We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service Par Excellence”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Service Par Excellence”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

What a great staff! You are really made to feel at home in this cozy, small hotel located right in the center of Charleston. Can't beat the location. Some noise as a tradeoff, but you can walk anywhere. Staff was very helpful with recommendations. Doesn't hurt to have the best restaurant in town on the premises either.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms directly facing Market street because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planningpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Planning Pro,
As a senior contributor, we respect your recognition of our service staff with humble appreciation. A great location, superb rooms, and the best restaurant will keep our guests returning again and again. However, the service will hopefully build the loyalty of a relationship that we strive for with each guest. From all of us, we thank you again!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    218
    91
    31
    11
See reviews for
224
1,060
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

When looking for somewhere to stay we decided on Planter's Inn based on some pictures and its location at the very heart of Charleston. What we discovered while staying there was that they provide you with an experience not based on high tech gadgetry or cheap props, but with charm and warmth. They pay attention to detail. Whether it is the complimentary lemonade and iced tea to the turn down service at the end of the night, they know how to provide their customers with a memorable experience while being unobtrusive. Each concierge we dealt with was nothing but hospitable and polite, taking extra care to provide any necessary help to the guests. The valets were also incredibly helpful in parking and retrieving our vehicle, assisting in carrying our luggage, and offering to provide advice and directions. On this point I would like to take the opportunity to highlight that the two most helpful of this tremendous staff of valet and bellmen, William and Bo, were a pleasure to deal with and that Planters Inn is lucky to have them. From the experience that we received at this hotel, I know for sure that each time I go to Charleston, I will be staying at Planters Inn. It's clean, affordable, historic, and bursting with charm and warmth.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor facing Market Street. The view was amazing. Our room was called &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Dave from Erie, PA,
Charm and Warmth….a great summation for our service and southern hospitality. Thank you for recognizing our valet members Bo and William and the other members of the team that helped make your stay most enjoyable. We sincerely appreciate your time and comments and look forward assisting you on your next trip to Charleston. As South Carolina’s only member of the prestigious collection of Relais & Chateaux, we are proud to hear we are embodying one of the core philosophies of “Charm”.
Best Wishes, Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We based our choice to stay at the Planters Inn on the history of the hotel and its location. We were not disappointed. The large, tastefully appointed room and the many amenities of the hotel provided us with an experience in Southern hospitality we'll never forget. All members of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We plan to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Boomer Sooners- We appreciate your feedback and time to share your experiences with Trip Advisor’s audience. Our spacious rooms are larger than most in the area and comparatively to other small metropolitan cities, a true value, especially during the summer months. Until next time, we await your return to do all over again!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My wife and I made our reservations prior to our trip. We read some really good reviews, but didn't really know what to expect since we had never traveled to Charleston before. We were pleasantly surprised! The rooms are great and all, but the staff is what made the hotel. Valet parking, bed turn downs, and we told the concierge what restaurants we wanted to visit they made some suggestions and made our reservations for us. The hotel is central to everything. Everything is within easy walking distance and we walked everywhere. This was our 30th anniversary so we really wanted it to be special and memorable, IT WAS! Thanks Planters Inn Staff.
Sincerely,
Tony G.

Room Tip: Let them help. They know what they are doing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
We are pleased you did your research and selected the Planters Inn from the numerous options in Charleston. Thank you for pointing out the sincere and dedicated staff, as they truly make the difference in a great little hotel such as ours. Happy Anniversary memories from all of at Planters Inn…and please come see us all again next year, if not sooner.
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just stayed at the Planters Inn in Charleston. My wife and I have stayed in some of the nicest hotels in the country but the service and attention to detail surpassed all our expectations. The location is perfect - centrally located next to the main market area and great restaurants, the rooms were spotless and nicely decorated with a southern flair. But most impressive was the personalized customer service from the entire staff. As we arrived early in the morning, the front desk staff helped us plan an itinerary for the day and when we returned to the hotel later, our bags were already in our room. The front desk's suggestions were all excellent and we had a great time!

We would only stay at this hotel when visiting Charleston again.

The Schunicks

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
“Attention to detail and service….and personalized customer service”….we cannot thank you enough for stressing on the things we do so well at the Planters Inn. Coming from our guests, it only makes it that much more important and gratifying to be recognized for what is truly one of our specialties. We appreciate your kind words and the affirmation that you will stay nowhere else on your next visit to our amazing city. Best Wishes, Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Planter's Inn while my husband attended a meeting in Charleston. We chose the Plantation King and it was an excellent choice. The room was beautifully appointed with a very comfortable plantation style bed and beautiful antique furniture. It was spotless and the baseboards were being painted as we checked in to the room. The staff were very nice and helpful in every way. I hope to stay at the hotel again very soon, it doesn't get much better than this!

Room Tip: Our room, the plantation king was great, on the third floor and looked out on the market and Meeti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveItalyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Our Plantation King rooms are truly some of the most spacious accommodations in the area for the price. Comfortable and varying in layouts and configurations; these rooms offer the greatest value while being very generous with space. Those that face the City Market Hall offer the brightest view of the city and are favorites to many of our guests. We look forward to helping you reserve another view of the Market on your next trip to Charleston. Thank you for your comments and appreciation of our team.
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and I did the Savannah/Charleston/Hilton Head loop for our first anniversary. We stayed at Planters Inn on the day of our actual anniversary and couldn't have made a better choice. The entire staff somehow knew it was our anniversary (when we had only told the front desk during check-in) and we had complimentary champagne brought to our room when we first arrived. The entire hotel is very charming (reminded me a lot of my sorority house at Ole Miss), very traditional southern decor and the courtyard is beautiful and tranquil. I highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your anniversary with us. We are pleased to hear your first impressions have convinced you to not stay anywhere else when you return to Charleston….that is a true compliment!
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing