We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this place! Must return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved this place! Must return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Wonderful lil inn in the middle of the Charleston scene. We enjoyed our stay so much, we would like to return again. We really enjoyed the breakfast in bed and the Jacuzzi tub in our bathroom! This place was great and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyreeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    182
    58
    14
    8
See reviews for
67
376
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This place was wonderful...a diamond in the rough of sorts. Perfect location to park the car and walk everywhere in Charleston. Had the best little happy hour with it's sister hotel next door. The waiters were wonderful....wine was great....they weren't chintzy about the servings either! Hotel was old but very clean and well maintained.A cross between a hotel and b & b....you could get breakfast delivered to the room if you wanted....did that one morning due to an early appt. and it was a nice continental breakfast....that you ordered off a menu the night before....and a nice selection. Funny enough, our room faced King Street but we didn't find it to be very noisy in the a.m.....maybe we just got lucky! Loved Charleston and can't wait to go back as there's many more restaurants we have to try! And we WILL stay at the Fulton Inn when we go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

we loved this Inn-- and the staff were very helpful and top-notch. Charleston is a beautiful town and this place was perfect for our needs. Loved the room (King suite) and the breakfast in the room was a great added bonus. Be careful with rooms right on King Street- due to the noise level.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Fulton Inn for four nights and it was the perfect accommodation for us. A room with two double beds on the second floor, facing the back parking lot with a lovey big tree at our window. The room was just right, not too much extra space but enough to move around in. At times in the early morning I did hear workers outside in the parking lot, but it did not last for long. The bathroom was also sufficient and well decorated. I prefer little to no lace at the Inns or B&Bs I stay at and this one satisfied me with a clean design and no lace. A simple breakfast was served at the sister Inn next door and they had a wine and cheese hour as well. The location was perfect for shopping and about a 10 minute walk to the upper King Street area filled with restaurants. Also, if you turned down Market Street then you entered the East Bay Street area of shops and restaurants. Therefore situated between both popular neighborhoods. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was a very nice hotel in an excellent location. The rooms were pleasant and comfortable. Lovely bright rooms and wide halls, and a nice feel to the place. Breakfast was delicious - it was continental but you can choose as much as you want. It is served in your room, and you select it the night before, but you can select pastries, and fruit, and cereal, and yogurt, and a hard boiled egg if that is what you want - you are not limited in the quantities. The other option is to eat in the courtyard of the adjoining hotel. The breakfast choices are essentially the same, although the courtyard includes oatmeal. There was some trouble with the delivery timing - 2 of the 4 mornings the breakfast was not delivered during the time requested (you are given a choice of half hour windows) and each time we had to call down after the delivery time had passed and ask for our order to be delivered. One morning we actually need to leave to be on a tour, so it was a bit of a problem.

The location is in the heart of downtown Charleston with many wonderful restaurants and historical buildings nearby, and is in the centre of a very nice (and expensive) shopping district. It is about a 20 minute walk from the main Visitor Centre, which is where many of the tours leave from. There are free trolleys that travel around the city, including to the Visitor Centre, but we found that they don't correspond closely to the times on the schedules, so give yourself extra time if you are relying on them.

One small point - we asked to have our noon check-out time extended by 45 minutes, and were refused. I have never had a delayed check-out time request of less than an hour refused by any hotel, so I was surprised and disappointed by that. They did offer to store our luggage for that time, but that didn't help us. Still, we would go back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I just got back from an anniversary trip to Charleston. We stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn, in one of their suites. It was huge, with a great bathroom space. We barely had to drive anywhere since the hotel is so close to everything.The only thing to be aware of is that the hotel is right off of Kings St so in the mornings, it can be a little noisy from the street. It's a very cozy and classic hotel with incredible service. Housekeeping did a great job every day and the front desk was always super friendly. We will definitely be staying here whenever we return to Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

On our 6 week trip we booked thru hotwire and again scored a gem. The rooms are large, have at least 16ft ceilings, indies breakfast and it's walking distance to great dining and bars and the service was lovely. U just need to add parking at $12 out the back if driving. Would stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 72Ang069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing