We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fulton Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fulton Lane Inn
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Comfortable bed

very friendly and helpful staff

great location on King Street for shopping

brought us requested breakfast items that weren't even on menu

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyalCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    171
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
64
359
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

I stayed at the Fulton Lane as part of a business group. I was a little wary of the noise level at the hotel after reading Trip Advisor, but decided to stay with the group and take a chance on the Fulton Lane. I am glad I did!

Pros: Fantastic location, right on King St. downtown; lovely room and spacious bathroom, incl. jacuzzi tub; comfortable [canopy] bed; very clean; attentive and helpful staff; ample parking (for fee).

Cons: The noise was a problem, especially when the street cleaners hit King at 4:30 am; climate control was a mystery -- room was cold all night, and there was no extra blanket; plantation shutters on windows were beautiful, but did little to shut out light from King St shops.

I've stayed at many hotels in Charleston, and this is one of the better establishments. The staff were top notch and went the extra mile, going so far as to have some snacks out early for breakfast (we had to check out at 6:30 am). If I get the opportunity, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

We stayed at this inn for three nights to celebrate an anniversary. It is very conveniently located downtown. Almost everything is within walking distance or a short trolley trip. After reading the reviews here, we made sure to ask for a room away from the street hoping to avoid the nightly noise. I don't think it really matters what room you have at this inn as it is a very old building, and there is absolutely no insulation. We were in the back but could hear the noise on the street clearly. Also, the back is the parking lot side of the building so there is always noise in that area. We were able to sleep at night though. It wasn't that bad but at 7:00 a.m., the construction started on the street side. They are updating all the sidewalks in the area so there is always construction noise. Good news is that we did not hear any noise from any of the rooms in the inn.

We were surprised by how spacious the room was. It included king-size bed w/canopy; gas fireplace; wicker chair w/ottoman; small table w/chairs; tv; large bathroom w/double sinks and jacuzzi tub; small refrigerator in the bathroom under the sinks. The breakfast is continental and served in your room. They give you a card listing breakfast items, and you mark off what you would like delivered in the morning and at what time. A newspaper showed up at our door two of the three days we were there. A nice touch was the small bag of designer cookies they placed on our bed with a note about our anniversary. The concierge can be very helpful with dinner reservations and also a car to the airport. There is coffee or sherry available in the lobby depending on the time of day. They also have available 2 large binders filled with restaurant menus and tourist information. The wine and cheese hour at the inn next door was nice. There were quite a few different wines from which to choose . You can sit at tables in the courtyard or in a small room they have available.

The one strange thing that happened to us was that one of our shirts disappeared from the closet in our room, hanger and all. No one was able to find it, and the manager said she would reimburse us for it but we're not sure she believed us. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay. There is so much to do in this town, and everything is very easy to get to from this inn.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrippers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York State
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

Booked this stay on B&B .com at last minite.
Great location, small bedroom but great bath.
Great concierge assistance for resturants and tours.
Wine reception in afternoon with cheese, crackers and fruit. Very good continental breakfast at B&B next door.

  • Liked — Freindly concierge
  • Disliked — Small room but spent little time there.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

I recently stayed at the Fulton Lane Inn. I was greeted by the helpful concierge as I arrived. She gave me restaurant suggestions and directions. She explained about the wine and cheese tasting next door, which was a very nice touch. Breakfast was brought to your room in the morning. While it was not a gourmet meal, it was very satisfying. The location is excellent. The room was clean and spacious. The only con that I could find with the Inn was that my room was directly facing the street. I could hear street noise all night, which did prevent a good nights sleep. If I were to stay again, I would be sure to ask for a room that does not face the street. All in all it was a very nice Inn.

  • Liked — The location of the Inn
  • Disliked — The noise from the street at night
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank runninggal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

From the moment we arrived, Ms. Baxley and the rest of the staff made us feel welcome and comfortable! We found the room incredibly cozy (the bed was awesome!), and the staff was oozing that southern charm and hospitality. The afternoon wine tasting was a great way to transition from daytime tourist to a night on the town! The location was perfect. We enjoyed so much of what Charleston had to offer and never moved the car from the parking lot! We highly recommend the Fulton Lane Inn - we hope to plan another getaway there soon.

  • Liked — Charming, Clean, Convenient Location, Value
  • Disliked — We didn't stay longer!
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frogox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

Every aspect of the Fulton Lane Inn was exceptional!

From the consummate professionalism exhibited by Sally Davis in arranging our accommodations, through the friendly/courteous staff at the inn during our stay, to the ease of our check-out . . . Our stay could not have been better!

We have already recommended the inn to numerous friends, telling them that Fulton Lane is a "must-stay" in Charleston!

Truly excellent - Our stay at the Fulton Lane Inn has created memories that will last a lifetime (and we will assuredly be back to create more memories soon!)

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tarheelbornandbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#11 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Lane Inn

Property: Fulton Lane Inn
Address: 202 King St, Charleston, SC 29401-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#22 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Lane Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway in America’s most enchanting city, The Fulton Lane Inn is private, intimate and exceptionally accommodating. The Fulton Lane Inn surrounds you with the comfort and gracious ambiance of a bygone era. Many of our spacious rooms feature oversized whirlpool baths and luxurious canopied beds, draped with hand strung netting. Other rooms boast cathedral ceilings and several offer fireplaces.Throughout, soaring windows frame captivating vistas of the city's historic skyline, punctuated with the many trademark church spires. The charm and spirit of the Old South live on in this historic inn, built by the family of Confederate blockade runner John Rugheimer. Regarded as the most sophisticated city in America, antebellum Charleston was the cradle of Southern gentility. The proper Charleston home then welcomed summer's casual pace by covering formal furnishings in airy muslin, replacing wool carpets with sisal, and positioning shutters to admit fresh breezes and to provide gentle shade. At the Fulton Lane Inn, that spirit has been beautifully recaptured. Here, light filters softly through louvered shades, casting an inviting glow on lush plants. The patina of fine woods, natural textures and soft pastels invite you to indulge in the simple pleasures of a more gracious time. During your stay, you'll be pampered with complimentary continental breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Our traditional Southern hospitality continues with sherry in the lobby each evening. Of course, our concierge is always at hand to attend to your every need. You're just a mere stroll from the famous harbor, historic homes and attractions. The Fulton Lane Inn is situated just off King Street, tucked away on a pedestrian lane in the heart of the city's famous historic district. The inn is literally surrounded by countless fascinating boutiques, scores of antique shops and elegant restaurants. There are countless ways to enjoy the Fulton Lane Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Fulton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Lane Hotel Charleston
Fulton Lane Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing