We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay in Charleston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Awesome location-walking distance to everything we hoped to see in Charleston
Great cocktail hour
Informative staff
Option to have breakfast delivered to your room (we loved this!)
Easy parking
Charming room

Cons:
Can't think of any

We would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank akchick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear akchick3,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fulton Lane Inn. The location of our historic inn is a wonderful benefit that our guests truly enjoy. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our complimentary wine and cheese reception; this something we love to offer our guests. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    179
    58
    14
    8
See reviews for
65
371
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is on King Street and near Market Street - key locations.

Out room was adequate / no view - on the second floor.

Breakfast is brought to your room - continental.

Mrs. Baldwin - front desk is a great source of information on the cities and can point you in the right direction for activities and restaurants.

Price was compare able to the Hoilday Inn - far north from this prime location.

Parking is in and out $15 dollars no matter how often you come in and out - lol we only moved out car once!!!! Again location was key.

Best regards -
Master Traveler

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Every member of the staff was delightful and helpful. The room was good and the bathroom was huge - with a deep tub with jets - ideal after a day of walking. The breakfast was better than advertised and the wine and cheese every evening was terrific. The real perfection is the location. You can walk everywhere, and there's plenty to see and do in this historic gem of a city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We just spent two nights at the Fulton Lane Inn in Charleston in a spacious, airy room with large windows that we could open---yea! It would be difficult to beat the location of this small, charming inn on King Street within walking distance to restaurants, riverfront, shopping, and the market. Parking is immediately outside in a secure lot and very reasonable at $12 a night.
Happy hour at 5 p.m. includes various cheeses and reasonably good wines. I enjoyed an Oregon Pinot Noir---not too shabby. A continental breakfast of items of your choice is delivered to your room along with USA Today at a time you choose. The bed was large and comfortable, the shower good, and although we faced King Street and slept with the windows open, it was very quiet. If you're looking for a sleek, high-tech hotel/inn, this is not it. But if you are looking for warm ambiance and Southern hospitality, than the Fulton Lane Inn will make you happy. We will definitely stay here when visiting Charleston again.

Room Tip: Can't speak for other rooms, but 325 was roomy and comfy. Also quiet even tho it faced King St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklick, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved our stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. Typically we stay on the periphery of a city, but because it was affordable, we stayed in the heart of Charleston. The concierge serve ice was fantastic. We got great recommendations for tours and restaurants. We met wonderful travelers who joined us for dinner. Undoubtedly our trip to Charleston ranks near the top of our US trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Steven H,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the central location of the Fulton Lane Inn. Our staff prides themselves in offering exceptional service, and I am so happy that their recommendations were helpful. Ranking as one of your top US trips is truly a great accolade. Thank you for your kind words.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were spending a weekend in Charleston and searched various hotels in the heart of the historic district, when we happened upon the Fulton. It is tucked away off an alley and is delightful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and well furnished. We loved having our breakfast delivered to us each morning on a silver tray. The food was plentiful and delicious and everything that shoud be hot was hot and the cold food was cold.

We enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese after a day spend shopping in the market and touring the city. In the evening we helped ourselves to a glass of sherry before retiring to our room.

For the money, this hotel is a great deal, considering the chain hotels in the area were about the same cost. Instead of a generic place, you can experience the warmth and charm of Charleston in person. There is parking in the back and for $12 you can come and go. It was convenient and easy to leave our car there and walk around the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyb17325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We just returned from a four night stay at the Fulton Lane Inn. We were delighted with our choice of Lodging. The Inn is right on Historic King Street, full of shopping and galleries.
We had continental breakfast delivered to our room each morning, and each evening we had a complimentary wine and cheese reception. A decanter of sherry in the lobby was a nice touch to end each evening.
All staff were courteous and so helpful, especially the concierge.staff.
We will return and highly recommend the Fulton Lane Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margiet69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about the Fulton Lane Inn and the entire staff. We love being able to offer a unique place to stay in the heart of Charleston. The complimentary breakfast and wine & cheese hour are amenities that we love to offer our guests. We truly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing