We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving in Charleston”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving in Charleston”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We love Charleston & chose the Planters Inn this year for our Thanksgiving and cannot wait to return. We had a lovely room, spacious, with a comfortable king and bath with a jacuzzi. The staff from the curb to the front desk to the housekeepers made you feel welcome from the time you arrived to your departure. On our first morning there, we missed breakfast as we were headed to the Cathedral for a Thanksgiving Mass. We picked up a Cappuccino and a muffin on the way back to the Inn and sat in their sunny courtyard. A gentleman came out of the hotel and asked if we needed anything. We said we were fine but in a few minutes he was back with a plate of delicious pasteries for us to enjoy. Later we learned that he was the owner of the Inn. Attention to detail seem to be their motto!! Note that it is so central to all that is Charleston!
Then top off your day with a spectacular meal at the Peninsula Grille at the hotel!

Room Tip: We were on the Piazza - a lovely location with tables to sit out on a lovely morning or afternoon. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clancy159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Clancy159,
It is always a pleasure to read such a positive all around review of our property, staff, service and location. However, when combined with the memories we help create on during a holiday trip, we are very grateful to have shared in such an experience. On behalf of the entire team and owner, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our southern hospitality and truly look forward to seeing you on many trips to Charleston in the future.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    218
    91
    31
    11
See reviews for
224
1,060
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Planter's Inn in September, 2012. We arrived on Labor Day (9/3) and spent two nights at the property. We booked our Grand King room through Kayak at $199/night. This is exactly the rack rate that is advertised on their web site. Despite the hotel being practically empty, we were put into what must be the smallest king room on the property. Although we did not complain, our room was quite cramped and the "small sitting area" consisted of a chair and a desk placed along the wall of the bed. The hotel was nice, but not what I would expect of a Relais and Chateaux property. The lobby is sufficient, but nothing spectacular and the bathroom had a standard size tub with a shower head. Overall, we were dissapointed with our accomodations, especially with the hotel not being even half full. Fortunately, the hotel has an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernadette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Benradette00,
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. Our historic property offers various locations and views within each room category. Rate is not a reflection of a room assignment selection; nor do we penalize guests for their method of booking when assigning rooms. We appreciation feedback and are sorry to hear you were not satisfied you’re decision to stay with us. With 64 rooms to choose from, perhaps you will consider trying us again should you return to Charleston.

Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed for three nights at the planters Inn. Great location and easy to drive from airport. We went over to Sullivan's island - nice beach walk. Hotel is traditional decor with excellent service.
Definitely recommend a weekend stay here.

Room Tip: Antiques in every room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingBrit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Roaming Brit,
“Great Location ….Excellent Service….and Definitely recommend” What more could we ask for in a TripAdvisor review. From all of us at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again on your next visit to Charleston. Thank you for your kind words and Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We had a great stay here however, we were in room 224. We were awaken by the street sweepers/cleaners at about 5:30 a.m. alot sooner than we like to wake up. Its a double edge sword, clean historic district and less sleep for the visitors who may be light sleepers. Very nice service, room, room attendants. Also, you can opt out of the valet service that is offered at the Inn or just self-park yourself very close by. We found out only after the fact. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porsche911XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Porsche911XX,
We appreciate your comments and thank you for the “Highly recommended” closing. We understand your early morning unscheduled wake up from our city street sweepers was not the most pleasant and relaxing experience. Thank you for mentioning our amazing housekeeping department’s attention to clean and prompt service; as they truly make the Planters Inn one of the best hotels in the Southeast. As you may have discovered during your visit, our property offers a variety of guest room location and room categories to choose from…please call on us directly to help secure your next reservations and allow us to assist with finding a perfect location that may include a courtyard location of off- street room that will allow for a restful evening.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We booked a Plantation room in Planters Inn and it was very comfortable. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Charleston on foot. We enjoyed our 3 night stay here. One letdown though was the frustratingly slow wifi. We had to work while we were here and at times it was impossible as the connection was so slow and patchy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear bevchris,
Thank you for your recent comments and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Planters Inn. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our attentive staff and comfortable accommodations. We have reported and investigated your wifi connectivity concerns and have addressed the signal strength surrounding your guest room location. We thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we make every effort to address guest concerns for the betterment of our future guests.
Please try us again on your next visit to Charleston.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Small luxury hotel. Our room featured a large comfy bed and spacious bathroom. The parlor is a nice place to relax and sip coffee or tea. The service including valet parking was flawless. Well located near the old market and many restaurants. One of the best restaurants in town, The Peninsula Grill, is located here as well. Highly recommend Planters Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diverdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Diverdad1,
Spacious….comfy…. flawless service…. One of the Best restaurants in town…..
Thank you for touching on just a few of the amazing strengths of our small luxury hotel. Our location and charm are a few of the others which make our destination unlike many in the area for travelers to enjoy a true Charleston experience. We appreciate your recommendation to other future guests and thank you for taking time to share your views. Please allow us to assist you on your next visit to the area.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had a good stay here in October. The Planters Inn is located right by the market in downtown Charleston, walking distance to everything. The lobby is small but nice. The hotel is not traditional in that the rooms, at least in our building, opened up onto a covered walkway - like a motel. The rooms themselves were very nice, with a king-size four poster bed, flat screen tv, comfortable armchairs, and a writing table. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was also very large and nice, with a large soaking tub and all marble throughout. While we were completely satisfied with our stay, this hotel is not as charming or luxurious as other places I have stayed in Charleston. We come to Charleston every year and try to stay at a new place every time; this was a nice choice but not our favorite. I think something a little more unique, B&B style would be more fitting for the full Charleston experience. That said, the location can't be beat, and was extremely convenient to the waterfront park, restaurants, the beautiful neighborhoods, King Street shopping, and the home and garden tour we attended during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAKC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Jakc5,
Thank you for sharing your comments and your review following your recent visit. From your comments, it appears you had the pleasure of one of our Deluxe King rooms located overlooking one of the best garden courtyards in Charleston and the center of our property. One of the best kept secrets (and no secret to our many TripAdvisor readers) is the amazing variety of guest room accommodations such a small 64 room property has to offer as a member of Relais & Chateaux. I am confident you will truly appreciate the charm and character of our circa 1844 guest rooms with their spacious sitting areas and unique variations within our Grand King and Plantation King room categories. It is not uncommon for guests to return simply to experience another view or location.
Please call on us for your next trip and allow us to guide you for another Charleston experience at Planters Inn.
Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing