We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Present Vacation”
Review of Jasmine House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jasmine House Inn
Ranked #9 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My boyfriend and I went to the Charleston for 5 nights. We stayed at the Jasmine Inn for the majority of the time and it was our favorite in Charleston! The Inn was beautiful and the room was absolutely lovely. We were both so sad to leave. Also, the location for the Inn is great! You can walk to basically everything you want from the Inn. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast and we definitely plan on staying there again!

Room Tip: We loved being in the Bancroft and wouldn't have stayed in any other room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Merry Christmas, Christina H; we are pleased that you chose the Jasmine House in which to enjoy your vacation!!! Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We adore this property when my husband and I travel alone. When we have our son with us, we prefer the Indigo Inn across the street because it is more family-oriented (same owners). But Jasmine House is very romantic for a couples getaway. It is right in the heart of downtown so you park and never have to get in your car again until you leave ... unless you want to drive out to the beaches.

It truly feels like you're a guest in someone's very, very nice home. We prefer the main house but there are rooms in the carriage house out back that are just as nice. We've stayed in both but the rooms downstairs in the main house have gas fireplaces that really add to the ambiance. All of the rooms are quite spacious with comfy beds. They put out cereal, pastries, fruit, etc. each morning and wine and cheese each evening.

The only (minor) gripe we have is that since the doors are very old, the knobs and locks are difficult to manage at times. They get stuck and don't cooperate! (They use real keys, not key cards.) Be prepared to pay about $12/day to park in their lot ... but you'd have to pay anywhere you park so you might as well be in their lot.

The staff are all very nice and helpful. Overall, we love this hidden gem!

Room Tip: Front rooms downstairs have awesome gas fireplaces. Very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

We appreciate your repeat business, Sandy B, and we value you as a guest. Thank you for your comments, and hope to see you again real soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Jasmine House Inn for a quick getaway. We live locally and were pleasantly surprised to find the inn off the beaten path and yet close to many great restaurants and sights. Check-in and parking are both located at the Indigo Inn, which is literally across the street. All guests of the Jasmine House are given a key to the front door, as well as their room. I loved this about the inn - guests can come and go as they please and yet still feel safe and secure. It's much like staying in a hotel, but with the comforts and quaintness of a B&B. If you aren't one to want to chat with innkeepers, this is the place for you.

We stayed in the Bancroft room, which is on the first floor and, to our delight, had a fireplace. We absolutely loved this room. Unfortunately, the downside to the two front rooms is that if other guests return late in the evening, you will hear everything...the front door, talking, stomping up the stairs. You'd hope other guests would be considerate and try to be quiet, but you aren't guaranteed. On our next stay (because we will be back!), we would probably consider a second floor room to afford us more quiet.

The inn does offer afternoon wine and cheese in the front hallway. We made some small plates and had a glass of wine by the fireplace in our room. I'd imagine that on warmer days, sitting on one of the porches or in the beautiful courtyard would be wonderful. Breakfast is served in a similar manner. Guests are welcome to grab juice, coffee and food as they please. The food is nothing gourmet or fancy, but enough to get you going in the morning.

We would not hesitate to recommend this inn to local or out of town friends. I hope that we can go back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katir0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review the Jasmine House, Katir0504; we appreciate it!!!
Thank you also for the recommendation. When making a future reservation, please specify that you would like a 2nd floor room, or a Carriage House room for minimal noise. We hope you can return in the very near future!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for 4 nights between Christmas and New Years. The weather was OK - a couple nice days and a couple chilly wet ones. The house was really nice. The room was big, ornate, and romantic. The front porches were probably the best part of the house, and the garden out back was really nice. Breakfast in the morning left a little something to be desired - a bit light for a midwesterner who likes a big breakfast. The coffee was thin, but that's just the south.

The location was really nice - real close to Market Street and King Street. We walked the whole town and loved the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your review, Neil H. Sorry about the breakfast and the coffee, but glad you enjoyed the porch and the courtyard!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Jasmine House Inn during Thanksgiving week. We originally booked a room at the Indigo Inn, but when we arrived we were told they overbooked us and they moved us to their sister property across the street. The room was beautiful. The amenities were great. The courtyard was spectacular at night. So romantic! We will be back for sure! Our only complaint was the bed is on the stiffer side. Also our ceiling light turned on and off at random times during the evening but we just think that was a friendly ghost ;)
Com

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsaytut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback!!! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Trip Advisor played a big role in my selection, and i was not disappointed at all. great room (actually more of a suite) in the main house featured a separate "study" and large bathroom not typical of other B&B's weve enjoyed. THe service wa simpeccable, although across the street at the Indigo. BUt Ignacious and Bryan were a wealth of information and always spot on. THe evening wine a cheese were a welcome sight after a day of exploring this great city. Only minor negative was no coffee until around 7...but the"continental" breakfast that came with it was worth the wait.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

HAPPY 40th ANNIVERSARY, and thank you for choosing the Jasmine House Inn to share such a momentous occasion!!! I apologize that you did not have coffee until 7-ish; had we known that you wanted coffee earlier, someone from the Indigo Inn would have been delighted to bring you some; thank you for your patience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent the last five nights at Jasmine House. Very friendly, helpful staff. Front desk people also provided concierge services and were able to get us dinner reservations at Hall's Chophouse even when Hall's had told us none were available. The staff's other recommendations were also spot-on. Large, spacious room in an 1843 Greek Revival mansion. Beautiful period décor, gas fireplace, commodious bathroom. Breakfast selections each morning included an array of good local pastries, a different hot dish each day, cereal, bagels, coffee, tea and orange juice. Each evening there were selections of wine, cheese and crackers available for guests. These foods and beverages could be enjoyed in your room, on the wide front porch or in a patio setting in the backyard. Convenient location within easy walking distance of all downtown Charleston attractions. Also on the grounds are another set of rooms in the mansion's old carriage house. Parking in downtown Charleston is not easy to come by. Guests of Jasmine House, which is associated with the Indigo Inn, share a parking lot with Indigo. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Speak with the front desk when making reservations, do not just make them on-line. Doing so got us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloatsFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your assessments of Charleston and the Jasmine House; thank you also for your recommendation!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
986 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,636 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,933 reviews
Indigo Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmine House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine House Inn

Address: 64 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-1616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £153 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasmine House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jasmine House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine House Hotel Charleston
Jasmine House Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing