We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn, gracious staff”
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed just one night but thoroughly enjoyed all this Inn offered--the location is perfect, the complementary wine reception, sherry in the evening, and room service continental breakfast were all welcomed treats--and we found our room to be spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. I look forward to staying again on my next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captivawine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Recently stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting Charleston. The Inn is well situated in the historic district so you can walk to all the shops, the market and many restaurants. The staff from the concierge ladies to the cleaning staff are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning is good to tide you over till lunch and the wine and snack hour at 5 is a added bonus. The room was spacious and well equipped. Will stay again next time I'm back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trapper37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Fulton Lane Inn for a week on a visit to Charleston.

With the children we may have chosen differently, but as a couple, this was a lovely, luxurious spot that offered us the perfect location from which to venture out for croissants and coffee in the mornings or in search of Vietnamese, Thai, Japanese restaurants or lovely cosy pub.

I think the loveliness of the both the hotel and the location would have been wasted on our 3 boys. This is a great grown-up hotel.

We'll definitely return and recommend the Fulton Lane Inn to friends.

Room Tip: A room with a view of King Street shopping district is nice... it's fun to look out the window a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuddTravellingZooFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing your romantic getaway at the Fulton Lane Inn. The inns central location is perfect for enjoying all that our charming city has to offer. We are happy to hear that you found so many great restaurants and cafes in close proximity. We truly appreciate the recommendation and look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely, Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this in for every bit of 10 mins. I was in town for business and booked at the last minute. The online pics seemed OK, but when you visit an actual room - beware.
It feels more like a motel and not an inn.Walls, bed linen, carpet all dingy. Room had frayed lamp shades and it all was in need of some Clorox, deep cleaning, paint and just a plain old remodel. If you are not picky, this is the place for you. If you are picky, run.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lilyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Lilyn1,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at the Fulton Lane Inn. I apologize that you didn’t have the positive experience reflected by the majority of reviewers that stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn. We wish you had given us more time to determine the issues with your room as I am confident that we could have provided a satisfactory solution. We try our best to satisfy everyone and I once again apologize that you were disappointed.

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. There staff is wonderful. They took care of my son and his fiancé . They made there honeymoon week so special ! They went beyond my expectations, So grateful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. I have stayed at Fulton Lane for 3 weeks on business and this is a great place to call my home away from home. The staff here are incredible. Just not enough superlatives to describe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capt_mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerCharmingInns, Owner at Fulton Lane Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Capt_mick,

Thank you for choosing the Fulton Lane Inn as your home away from home! We were delighted to have you as our guest for 3 weeks. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and look forward to welcoming you home when your travels bring you back to Charleston!

Sincerely,

Richard Widman, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We did a lot of looking around for our April 7 trip to Charleston. We were surprised how many places were booked, and how expensive our options in the prime area were.
After many hours on Trip Advisor I found Fulton Lane Inn. It was the only appealing option under $300.
We were lucky to be upgraded to room #326, which had a lovely peaked ceiling and a jacuzzi tub.
We found the staff to be very helpful with reservations, and we really enjoyed the complimentary room service breakfast.
The location is absolutely perfect, just far enough away from the touristy area near the market, and a few blocks from "South of Broad". And if you like shopping it is at the epicenter.
We had a nice view of the rooftops.
If you want a very dark room at night you may not want to be on the street side, some light does come in. But the noise is minimal.
My only suggestion is some of the decor could use a tweak. We had a plant in the room that needs some miracle grow or pruning.
Also it would be nice to see some local cheeses at the wine reception, and a non alcoholic choice beyond tap water. (NA wine or sparkling water or grape juice?)
Overall however we were DELIGHTED with the hotel, and if you are budget conscious and want a great location it is a superb choice.

Room Tip: We LOVED 326, king with jacuzzi and a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinlaysonFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,888 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#30 of 62 in Charleston
612 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £134 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing