We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Hospitality at its best!”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality at its best!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were spending a weekend in Charleston and searched various hotels in the heart of the historic district, when we happened upon the Fulton. It is tucked away off an alley and is delightful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and well furnished. We loved having our breakfast delivered to us each morning on a silver tray. The food was plentiful and delicious and everything that shoud be hot was hot and the cold food was cold.

We enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese after a day spend shopping in the market and touring the city. In the evening we helped ourselves to a glass of sherry before retiring to our room.

For the money, this hotel is a great deal, considering the chain hotels in the area were about the same cost. Instead of a generic place, you can experience the warmth and charm of Charleston in person. There is parking in the back and for $12 you can come and go. It was convenient and easy to leave our car there and walk around the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyb17325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    185
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
70
382
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We just returned from a four night stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. We were delighted with our choice of Lodging. The Inn is right on Historic King Street, full of shopping and galleries.
We had continental breakfast delivered to our room each morning, and each evening we had a complimentary wine and cheese reception. A decanter of sherry in the lobby was a nice touch to end each evening.
All staff were courteous and so helpful, especially the concierge.staff.
We will return and highly recommend the Fulton Lane Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margiet69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about the Fulton Lane Inn and the entire staff. We love being able to offer a unique place to stay in the heart of Charleston. The complimentary breakfast and wine & cheese hour are amenities that we love to offer our guests. We truly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Location cannot be beat. The rooms are lovely with a large, grand bathroom. From start to finish we had a great stay. We ate breakfast at the inn next door and it was lovely (the best hotel coffee we have ever had!). Was a great stop/go place for a weekend in Charleston because it is in the center of it all.

Room Tip: Rooms along King Street/Alley -- we were awoken by the street cleaning at about 6am on Sunday mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynJ60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Fulton Lane Inn was a great little inn tucked away in the heart of Charleston. Walk out your door and you're in the middle of it all - fantastic location! Our rooms were clean, spacious and exactly what we were looking for. This is a small place - no pool, spa or anything of the like. But, the added perks (breakfast in your room or in the dining area, cheese and wine before dinner, dry/cream sherry on your way to bed) definitely made this place charming. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Charleston.

As a side note, we loved our breakfast waitress Takia. She provided fantastic service and was the epitome of southern hospitality. She's definitely a keeper!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for visiting the Fulton Lane Inn and taking the time to share your remarks. Our attention to detail allows our service to stand above the crowd in many respects and your personal experience with our team simply reconfirms this attentiveness first hand. We are so happy that Takia provided a memorable experience for your girl’s trip. We will pass along your kind words. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great location and staff was very welcoming and friendly. A bit overpriced for what you get. I would rather stay at a B&B in the area for the price we paid for the petite suite. But we booked this room on very short notice and I was happy to be able to get a room in the downtown area. The room was cute and overlooked Kings Street, was within walking distance from restaurants, shopping and the market, and it was also quiet and felt secure. We also enjoyed the fireplace and huge jacuzzi tub.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viperpilotwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three days on our Charleston Honeymoon. I must say, it was rather lovely. I'm a no frills kinda gal, and this place was perfect. The bed was comfortable. The room was spacious. Our service was excellent. Everything was clean. And heck, they have brandy in the lobby. I don't really drink brandy, but it was still rather exciting. The location can't be beat. It's in the heart of downtown and we walked everywhere. I really can't say bad things about this place. Great place to spend our honeymoon. -26 yr old lady

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are so thrilled to have taken part in making your honeymoon so fantastic. One of the Fulton Lane Inn’s best features is our central location to countless great restaurants, attractions and shopping. We pride ourselves on being able to offer a historic hotel with modern amenities. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I booked this hotel the morning I landed in Charleston, SC via the HotelTonight app from my iPhone. If you're not familiar with the app - check it out. I was able to book this hotel at a very reasonable rate on New Year's Eve. If it's your first time to Charleston and you're not familiar with this hotel's location - it's located on King Street (the main shopping street in Charleston) - however, it's front door is hidden down a small walking alley just off of King Street. The hotel staff were very friendly upon arrival and throughout our stay. The hotel room was very spacious and clean. The Fulton Lane Inn offers a happy hour - which we did not attend, but have heard good things about. I would stay here again in future trips to Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank your for your review of the Fulton Lane Inn. We are so happy that we could accommodate you for New Year’s Eve. We appreciate your praise of our staff and facilities. Our location allows our guests to enjoy all that Charleston has to offer while being right in the center of it all. We are glad that you were able to find a great room on the HotelTonight app. We offer great specials and packages throughout the year, so be sure to stay in touch with our website for your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing