We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Southern Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jasmine House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jasmine House Inn
Ranked #10 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Total Southern Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a second part to my review of Indigo Inn in Charleston. Jasmine House Inn is their sister property located right across the street. We spent most of April there. We had a 5-night stay at Indigo and then went off to Savannah for the weekend. Because we had booked late, we were not able to return to Indigo but they were able to put us into Jasmine. What a total joy! We knew that we would have a small kitchen this time but we were totally unprepared for what we got.

Lorenzo, who had helped us with our luggage at Indigo, also helped us with it at Jasmine. This was a real labour for him because while Indigo has an elevator, Jasmine does not. We were located on the 3rd floor......exactly 38 steps to climb. That was OK with my husband and me because the exercise was welcome. But Lorenzo hauled most of our luggage up those stairs! You have to admire that kind of effort!

He showed us around the "flat" as they call it and my jaw just dropped to the floor. We had the WHOLE 3rd floor to ourselves. A huge bedroom with a gorgeous 2-sink ensuite, more storage space for clothing than you need, a galley kitchen fully equipped, a small separate eating area and a huge living room. Televisions in both the bedroom and living room. We tried to figure out the square footage and while our numbers may be off a bit, we guessed maybe 1100 square feet of space. And all decorated in the charming Southern style. We even had a back door with a staircase down to the beautiful courtyard where the same breakfasts and afternoon wine/cheese as at Indigo was served daily.

Jasmine House has verandahs on the main level and the 2nd floor. They are typical Southern verandahs which are really deep. What heaven to come back after a long day of being a tourist and relax in the rockers!

The only thing I would suggest for the "flat" is perhaps to consider changing out the bathtub and the stove. They both work very well but given how beautiful the flat is, these 2 items seem a bit tired. I might change out the shower door in favour of a curtain but maybe that's my bias against doors in a bathtub/shower! This in no way would prevent me from returning. It's just the inner-designer in me.

As with Indigo, the service was wonderful. Everyone on staff was so pleasant and helpful. Ingantius and Lorenzo were always there for what we needed, be it advice on the city or anything in the Inns themselves. There was another gentleman there (glasses and a lovely manner) whose name I did not get but from other reviews I think it might have been Brian. He was so pleasant and welcoming and I even got a hug from him!

Staying at The Jasmine House Inn was the perfect Charleston experience!

Room Tip: Book EARLY - maybe up to 5 months before you plan to be there. Also, April seems to be the best mont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
The Flat is awesome, and can only be experienced by staying there!!! Thank you for your kind reviews of the Indigo Inn and the Jasmine House, and for your feedback. We look forward to serving you again the next time that you visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    59
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
148
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Ran into Brien, the owner, in the parking lot upon leaving Charleston (after staying somewhere else). He told us to return to the Jasmine House B&B if we ever returned to Charleston and gave us his card. After rain prevented us from going to the Outer Banks, we decided to return to Charleston a few days later and checked into the Jasmine House, after making a phone reservation, without looking at the website....so happy to see our room on check in. Loved it and wished we had stayed there the whole time. Our room on the first floor had a comfortable king bed, a working fireplace, wood floors, and 14 ft ceilings. The bath was very large with a whirlpool tub and a shower. Everything was very clean and the courtyard was cozy and a perfect place to drink afternoon wine and snacks provided. Breakfast (a buffet with pastries, hard boiled eggs, bacon/sausage and fruits and cereals) was served right out our door, so we took a plate and had breakfast in bed. Very close to the Market and walking distance to everything. Pay for parking in lot across the street. Lemonade and tea always available in the reception area. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodandtravelisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are glad that you found us, too, TheHarveys2014, and are pleased that the Jasmine House met your standards!!! Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is such a convenient landing place from which to explore one of our favorite cities. Our room was clean, spacious, comfortable and overlooked a pretty courtyard. The breakfast was pretty basic though not extensive. The woman who checked us in seemed to have other things on her mind but we got into our room quickly. Parking is on-site, not free, but is worth it because we would have been hard pressed to find something else in that part of town.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard is a plus. The sound of the fountain is very soothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomCost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback, TomCost!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Got the apartment on the top floor. With a bedroom, his and hers sinks in the bathroom, kitchen, living room, breakfast nook and loads of closet space one can almost get lost in there. It actually might have been a bit much for the two of of us but this was a great way to splurge while in Charlestown. The location can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simontnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review, simontnyc. We are glad that you splurged; you deserve the best!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in the Chrysanthemum room and our friends stayed in the Canton (both on second floor at the front of the house). The rooms were beautifully decorated with very comfortable beds, fireplaces, tall ceilings, nice large bathrooms and separate sitting areas with tables. We felt as though we had stepped back in time, but with all the modern conveniences of the present. Both rooms had doors opening to the front veranda where we enjoyed delicious breakfasts (especially loved the hot ham biscuits) and afternoon wine and cheese. The location was within walking distance (a few blocks) to great restaurants, major shopping areas, etc.. The staff were all very friendly - great examples of southern hospitality. We would definitely recommend the Jasmine House Inn!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb_D120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Deb_D120, and for your recommendation!!! We hope to see you again when you are in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This Inn is part of the Indigo Inn. It is in a great location, a few minutes walk to the Charleston market and many of the historical places of interest. Great room in the carriage house, I'd recommend getting a room in the carriage house or the Jasmine over the Indigo is better, since the courtyard at the Jasmine is a lot nicer, and more quiet. Loved the place. The only negative is that although breakfast is included, there is no place in either Inn to sit and enjoy the breakfast where it is served. You have to take a tray back to your room to eat. That is another problem, since our room did not have any kind of a table to put the tray or enjoy the meal. Other than that, great place and would stay there again!

Room Tip: The carriage house rooms at the Jasmine are nice, quiet and on the courtyard, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, David D!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My fiance and I went to Charleston for the food and wine festival March 6-9. We really wanted to stay at the Indigo Inn, but after calling, the hotel only had the 3rd floor flat of the Jasmine House Inn available, so we booked it. We were not disappointed! The third floor flat was HUGE and came with a large master bedroom, large private bath, a kitchen, dining room and living room. It came with a hot breakfast each morning (fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt pastries, cereal and bacon and ham and cheese sandwiches) AND afternoon wine and cheese! This was only for $250 a night! The location was ideal in that it was only a few blocks away from amazing restaurants and shops and only a 5 minute walk to the food and wine festival. The staff was so friendly and helpful, we would HIGHLY recommend this place to couples looking for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigoinnsc, Manager at Jasmine House Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking a chance on The Flat at the Jasmine House, Emily M; we are pleased that you had such a marvelous time at our Inn and in Charleston. Thank you for the recommendation,
and Best Wishes on your upcoming nuptials!!! We hope to see you again when in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Indigo Inn
#16 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmine House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine House Inn

Property: Jasmine House Inn
Address: 64 Hasell St, Charleston, SC 29401-1616
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasmine House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jasmine House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmine House Hotel Charleston
Jasmine House Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing