We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Giverny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is an old elegant hotel. On the expensive side. The room we had was quiet and spacious. My only complaint would be the mattress seemed like it needed to be replaced. It was a great location for getting around everywhere in the city. We did not rent a car so we wanted a central location. The free trolley runs by and the pedicabs are plentiful. The cab driver who brought us in from the airport gave us his card and that turned out to be very useful. We had thought to rent a car for a day to visit a plantation and some other areas outside of the city. None were available except for a two day rental and then we had to drop it at the airport for an additional twenty five dollar fee. Parking at the hotel was twenty a day. Then of course you have to fill the tank on the car. So as it turns out, I called the cab guy and he took us out to a plantation and returned for us when we called him. That came to less then half of the two day rental. My advice is if you really check out the costs of a rental car vs a cab if you only want it for a day! The restaurant at the hotel was delicious, but on the high side. It was lovely sitting out in the courtyard dining. If you are in a hurry don't go but if you want a unhurried meal with time for conversation and excellent food it is a good choice. Other dining options within walking distance were Mercato's, Awshucks (had delicious oysters this is a casual restaurant). My least favorite dining experience was Hyams. The food was not bad and is plentiful and reasonably priced it was just the whole atmosphere is like a "cattle call".....get 'em in and out as fast as you can. And very noisy. If you are in a hurry then I guess this would be okay! Coffee shop close by is City Lights and they are friendly and have good coffee. King Street is a dangerous place that lightens your wallet and adds pounds to your suitcase! Enjoyed the carriage ride, not so much the Ghost Tour we took. It lacked content. This is a city for walking and I loved it! Local theatre did an excellent production of Dracula. The waterfront is nice and the ferry over to Ft. Sumpter was worth it. If you are into history even a bit there is lots of it here. This was my first time to Charleston and I really enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing the street if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonladyGiverny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. Our location at the corner of Meeting and Market is indeed perfect for walking to all our wonderful city has to offer. We hope to welcome you back
again soon.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,299
    218
    91
    31
    11
See reviews for
225
1,061
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Perfect location in the center of the Historic District just across from the recently renovated Charleston City Market.Great restaurant,large comfortable rooms and very friendly accommodating staff.We''ll be back soon !!

Room Tip: Ask for a king 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
It was a pleasure to have you with us, we cannot wait to welcome you back with us. The whole team would like to express our thanks for your very nice comments.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I did extensive research when deciding where to stay for our first trip to Charleston. I decided on Planters Inn because we were looking for an upscale experience, I had read about the recent awards it has received and a friend included it on a list of recommendations.

The bell staff/doormen were great and made us feel welcome. The hotel is in a great location (although it doesn't take long to walk anywhere in Charleston), the room was well appointed, clean and very nice and we enjoyed the sweet tea available in the lobby. The hotel definitely has more of an old school (not outdated), traditional luxury feel to it, which was a bit more than I expected.

I was quite surprised that they don't have a separate concierge to cater to guests. I wish I would have realized this ahead of time as I was depending on spending a nice time sitting down with him or her to finalize details about activities during our stay. Instead, one needs to ask whoever is working the front desk for their advice, which wasn't exactly what I was expecting or desired. You may also be competing for this person's time along with others who want to check in/out or have a room issue/need. I expect a higher level of service and someone available to cater to guests at a hotel of this type.

I appreciated that the front desk offered to schedule a taxi to the airport on the day of our departure, but I wish they would've been more up front that it was a car service and not a taxi, although they specifically called it a "taxi." No doubt I like feeling special and being transported via black Navigator rather than a ratty taxi, but there was about a $15 price difference that really wasn't all that necessary to us. If anything, say you'll schedule a car service, indicate any price difference, and we'll agree or pass ahead of time so we know what we're getting into.

Once we were settled in our hotel, able to explore Charleston and understand the area a bit more, I was regretful that I didn't book a bed and breakfast instead. There are some great choices and I feel we would've had a more authentic experience and gotten more for our money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blunistgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
We would like to thank you for your review and we all regret that we did not live up to your expectations.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gainesville FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for four days during our 20th Anniversary Trip (1.5 weeks). Of all the luxury hotels we stayed in, our reception at this one was the worst (except for the friendly car attendant/bell hop). The desk clerk was curt and less than helpful; we felt as if we were bothering him and any question we asked was "inane". I've been better received at a two-star hotel. Maybe were were just spoiled from the other hotels we stayed in during our trip with a bottle of champagne from the management or some acknowledgement of our celebration upon our arrival.

In comparison, the rest of our stay was incredible. Our room was gorgeously appointed and HUGE! The bathroom was reminiscent of a spa with lovely travertine tile and thick, comfy towels. Our room had a lovely fireplace that unfortunately we couldn't use because the weather was too warm. The window overlooked the outside patio for the Peninsula Grill and connecting garden which added to the ambience of the room.

The first thing we did was collect up a couple of glasses and go to the garden to enjoy the special bottle of wine we'd been saving to celebrate our day. While outside, the same helpful assistant (Bo) saw us and insisted on bringing us wine glasses. Personally, I think he should be at the front desk and the other guy parking cars. Later we decided to go to the bar for a drink and enjoyed meeting the bartender. We chose to eat a few starters for dinner and the Bartender (wish I could remember his name) was extremely helpful in making the best choices on the menu.

One of the primary advantages of this hotel is it's absolutely ideal location. It sits adjacent to the front of the Market and is walking distance to just about everything you would like to visit, dine at, or investigate. Coffee is offered in the morning and I was skeptical, but ultimately preferred it to Starbucks. In the afternoon, a delicious spiced ice tea was offered and it was a wonderful treat at the end of the day.

The desk staff (other than first experience) was professional, friendly, and very helpful. Any questions we had were answered immediately and cordially. We were given help procuring tickets or reservations and all with a friendly smile.

We had the incredible experience of dining at the Peninsula Grill on our last night in Charleston. We dined outside on the lovely patio and indulged in some of the best food we'd eaten during our stay in Charleston. The service was impeccable and we were sorry when the meal had come to an end.

Room Tip: Research a discount for this hotel because the rooms are rather expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g8torgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Please accept our apologies, I have reminded the individual what hospitality means.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel is perfect. The location is great just a block or so from King Street and within easy walking distance of the historic sites. We would go back here in a minute.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art_52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
You are right, we are ideally located, in the heart of the historic district, just steps away from the newly renovated Historic market. Thank you for pointing it out.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My daughter and I recently enjoyed 4 wonderful days in Charleston. We went down to celebrate her 21st birthday and I must say Charleston and the Planters Inn exceeded our expectations! Charleston is a jewel of a destination. The city is filled with so much history, fantastic food and friendly people. We wanted to see and do as much as possible. Planters Inn is located in the hub of everything. We were able to walk to all of the highlights and the hotel staff were wonderful in helping us plan our adventure in this beautiful city. Bertha at the front desk was extremely helpful and her patience as we hopped, skipped and jumped around the city were invaluable. We appreciated her insights and frank opinions. She booked stellar restaurants, tours and told us about the top shopping spots. Our visit would not have been the same without her warm guidance. She is a real asset to the hotel.
We are already planning our next visit.
Shannon

Room Tip: We faced on to the inner courtyard, it was very quiet and dark, which allowed us to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 737shannon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
You have made Bertha very happy with your comment, she wants me to relay her thanks and she hope to see you soon.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We came to Charleston for a wedding. We stayed in a suite in the original part of the property. The sitting room of the suite was filled with extremely a comfortable couch and chairs plus a desk .
The room itself is dated which seems appropriate since the property is historic. The bathroom was large. The towels could be bigger however. The a/c worked well cooling the room to my comfort which is 68. The shutters and drapes kept the room dark in the morning which helped me sleep and I did not hear any sound from the street or halls.

The restaurant is first class and the location is perfect to walk around historic Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miamijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you so much, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your kind comments and we cannot wait to welcome you back next spring.
Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing