confirmation e-mail. They give directions on how to get to their parking lot in that e-mail. In the directions they gave people coming from our direction, they told us to look for a landmark to get in a turning lane. It's a little confusing for people who are unfamiliar with Charleston, and different from the rest of the directions they give.

Outside of that, we had a terrific weekend, and will certainly be staying there again the next time we're in Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrin28405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for spending your Labor Day Weekend with us. I very much appreciate your sharing your memories and leaving such a great review of your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our many great amenities like the wine+cheese reception and in-room breakfast delivery. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. They are an amazing bunch. Thank you for your note on our confirmation e-mail. I will be sure to make some adjustments.

We look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston.
Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Part of the Charming Inns of America, this small Inn is in an ideal location, close to everywhere you would want to go in downtown Charleston. Breakfast delivered to your room, convenient parking (not free), and helpful staff make this a wonderful place to stay. Not the swankiest - i.e linens, pillows, etc but comfortable enough to spend the extra $100 a night you would be paying elsewhere on something els.

Room Tip: We were in a room that was directly over the entrance. The room never got very dark at night becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. I'm glad that you enjoyed your trip, our helpful staff and some of the inn's great amenities like our central location, parking and breakfast delivery. I'm sorry to read that your room was brighter than you had hoped. This is of course due to our location on King Street. We will be sure to help you find a room more to your liking on your next visit. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Fulton Lane Inn is a wonderful hotel property which is always a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The Inn is just the right size so no slamming doors. The Inn is close to everything so that you can park the car and walk where you need to go.
Breakfast [delivered to your room] is ample and always good quality.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or on-site restaurant. So many good restaurants nearby [and breakfast delivered t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yav4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for noting the Fulton Lane Inn as the perfect place to stay in downtown Charleston. What an honor. I appreciate your kind words and great review of our space, facilities, breakfast service and walkability of the city. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in August and were reluctant to leave! In my opinion Fulton Lane provided good value for the money. Our room was huge, with a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Our room looked out onto King St., but I didn't notice any excessive street noise. We particularly enjoyed the evening wine reception in the courtyard and the breakfast delivered to our room each morning. As he devoured one of the tasty cinnamon rolls, my husband admitted he was reconsidering his previous disdain for B&B's. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anesmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
What a great review of the Inn. Thank you! We are so glad to hear you had a lovely stay and are thrilled to change your husband's mind about Bed & Breakfasts. One of Fulton Lane Inn's best features is its location on King Street: the view is marvelous. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Charleston - we'll save some Cinnamon Rolls. Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have stayed here at the Fulton Street Inn several times, and always pleased. Ther are ok rooms and very nice rooms, however, they all provide clean and comfortable beds. The staff is extremely considerate and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdskinllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My wife and I wanted a nice romantic 2 days in Charleston and by checking into the Fulton Lane in we succeeded. At check in we were greeted warmly and felt immediatly welcomed. We booked the best room which was a king suite on 3rd floor with canopy bed, jacuzzi and a view on to King street. My wife loved the room as I did. The room service breakfast was on time each morning; which we enjoyed looking out onto King street. The location was walking distance to all the restaraunts and attractions Charleston has to offer. If you are looking for a great 2 day getaway, book into the Fulton Lane Inn and you will not be dissapointed!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Hello! Thank you for choosing the Fulton Lane Inn as your romantic getaway destination. Your accommodations in the Cathedral Suite are wonderful for many reasons- but is especially perfect for some time away. I'm thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed the view of King Street and daily breakfast delivery - they're also two of our favorite inn features. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Sincerely,
Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing