We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First Class Hotel”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A First Class Hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We visited the Planter's Inn for a two night get-away in September. Per the reviews we read here, it did not disappoint. We had a Plantation King room that was large and luxuriously appointed, one of the most comfortable beds ever and the marble and tile bath was beautiful. We had a private patio, no view due to a masonry wall , but it was a nice addition to the room. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the location is ideal for walking around Charleston. You will have to pay $20 a day to park (I think that was the amount), but that's probably typical downtown. Excellent all the way around.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a nice view of the garden and want a more "social" experience, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncroadtoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in our wonderful city, thank you for your kind words and we all hope to have you back soon.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,299
    218
    91
    31
    11
See reviews for
225
1,061
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
373 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

On our visit to Charleston, we were very disappointed that Charleston Place did not have any vacancy. However, we were thrilled with our stay at the Planter's Inn. Large rooms, 4 poster bed, good sized bathroom and wonderful service. The "front room" always had coffee, lemonade or sweet tea available and was a wonderful area to just relax from touring. I hesitate to give Planters Inn five stars for a few reasons, some out of the control of the hotel. First, we had to walk across a courtyard to get to our room, which was fine when the weather was good, but not great when pouring rain. Also, there was some street noise as our room faced Market Street. Last, in the humid heat, there was a slight smell of urine not from the hotel, but from the horses pulling carriages on the street. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Do not face Market Street, and if available, stay in the building that houses the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laplume9254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
We would like to thank you for your honest review and we are happy that you enjoyed our Inn

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The is the second time we've stayed there and it is fantastic. Very cordial, helpful and attentive staff. Location is excellent and the Peninsula Grill is wonderful. Highly recommend it; fireplaces in the room, four-poster beds with fantastic mattresses, lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
It's always a pleasure to have you with us and we all hope to have you back on a third visit soon. Thank you for your nice comments.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

From the moment we arrived we were well taken care of. Our room was ready and it happened to be a quite corner room that was decorated lovely (southern charm) the fabrics and attention to detail were there. There was a nice size bathroom with a large tub to relax and enjoy right in the heart of Charleston on Market street. The staff was very helpful including the valet. There is fresh lemonade and nibbles in the lobby area. We did eat in the Peninsula Grill which was very good yet it still needs just a wee bit of tweaking and love thrown into it to make it suberb. We found the breakfast to be lovely. They have an outside courtyard to eat in either for dinner or breakfast that is small but it works. It was a great couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are happy that you enjoyed the great weather we had lately and that you where able to have your breakfast in our lovely Courtyard.


Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
235 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is our 3rd stay at the Planters Inn, the last visit being 6 years ago. I was a bit concerned that it had changed; but, no, it is still the welcoming, wonderful place it had been. The staff is well-trained and are exemplars of Southern Hospitality. The rooms are wonderfully clean, quiet and comfortable. Not only is the bedding cotton, the sheets are damask----my favorite! Charleston is a really humid environment, and yet there is not one drop of mustiness anywhere in the hotel. It must take huge effort to maintain the physical plant, but they do it well. We had dinner one night in the Peninsula Grill, and it was good----save room for their famous coconut cake----but the crowds of Labor Day Weekend took a toll, I think. We felt a little "churned through". The breakfasts here are fabulous, so be sure to indulge. My only criticism of the hotel, a small one, is that the air conditioning in the common areas (lobby, restaurant) was VERY COLD. It could have been warmed up more, as I found the a/c uncomfortable. This hotel upholds the standards of Relais & Chateaux, and if your budget allows, you should definitely stay here on your next trip to Charleston.

Room Tip: We've not had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoisonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for your very kind review, we are happy that you found your stay as pleasurable as the last time. We hope that you come back to our charming city soon.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Perfectly located, beautifully decorated, helpful but unobtrusive staff. A great bartender with to die for cocktails. Real room keys. A ridiculously luxurious bathroom and bedroom. Hot chocolate delivered one evening (which is probably a fairly unusual request in August!) for a great price. Teddy bear on the bed when you arrive and on the front desk. As if all that wasn't enough, there's complimentary drinks/snacks in the lounge for guests all day. So you come in out of the sweltering Summer sun to enjoy an iced cold freshly made lemonade - no kidding, the best homemade lemonade I've ever had - or orange spiced iced tea. Incredible. I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel and it is the ONLY place to stay in Charleston. Excellent value for money. I will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeadleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
We are all thrilled by your review, you just made our day!. It is such a pleasure to have been able to host you and we hope that your travel will bring you back soon this side of the pond.
Thank you again.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

All I can say is that this Inn makes you feel special; from the time you walk in the door until the time you leave.

The staff was so professional yet friendly. The antiques and furnishing throughout the hotel made me feel like I had just stepped out of colonial South Carolina.
Bed was comfortable, room was spotless and the special soaps and creams in the bathroom made it extra special.

We had a wonderful breakfast there and well worth the price. My husband had delicious waffles and I had a great continental breakfast with fresh fruit and berries in addition to the great homemade pastery.

I would highly recommend this Inn for anyone who just wants to relax and enjoy life!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from market street -- it was a bit noisy when things came to life in the a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendamarsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for your delightful review. We are excited that we where able to make your stay memorable. Next time you might want to try the Peninsula Grill for dinner, since you liked the breakfast you will love your dinner.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing